REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointment

Squadron Leader (temp.) Ian Austin Wright (79366) is granted a permanent commission in the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, with effect from 10 December 1969.

Pilot Officer Barry McKenzie Garnett (82974) is appointed to a short-service commission in the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, for a period to expire on 1 September 1974, to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 2 September 1969.

Promotions

The under-mentioned Acting Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers, with seniority from 28 August 1969, with effect from 28 November 1969.

Peter Anthony Cochran (82512). Nigel Albert Davey (82650). Kevin Helem (82467).

TECHNICAL BRANCH

Appointment

Engineer Division

Flight Lieutenant Noel James Work (70890) to be Acting Squadron Leader, with effect from 10 December 1969.

Promotion

Pilot Officer Laurence Kiernan Clinton (81876) to be Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 9 February 1970.

Extension of Commission

Flight Lieutenant Alexander John Brown (75039) is granted a further extension of his short-service commission, with effect from 20 January 1970, for a period to expire on 21 March 1972, to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Transfer to Retired List

Wing Commander Ralph Crowther Jones, O.B.E. (70222), is transferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 1

Squadron Leader Douglas Haig McGowan, B.E.M. (70561), is transferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 6 January 1970.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Appointments

Secretarial Division

Flight Lieutenant Edward John Norris, A.C.I.S., A.N.Z.I.M. (77515), is appointed to a permanent commission in the Administrative and Supply Branch (Secretarial Division), Regular Air Force, with effect from 10 December 1969.

Kenneth Robert Bendall (84421) is appointed to a short-service commission in the Administrative and Supply Branch, Regular Air Force, for a period to expire on 1 September 1981, to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 2 September 1969.

Transfer

Pilot Officer Alan Grey Napier (84346) is transferred, with effect from 2 September 1969, from the Air Training Corps to the Administrative and Supply Branch (Secretarial Division), Regular Air Force, in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority from 2 September 1969, to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Transfer to Retired List

Squadron Leader Henry Maitland Eccersall, M.B.E. (70115), is transferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 1 January 1970.

Cancellation of Commission

The commission of Pilot Officer Alan Grey Napier (84346) is cancelled, with effect from 28 November 1969.

Transfer to Retired List

Equipment Division

Wing Commander Henry Esmond Cundell (70304) is transferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 16 January 1970.

Squadron Leader Roger Patrick Drayton (71062) is transferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 12 December 1969.

Promotion

Special Duties Division

Flying Officer Kenneth Leith Milne (326365) to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 6 February 1970.

EDUCATION BRANCH

Promotion

Flying Officer Lindsay Murray Laing (82951) to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 16 January 1970.

Extension of Commission

Flight Lieutenant Graham Richard Greenwood, B.Sc. (83401), is granted an extension of his short-service commission and age for retirement, with effect from 19 November 1969, for a period to expire on 22 July 1977.

Transfer to Retired List

Wing Commander Harold Bert Hayward, M.B.E., DIP.TCHG. (74142), is transferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 8 January 1970.

WOMEN'S ROYAL NEW ZEALAND AIR FORCE

A ppointments

The under-mentioned members are granted short-service commissions in the Women's Royal New Zealand Air Force, for a period to expire on 1 September 1972. They are appointed in the rank of Assistant Section Officer, with seniority and effect from 2 September 1969:

Jocelyn Corry (84387).

Marion Millicent Gestro (84422).

Transfer to Retired List

Squadron Officer Gilda St. Clair Bezar, M.B.E. (73882), is transferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 21 January 1970.

Retirement

Section Officer Marion Denise Rogers (81618) is retired, with effect from 1 February 1970.

TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

MEDICAL BRANCH

Extensions of Commissions

The under-mentioned officers are granted further extensions of their commissions and age for retirement, until dates shown.

Wing Commander Frederick Charles Platts, M.B., CH.B. (U.N.Z.) (131411), 28 January 1971.
Wing Commander Ian Donald Gebbie, M.B., CH.B. (U.N.Z.), F.R.C.S.(ENG.), F.R.A.C.S., D.T.M. AND (U.LOND.) (131403), 22 February 1971.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

CHAPLAINS BRANCH

Promotion

The Reverend Gordon John King, B.A. (77292), is appointed to the relevant rank of Squadron Leader, with seniority and effect from 20 January 1970.

Extension of Commission

Flight Lieutenant Kevin Vincent Edward Burt (77205) is granted an extension of his commission, for a period to expire on 9 January 1974.

Transfers

Wing Commander William Charles Joseph Williams, M.A., DIP.ED., DIP.TCHG., M.N.Z.Ps.S., p.s.c. (130148), is transferred from the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division), Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers, for a period to expire on 30 December 1974, with effect from 30 April 1970.

Flight Lieutenant Angus John Kingsmill, c.f.s. (81531), is transferred from the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers, for a period to expire on 5 January 1974, with effect from 23 January 1970.

Resignation

The Reverend Flight Lieutenant Cuthbert Frederick Peart (79215) is permitted to resign his commission, with effect from 28 February 1969.

Transfer to Retired List

Wing Commander Selwyn Osgood Field, A.N.Z.I.M. (70116), is transferred to the Retired List "B", with effect from 2 May 1969.

Retirements

The under-mentioned officers are retired, with effect from dates shown: