ppointments, Promotions, Extensions of Commissions, Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement, Transfer to the Retired List, and Retirement of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force, Pursuant to Section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950 Appointments,

HIS Excellency the Administrator of the Government has been pleased to approve the following appointments, promotions, extensions of commissions, extension of commission and age for retirement, transfer to the Retired List, and retirement of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force, pursuant to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950.

## REGULAR AIR FORCE GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

## **Appointments**

Wing Commander Thomas Alexander McLeod Morgan, A.F.C., J.S.S.C., p.s.c. (70128) to be acting Group Captain, with effect from 8 June 1970.

Flight Lieutenant John Willingham Hewson (74189) to be temporary Squadron Leader, with effect from 1 June 1970. Flight Lieutenant Peter Harold White (336991) to be temporary Squadron Leader, with effect from 1 June 1970.

The under-mentioned Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenants, with seniority and effect from 3 June 1970:

Anthony James Menzies (78876). Ian John Rae (82025) Graeme Trevor Jackson (82020).
Kenneth James Wells (81898).
Robert Charles Andrews (79521).
Ian Michael St John Filsell (81960). David Malcolm Bevan (82009).

Ronald Wayne Singleton (81901).

Dennis White (81968).

Barrie Robyn Mandival Moran (81897).

Bruce Wallace Donnelly (81959).

David Eric Geddes (81900). George David Jensen (81964).

#### TECHNICAL BRANCH

# Appointments

## Engineer Division

Warrant Officer Robert Cunningham Allan (71236) is appointed to a short-service commission (on probation) for a period to expire on 6 April 1974 to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 7 April 1970.

Warrant Officer Athol Bryce Boag (72560) is appointed to a on 6 April 1976 to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 7 April 1970.

Sergeant Eldred Derick Hubbard (79257) is appointed to a

Sergeant Eldred Derick Hubbard (79257) is appointed to a short-service commission (on probation) for a period to expire on 25 August 1976, to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 7 April 1970.

Corporal Peter Alexander Williamson (81419) is appointed to a short-service commission (on probation) for a period to expire on 6 April 1982, to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 7 April 1970. Signals Division

The under-mentioned Corporals are appointed to short-service commissions (on probation) for a period to expire on 6 April 1982, to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. They are appointed in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 7 April 1970.

Cranby Brian Britnell (81728). Brian John Germain (81974). Peter Mason (82542).

Leading Aircraftman Barry Thomas Lennox (82763) is appointed to a short-service commission (on probation) for a period to expire on 6 April 1982, to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 7 April 1970.

## Promotion

Wing Commander (temp.) Reginald Thorpe (70917) to be Wing Commander, with seniority from 2 June 1969 with effect from 2 June 1970.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement Engineer Division

Flight Lieutenant George Ottilia Silvia Hall (70845) is granted an extension of his short-service commission and age for retirement for a period to expire on 3 May 1976.

#### ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

#### Appointments

Equipment Division

Flight Lieutenant Donald Kenneth Derby, DIP.TCHG. temporary Squadron Leader, with effect from 1 June 1970. Special Duties Division

Flying Officer Paul Kilsha Toulson (81494) to be temporary Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 1 June 1970.

Sergeant Gerard White (79005) is appointed to a short-service commission (on probation) for a period to expire on 17 May 1977, to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 7 April 1970.

Corporal Cameron Lewis Smith (81642) is appointed to a short-service commission (on probation) for a period to expire

Corporal Cameron Lewis Smith (81642) is appointed to a short-service commission (on probation) for a period to expire on 6 April 1975, to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 7 April 1970.

Leading Aircraftman John Edward Baker (81665) is appointed to a short-service commission (on probation) for a period to expire on 6 April 1975, to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Pilot Officer with seniority and effect from 7 April rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 7 April

#### Extension of Commission

#### Secretarial Division

Flight Lieutenant John Patrick Butler (78860) is granted an extension of his short-service commission for a period to expire on 10 January 1978, to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

## **EDUCATION BRANCH**

#### Appointment

Warrant Officer Kenneth Fern (75521) is appointed to a short-service commission (on probation) for a period to expire on 6 April 1976, to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 7 April 1970.

## TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

## Transfer to the Retired List

Flight Lieutenant Archibald Robert Tuckett (130412) is transferred to the Retired List "B", with effect from 1 May 1970.

### RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

#### Appointment

George Bates, O.B.E., D.F.C., A.F.C., A.M.B.I.M. (134384) is appointed to a commission in the General Duties Branch for a period to expire on 21 May 1974. He is appointed in the rank of Wing Commander, with seniority from 1 July 1963 with effect from 22 May 1970.

#### Extension of Commission

Squadron Leader John Mahiti Wilson, LL.B., p.s.c. (135510) is granted an extension of his commission for a period to expire on 4 May 1973.

# Retirements

The under-mentioned officers are retired with effect from the dates shown:

Squadron Leader Michael Charles Airey, p.s.c. (623430),

6 June 1970.

Flight Lieutenant Frederick Barry Flavall (77322), 8 June

Flight Lieutenant Bryan Harold Morrison (80016), 9 June 1970.

Flight Lieutenant John Keys (134191), 20 June 1970.
Flight Lieutenant William George Seabrook (130673), 20
June 1970.

Flight Lieutenant Edward Francis Fennessy (133057), 22 June 1970.

## Transfer to the Retired List

Flight Lieutenant Maurice Mackie White, M.Sc. (72252) is transferred to the Retired List "B", with effect from 1 July