who is subject to the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, and also to exercise (subject to the provisions of the said Warrant) in respect of the proceedings of such Courts Martial the power of confirming the findings or sentences thereof according to law, or of directing him to reserve for my confirmation the proceedings of all or any such Courts Martial.

And whereas on the 20th day of January 1966 authority was delegated to you to convene Courts Martial and to confirm the findings and sentences thereof, such delegation being published in *New Zealand Gazette*, No. 2, on the 20th day of January 1966, at page 54:

And whereas I have executed a further warrant in substitution thereof:

Now, therefore, I, Air Vice Marshall William Hector Stratton, C.B.E., D.F.C., hereby cancel and revoke the said delegation of authority.

Given under my hand at Wellington, this 3rd day of June 1970.

W. H. STRATTON, Air Vice Marshal, Chief of the Air Staff, Royal New Zealand Air Force.

Extensions of Communication of Retired Retirement, Amendment, and Resignations of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Promotions, Appointments,

HIS Excellency the Administrator of the Government has been pleased to approve the following appointments, promotions, extensions of commissions, reversion, cancellations, transfer to the retired list, retirement, amendment and resignations of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force, pursuant to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950.

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointments

Flying Officer Kenneth James Wells (81898) is appointed to a career commission for a period to expire on 24 June 1985, with effect from 8 April 1970.

Officer Cadet (U) Francis Stanton Sharp (82915) is granted a permanent commission with effect from 13 March 1970. He is appointed in the rank of Acting Pilot Officer.

The under-mentioned Officer Cadets are appointed to a short-service commission (*on probation*) with effect from 13 March 1970, for a period to expire on 12 March 1982, to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. They are appointed in the rank of Acting Pilot Officer:

Tiopira Baker (83917)

Tiopira Baker (83917). Peter Geoffrey Buck (84351). Brian James Burt (84410). Anthony David Gainsford (84411). Lester Stephen Mason (84412). Rodney Albert John Murdoch (84441). John Frederick Myers (84442). Frank Henry Parker (84413). David Eric Sapwell (84355). Murray Wayne Sinclair (84354). Kimball Murray Lambert Smith (84097).

The under-mentioned Officer Cadets are appointed to a short-service commission (*on probation*) with effect from 13 March 1970, for a period to expire on 12 March 1978, to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. They are appointed in the rank of Acting Pilot Officer:

Hendricus Willy Johan De Boer (84352).

Murray Arthur Hoare (83820)

Robert Lindsay Horrocks (84440). John Robert Liggett (84353). Warwick Nisbet Smith (84093).

Leading Aircraftsman William Rowland Harrison (82115) is appointed to a short-service commission (*on probation*) with effect from 13 March 1970, for a period to expire on 12 March 1982, to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Acting Pilot Officer.

Promotions

Pilot Officer Gregory John Wood (82962) to be Flying Officer with seniority and effect from 28 March 1970.

Extension of Commission

Flight Lieutenant Alexander John Brown (75039) is granted a further extension of his short-service commission, with effect from 20 January 1970, for a period to expire on 21 March 1972, to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Reversion

Squadron Leader (temp.) Ian Austin Wright (79366) reverts to his substantive rank of Flight Lieutenant with effect from 4 May 1970.

Cancellation

The notice published in the Gazette, 9 April 1970, No. 21, page 580, relating to Pilot Officer Barry McKenzie Garnett (82974) is hereby cancelled.

TECHNICAL BRANCH

Promotion

Engineer Division

The under-mentioned Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers with seniority and effect from 9 April 1970.

Kelvin Gerard Kent (80139)

Graham Bradney Bockett (81048).

Cancellation

The notice published in the *Gazette*, 9 April 1970, No. 21, page 580, relating to Flight Lieutenant Alexander John Brown (75039) is hereby cancelled.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Promotion

Secretarial Division

Flying Officer Henry Cecil Richardson (74497) to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 30 April 1970. Appointment

Equipment Division

Barry McKenzie Garnett (82974) is appointed to a shortservice commission for a period to expire on 1 September 1974, to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 2 September 1969.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

A ppointment

Flight Lieutenant Brian Gordon Anderson, A.F.C., to Squadron Leader (temp.) with effect from 1 April 1970. to be Extension of Commission

The under-mentioned officers are granted extensions of their commission until the dates shown:

Squadron Leader Vernon Bruce Cook, M.B., CH.B., (U.N.Z.),

Squadron Leader Vernon Bruce Cook, M.B., CH.B., (U.N.Z.), D.A., RCP(LOND.) and RCS(ENG.), F.F.A.R.C.S. (ENG.), F.F.A.R.C.S., (134156), 17 October 1972. Flight Lieutenant William Henry Burnell, B.A., DIP.TCHG. (130095), 1 May 1972. Flight Lieutenant Anthony Alfred Edwin Lawson (79476), 72 July 1972

27 July 1972.

Flight Lieutenant Francis Manuel Maguire (816239), 31 August 1973. Flight Lieutenant William Herman Hoffman (72299), 20

September 1973. Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Stanley Ernest Trouce (72246),

16 June 1973. Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Alan Bennison (130806), 31 December 1973.

Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Anthony Richard Westlake (897392), 31 December 1973. Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Kevin John Kennedy (78949), 9

February 1974.

Transfer to the Retired List 'B'

Squadron Leader Alan Stuart Wilson (130415), is transferred to the Retired List 'B' with effect from 17 March 1970.

Retirement

The under-mentioned officers are retired with effect from the dates shown:

Squadron Leader Raymond William George Emery (130357), B March 1970.
Flight Lieutenant Ernest Charles Mawson, D.F.C. (133074),

April 1970.

Flight Lieutenant Donald Fraser Ayson, D.F.C. (133909), April 1970. 9

Flight Lieutenant (temp.) John Doube, F.P.A.N.Z., A.C.I.S. (133288), 30 March 1970.

Flying Officer Roy Alexander Henderson (132623), 5 April 1970

Flying Officer Albert Francis Garfath (133011), 7 April 1970.

Flying Officer Albert Joseph Jeeves, D.F.C. (133037), 13 April 1970. Flying Officer Ian Roy Cadwallader (690875), 25 April

1970.