Given under the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, and issued under the Seal of New Zealand, this 9th day of March 1970.

DUNCAN MacINTYRE, Minister of Maori Affairs. GOD SAVE THE QUEEN!

(M.A. 30/14/3)

Declaring Road in Block IX, Thames Survey District, Thames County, to be a Government Road and to be Stopped

ARTHUR PORRITT, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government Buildings at Wellington this 26th day of January 1970

Present:

THE RIGHT HON. KEITH HOLYOAKE, C.H., PRESIDING IN COUNCIL PURSUANT to the Public Works Act 1928, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby

- (a) declares the piece of road described in the Schedule hereto to be a Government road; and
- (b) stops the said road.

SCHEDULE

SOUTH AUCKLAND LAND DISTRICT

ALL that piece of road containing 3 roods 24.6 perches situated in Block IX, Thames Survey District, adjoining or passing through Section 9, Block IX, Thames Survey District; as the same is more particularly delineated on the plan marked M.O.W. 20768 (S.O. 43424) deposited in the office of the Minister of Works at Wellington, and thereon coloured green.

P. J. BROOKS, Clerk of the Executive Council.

(P.W. 34/1507/0; D.O. 50/12/0)

Waiheke Road District Abolished and Waiheke County Constituted

ARTHUR PORRITT, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 16th day of March 1970

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

Pursuant to the Local Government Commission Act 1967, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

ORDER

- 1. This order shall come into force on the 1st day of April 1970.
- 2. The Waiheke Road District is hereby abolished and the Board of the said road district is hereby dissolved.
- 3. The areas of land described in the First Schedule hereto shall be constituted a county, to be known as the County of Waiheke (hereinafter called "the said county").
- 4. The said county shall be divided into three ridings, with the following names and boundaries.
 - (a) The Central Riding, comprising all those areas contained in the former Waiheke Road District, together with the neighbouring islands of Papakohata (Crusoe Island), Motuihe, Rangitoto, and Motutapu; as described in the Second Schedule hereto.

(b) The North Riding, comprising all those areas contained in the neighbouring islands of South, Rakino, The Noises (Motuhoropapa, Orarapa (The Haystack), and Otata Islands), David Rocks (The Four Islands), and Maria (Ruapuke Island); as described in the Third Schedule hereto.

(c) The East Riding, comprising all those areas contained in the neighbouring islands of Tarahiki (Shag), Pakatoa, Rotoroa, Ponui, Pakhi, and Karamurama, as described in the Fourth Schadule hereto.

as described in the Fourth Schedule hereto.

5. Separate accounts shall be kept for each riding of the said county and, for rating purposes, the Council of the said county shall, for a period of 10 years, or for such longer period as the Council shall resolve by special order, apply the provisions of subsection (1) of section 110 of the Counties Act 1956 as if the ridings described in clause 4 of this order had been counties immediately prior to the date of this order.

- 6. For a period of 10 years from 1 April 1970 or such longer period as the Council of the said county may resolve by special order, the provisions of subsections (2), (3), and (4) of section 61 of the Counties Amendment Act 1968 shall, as far as they are applicable and with the necessary modifications, apply as if the North Riding and the East Riding were county towns within the meaning of the said Act.
- 7. The Council of the said county shall consist of nine members, as follows:

For the Central Riding—seven members For the North Riding—one member For the East Riding—one member

- 8. The first election of the members of the Council of the said county shall be held on the date prescribed by law for the first triennial general election of members of county councils to be held after the 1st day of April 1970.
- 9. (a) Until the members of the Council of the said county, elected at the said first election, shall come into office, the Council of the said county shall consist of the nine members of the Waiheke Road Board holding office immediately prior to its dissolution; and at its first meeting the said Council shall appoint from among its members one member to represent the North Riding and one member to represent the East
- (b) In the event of any vacancy occurring on the Council of the said county prior to the next triennial general elections of members of county councils, such vacancy may be filled by the appointment of a member to be nominated by the Waiheke County Council.
- 10. The Waiheke County Council shall, pursuant to section 71 of the Counties Act 1956, appoint a special advisory committee of four persons, two of whom shall be electors of the North Riding and two of whom shall be electors of the East Riding, who shall continue as members of the said committee until the first election, as provided in clause 8 of this order.
- 11. The farm-land roll made or continuing in force under Part VI of the Rating Act 1967 in the former Waiheke Road District shall continue in force until a new farm-land roll for that portion of the Central Riding is made.
 - 12. Upon the commencement of this order:

 - (a) All property, real or personal, belonging to the Corporation of the former Waiheke Road District shall become vested in the Corporation of the said county.
 (b) All rates or other money payable to the former Waiheke Road Board shall become due and payable to the Council of the said county.
 - (c) All actions, suits, and proceedings pending by or against the Corporation of the former Waiheke Road Board may be carried on and prosecuted by or against the Corporation of the said county.

 (d) All liabilities, contracts, and engagements of the former Waiheke Road Board shall become liabilities, contracts, and engagements of the Council of the said county.

county.

- 13. All balances and other amounts in respect to the matters contained in clause 12 of this order standing in the accounts of the Waiheke Road Board upon its dissolution shall be debited, credited, or carried into, as the case may be, the appropriate accounts kept by the Council of the said county in respect of the Central Riding.
- 14. The cost of all special works to be carried out in any riding shall be debited against the appropriate separate account of the riding concerned.
- 15. Interest, sinking funds, and capital repayments in respect of all existing loans secured over the former Waiheke Road District shall remain as a charge and be debited against the appropriate separate account of the Central Riding.
- 16. All future district planning costs shall be debited against the appropriate separate account of the riding affected by such planning.
- 17. Subject to the provisions of clauses 14, 15, and 16 hereof, the following items shall be credited and debited to the appropriate separate account of either the Central, North, or East Riding, as the case may require.
 - (a) All land subdivision fees paid in respect of subdivisions made in the riding.

(b) All other income, grants, or subsidies collected within or arising from the riding.
(c) A proportionate part of the contributions, grants, and subscriptions paid by the Council of the said county to all special purpose authorities whose districts include the said riding or part or parts thereof.