Signals Division

Flight Lieutenant Gordon William Hitch (70603) is trans-ferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 14 January 1970.

Administrative and Supply Branch

Amendment

Equipment Division

The notice published in the *Gazette*, No. 7, 12 February 1970, p. 187, relating to Leading Aircraftsman Bruce Allen Wootton (83709), is hereby amended to read: "Leading Air-craftsman Bruce Allan Wootton (83709) is appointed to a short-service commission in the Administrative and Supply Branch, Regular Air Force, for a period to expire on 1 Sep-tember 1977, to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 2 September 1969."

EDUCATION BRANCH

A ppointment

Flight Lieutenant Archibald Cameron, C.ENG., M.I.E.R.E., N.Z.C.E. (80409), to be Temporary Squadron Leader, with effect from 23 February 1970.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

A ppointment

Emrys Evans (134379) is appointed to a commission in the Reserve of Air Force Officers in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, for a period to expire on 4 January 1974, with seniority and effect from 5 January 1970.

Extension of Commission

Squadron Leader Nolan Wentworth Faircloth (70134) is granted a further extension of his commission, for a period to expire on 31 December 1972, with effect from 1 January 1969.

Transfer

Squadron Leader Wilfred Joseph Webster (75155) is trans-ferred from the Education Branch, Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period to expire on 7 April 1974, with effect from 8 April 1970.

Retirements

The under-mentioned officers are retired, with effect from the dates shown:

Flight Lieutenant William John Wills, B.COM. (132523), 15 February 1970. Flight Lieutenant Ronald Sydney Jones, M.SC. (131877), 16

February 1970. Flying Officer Norman Henry Cundall (70753), 16 February 1970.

AIR TRAINING CORPS

A ppointments

The under-mentioned members are appointed to commissions in the Air Training Corps, in the rank of Pilot Officer, for a period to expire on 4 February 1974, with seniority and effect from 5 February 1970.

Geoffrey Ronald Harwood. Ronald Robert Greer.

Rodney George Trott is appointed to a commission in the Air Training Corps, in the rank of Pilot Officer, for a period to expire on 8 February 1974, with seniority and effect from 9 February 1970.

Extension of Commission

Flying Officer Michael James Fairgray is granted an ex-tension of his commission for a period to expire on 8 February 1973.

Amendment

The notice published in the Gazette, No. 5, 5 February 1970, p. 136, relating to Flight Lieutenant Stuart Rose McRobie, is hereby amended to read: "Flight Lieutenant Stuart Ross Mc-Robie, to be Temporary Squadron Leader, with effect from 1 January 1970."

Dated at Wellington this 22nd day of April 1970.

DAVID S. THOMSON, Minister of Defence.

(Air 12/11/9)

Promotions, Transfer in Branch, Extensions of Commissions, Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement, Transfer to Retired List, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following promotions, transfer in R

REGULAR AIR FORCE TECHNICAL BRANCH

Transfer to Retired List

Engineer Division

Squadron Leader Trevor Maxwell Smith (70412) is trans-ferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 10 February 1970.

Administrative and Supply Branch

Transfer in Branch

Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant Leonard Varty (81720) is transferred from the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, to the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division), Regular Air Force, in his present rank, with seniority from 19 March 1962 and effect from 2 March 1970.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

Flight Lieutenant Leonard Varty (81720) is granted an ex-tension of his commission and age for retirement, for a period to expire on 3 December 1975, to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

EDUCATION BRANCH

Retirement

Squadron Leader Peter Elliot Hope, N.Z.C.E. (77257), is retired, with effect from 27 March 1970.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Retirement

Squadron Leader Ernest William De Suza (130302), is retired, with effect from 6 March 1970.

AIR TRAINING CORPS

Promotions

Pilot Officer Douglas Loudon Johnson to be Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 19 May 1969. Pilot Officer Anthony Colin Rutherford to be Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 28 March 1970.

Extensions of Commissions

The under-mentioned officers are granted extensions of their commissions for a period to expire on 31 March 1971, with effect from 1 April 1970.

Squadron Leader Malcolm James Dilks (134145). Squadron Leader Francis Davitt Mandival Moran, M.B.E. (130811)

Flight Lieutenant John Storie Flood (75683). Flight Lieutenant Beryck Phillip William Dalcom, D.F.C. (131688)

Flight Lieutenant Leonard Warwick Newman. Flight Lieutenant David Allen Low (132814).

Flying Officer Alan Kenneth Murray. Flying Officer Leslie James Stringer. Flying Officer Norman Joseph Thwaites.

Flying Officer Stuart Gordon Tunnicliffe.

Flight Lieutenant Donald George Gibson (131457) is granted an extension of his commission for a period to expire on 31 March 1971, with effect from 8 April 1970.

The under-mentioned officers are granted extensions of their commissions for a period to expire on 31 March 1972, with effect from 1 April 1970.

Squadron Leader Walter Alan Carpinter, B.Sc. Squadron Leader (temp.) Martin David Burns, M.B.E. (132594).

Squadron Leader (temp.) George Alfred Kay, B.SC., B.A., DIP.TCHG., A.N.Z.I.C. (821765). Flight Lieutenant Ernest Clifford Doherty.

The under-mentioned officers are granted extensions of their commissions for a period to expire on 31 March 1973, with effect from 1 April 1970.

Wing Commander Daniel Drummond Archibald, B.A. (133276)

Squadron Leader Desmond Charles Price, M.A. Squadron Leader Noel Herbert Scott, M.B.E. Squadron Leader (temp.) Stuart Ross McRobie. The Reverend Squadron Leader (temp.) Leonard John Silverwood, B.SC.

Squadron Leader (temp.) George Rex Stiles. Flight Lieutenant Arnold Marris Askew. Flight Lieutenant Robert MacMahon Black. Flight Lieutenant Rowan Alexander Blair (133983). Flight Lieutenant Ronald Stanley Bryson.

Flight Lieutenant Graham Andrew Church.