summit of that range to a point due east of the source of the Kawhatau River; thence to and down the middle of that river and the middle of the Rangitikei River to the sea; thence north-westerly, northerly, and north-easterly along the sea coast to the point of commencement, including all adjacent islands.

## IKAROA MAORI LAND COURT DISTRICT

ALL that area in the Hawke's Bay and Wellington Land Districts bounded by a line commencing at a point in the middle of the mouth of the Mohaka River and proceeding generally south-westerly, westerly, and northerly along the sea coast to the middle of the mouth of the Rangitikei River, sea coast to the middle of the mouth of the Rangitkei River, being a point on the boundary of the Aotea Maori Land Court District, hereinbefore described; thence generally north-easterly along that boundary and generally easterly along the boundaries of the Waiariki and Tairawhiti Maori Land Court Districts, hereinbefore described, to the point of commencement, including the island of Kapiti and all other adjacent islands.

### SOUTH ISLAND MAORI LAND COURT DISTRICT

ALL that area comprising South Island, Stewart Island, Chatham Islands, and all other adjacent islands.

P. J. BROOKS, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Declaring Land in the South Auckland Land District to be Subject to the Provisions of Part III, Coal Mines Act 1925

#### ARTHUR PORRITT, Governor-General

PURSUANT to section 167 of the Coal Mines Act 1925, I, Sir Arthur Espie Porritt, Baronet, the Governor-General of New Zealand, do hereby declare the land described in the Schedule hereto to be subject to the operation of Part III of the said

# **SCHEDULE**

ALL that area of land with respect to mines, beds, minerals, and seams of coal only, situated in Block XI, Rangiriri Survey District, being Lot 2 and parts Lot 1, D.P. 23606, of part Allotment 29, Pepepe Parish, and having an area of 46 acres 3 roods 8 perches, more or less, and contained in certificates of title, Volume 624, folio 65, Volume 1714, folio 81, and Volume 1421, folio 41; as shown on a plan deposited in Head Office, Mines Department, Wellington, and thereon edged in red.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General this 7th day of July 1969.

T. P. SHAND, Minister of Mines.

(Mines 11/50)

romotions, Transfer to Retired List, Appointments, Retirements, Transfers, Extension of Commission, and Resignation of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Promotions,

PURSUANT to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following promotions, transfer to Retired List, appointments, retirements, transfers, extension of commission, and resignations of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

# REGULAR AIR FORCE GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

# **Promotions**

The under-mentioned Acting Pilot Officers to be Pilot Officers, with seniority and effect from 28 March 1969:

Ian George Wood (82961). Gregory John Wood (82962). Kelvin Aldridge (82959).

# Transfer to Retired List

Wing Commander George William Annand, j.s.s.c., p.s.c. (70072), is transferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 20 May 1969.

# ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

#### Appointment

Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant Donnelly Keelan Wapp (71833) is granted a career commission in the Administrative and Supply Branch, Regular Air Force, for a period ending 19 May 1977, with effect from 24 April 1969.

## Retirement

Equipment Division

Squadron Leader Ronald David Smith (76109) is retired, with effect from 20 April 1969.

# MEDICAL BRANCH

#### Transfer

Wing Commander (temp.) Charles Swanston, M.B., CH.B. (U.N.Z.), F.R.A.C.S., D.O.M.S., R.C.P. (LOND.), R.C.S. (ENG.) (131418), is transferred from the Reserve of Air Force Officers and appointed to a temporary commission in the Medical Branch, Regular Air Force, in the rank of Wing Commander, with seniority and effect from 26 May 1969.

#### CHAPLAINS BRANCH

# Appointment

The Reverend Bruce Miller Calder (84285) is granted a short-service commission in the Chaplains Branch, Regular Air Force, for a period ending 8 April 1973, to be followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the relative rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 9 April 1969 from 9 April 1969.

## WOMEN'S ROYAL NEW ZEALAND AIR FORCE

#### Resignation

Section Officer Virginia Nan Longmore (née Frost) (81955) is permitted to resign her commission, with effect from 31 May 1969.

#### RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

#### Transfer

Group Captain Robert Francis Watson, O.B.E., A.F.C. and Bar, p.s.c. (70041), is transferred from the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period ending 3 January 1973, with effect from 18 April 1969.

#### Retirements

Flight Lieutenant Harold Reginald Wootten (133425) is retired, with effect from 12 May 1969.
Flight Lieutenant Kenneth Victor James Schou (133284) is retired, with effect from 17 May 1969.

#### AIR TRAINING CORPS

## Appointment

Alan Clyde Holden is granted a commission in the Air Training Corps in the rank of Pilot Officer for a period ending 8 April 1973, with seniority and effect from 9 April 1969.

#### Extension of Commission

Flying Officer Sidney Wilfred McKenzie is granted an extension of his commission until 21 August 1972.

Pilot Officer Roland Stuart Robertson is permitted to resign his commission, with effect from 16 May 1969.

# Retirement

Squadron Leader Lewis James Day, D.F.C., is retired, with effect from 20 May 1969.

Dated at Wellington this 30th day of June 1969.

DAVID S. THOMSON, Minister of Defence. (Air 12/11/9)

Appointments, Promotions, Extension of Commission, Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement, and Transfer of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Pursuant to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, promotions, extension of commission, extension of commission and age for retirement, and transfer of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

# REGULAR AIR FORCE GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

## Appointments

Wing Commander Michael Frank McDonald Palmer (73486)

Wing Commander Michael Frank McDonald Palmer (73486) to be temporary Group Captain, with effect from 30 June 1969. Squadron Leader Patrick Neville, A.F.C. (77606), to be acting Wing Commander, with effect from 23 April 1969. Flight Lieutenant Alan Laurie Lawless (75634) to be temporary Squadron Leader, with effect from 10 February 1969. Flight Lieutenant Kenneth James Edwards (78665) to be temporary Squadron Leader, with effect from 9 June 1969. Flight Lieutenant Ian Austin Wright (79366) to be acting Squadron Leader, with effect from 24 April 1969.

## **Promotions**

Temporary Wing Commander Raymond Reginald Black, p.s.c. (72062), to be Wing Commander, with seniority from 16 June 1968 and with effect from 16 June 1969.