Extensions of Commissions

Secretarial Division

Flight Lieutenant Peter William Dyke Coombs (74483), is granted an extension of his short-service commission for a period to expire on 28 November 1970, to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Special Duties Division

Flying Officer Colin Hall (80431), is granted an extension of his short-service commission for a period to expire on 29 April 1974, to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Retirement

Squadron Leader Donald George MacNab M.C., D.C.M. (78677), is retired, with effect from 7 April 1970.

TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Appointment

Special Duties Division

The under-mentioned are appointed to short-service commis-sions for a period to expire on 8 July 1975 to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. They are appointed in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 9 July 1970:

John William Hannaford (784819). Hank Naber (77784).

Extensions of Commissions

The under-mentioned officers are granted extensions of their short-service commissions for a period to expire on 7 July 1975, to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers:

Flight Lieutenant Geoffrey Maxwell Smith (134317). Flight Lieutenant Gilbert Randal Springer (132946).

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

A ppointment

Michael Anthony Bungay LL.B., (36355), is appointed to a commission in the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division) for a period to expire on 1 July 1974. He is appointed in the rank of Squadron Leader, with seniority and effect from 2 July 1970.

Transfer

Squadron Leader John Victor Lill A.N.Z.I.M. (70310), is transferred from the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division), Regular Air Force, for a period to expire on 7 April 1974.

Extension of Commission

Wing Commander Randal Forbes Elliott M.B., CH.B.(U.N.Z.), F.R.C.S. (ENG.), F.R.A.C.S., D.O., R.C.P. (LOND.), R.C.S. (ENG.) (133920), is granted an extension of his commission for a period to expire on 20 June 1974.

Cancellation

The notice published in the Gazette, 2 July 1970, No. 39, p. 1138, relating to Wing Commander John Richard Claydon, A.F.C. (70111), is hereby cancelled.

Retirements

The under-mentioned officers are retired with effect from the dates shown:

Flight Lieutenant Ellett Forbes Page LL.B. (132201), 3 March 1970.

Flight Lieutenant Harvie Llewellyn Piper (130571), 23 July 1970.

AIR TRAINING CORPS

Promotion

Flight Lieutenant Stewart Rex Cowley to be Squadron Leader, with seniority and effect from 25 May 1970.

Resignation of Commission

Flying Officer Richard Thomas Ronald Cohen is permitted to resign his commission, with effect from 22 July 1970.

Amendment

The notice published in the Gazette, 2 July 1970, No. 39 p. 1138, relating to Pilot Officer Richard Albert Patson is hereby amended to read: "Pilot Officer Richard Albert Patson to be Flying Officer with seniority and effect from 10 July 1969".

WOMEN'S ROYAL NEW ZEALAND AIR FORCE Retirement

Section Officer Shirley Carol Wheatley (83089), is retired, with effect from 11 May 1970.

Dated at Wellington this 11th day of August 1970.

DAVID S. THOMSON, Minister of Defence.

(Air 12/11/9)

Appointment of High Commissioner for New Zealand in Australia

HIS Excellency the Governor-General in Council has been pleased to appoint

Arthur James Yendell

to be High Commissioner for New Zealand in Australia under and for the purposes of the External Affairs Act 1943, to hold the said office as on and from the 10th day of August 1970 until the 9th day of August 1973.

Dated at Wellington this 10th day of August 1970.

KEITH HOLYOAKE, Minister of Foreign Affairs.

Controller and Auditor-General Appointed

PURSUANT to section 12 of the Public Revenues Act 1953, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint Keith Gillies

the Office of Controller and Auditor-General on the 12th day of August 1970.

Dated at Wellington this 14th day of August 1970.

KEITH HOLYOAKE, Prime Minister.

Member of Port Conciliation Committee for Port of Napier Appointed

PURSUANT to the Waterfront Industry Act 1953, the Minister of Labour hereby appoints:

Stanley Pickup (nominated by the New Zealand Port Employers' Association (Incorporated)), vice Stuart Helsby Robinson

to be a member of the Port Conciliation Committee for the Port of Napier for a term expiring on the 30th day of April 1971.

Dated at Wellington this 10th day of August 1970. J. R. MARSHALL, Minister of Labour.

Deputy Chairman of Port Conciliation Committee for the Port of Bluff Appointed

PURSUANT to the Waterfront Industry Act 1953, the Minister of Labour hereby appoints:

Halsey John Burke

to be Deputy Chairman of the Port Conciliation Committee for the Port of Bluff for a term expiring on the 31st day of March 1971.

Dated at Wellington this 10th day of August 1970. J. R. MARSHALL, Minister of Labour.

Member of Medical Research Council of New Zealand **Appointed**

PURSUANT to section 4 (1) (g) of the Medical Research Council Act 1950, as amended by section 3 (1) (g) of the Medical Research Council Amendment Act 1965, His Excel-lency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Geoffrey Warren Holland, M.B., CH.B. (N.Z.), F.R.C.S. ENG., F.R.A.C.S.

to be a member of the Medical Research Council of New Zealand for a term of 3 years commencing 1 April 1970.

Dated at Wellington this 7th day of August 1970.

D. N. MCKAY, Minister of Health.