Appointments, Promotions, Transfers, Transfer in Branch, Extension of Commission, Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement, and Resignation of Commissions of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, promotions, transfers, transfer in branch, extension of commission, extension of commission and age for retirement, and resignation of commissions of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Promotion

Acting Wing Commander Ivor Veitch MacKay, p.s.c. (75439), to be Wing Commander, with seniority from 15 December 1968, and effect from 26 January 1970.

TECHNICAL BRANCH

Transfer in Branch

Acting Pilot Officer Noel Douglas Moffai (81544) is transferred from the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, to the Technical Branch, Engineer Division, Regular Air Force. He is transferred in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 1 December 1969.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Appointments

Equipment Division

Flight Lieutenant Clarence Robert Clarke, A.N.Z.I.M. (70542), to be Temporary Squadron Leader, with seniority and effect from 19 January 1970.

Flying Officer Wayne Maurice Chappell (82468) to be Temporary Flight Lieutenant for the period of 1 August 1969

until 11 January 1970.

Promotion

Pilot Officer Reginald Paul Warren (82939) to be Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 14 December 1969.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Extensions of Commissions

The under-mentioned officers are granted extensions of their commissions for a period to expire on date shown: Flight Lieutenant Robert William Duke, B.A. (133167), 5

March 1972

Flight Lieutenant Brian Gray Grimwood (827555), 23 September 1972.
Flight Lieutenant John Mervyn Higgins (77282), 14 October

Flight Lieutenant Graeme Stuart Potts (578398), 22

December 1971.

Flight Lieutenant Herbert James Dalzell D.F.M. (70177),

July 1973. Flight Lieutenant (temp.) David St. John Knott (345782),

January 1972. Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Derek Bromley Scott (897414), 13 January 1972.

Flying Officer Peter Wynn Joll (71944), 14 March 1973.

Extensions of Commissions and Ages for Retirement

Wing Commander Tom Dick Collingwood Childs, M.B., CH.B., U.N.Z. (134291), is granted a further extension of his commission and age for retirement, for a period to expire on 8 January

Wing Commander (temp.) Edgar Francis Harvie, A.F.C. (134239), 14 October 1970.

Retirement

Flight Lieutenant James Risk Naysmith, D.F.C., (132919), is retired, with effect from 4 December 1969.

AIR TRAINING CORPS

Appointment

Flying Officer Emest Joseph Abraham, D.F.C., DIP.TCHG. to be Temporary Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 1 December

Promotions

Flight Lieutenant Malcolm James Dilks to be Squadron Leader, with seniority and effect from 19 December 1969.

Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Headley Graham Hughes to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 1 December

Pilot Officer William Frederick Cook to be Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 13 October 1969.
Pilot Officer Desmond James Kennedy to be Flying Officer, with seniority from 17 October 1969, and with effect from 3 December 1969.

Transfer

Flight Lieutenant (temp.) James Lewis Bathgate is transferred from the Reserve of Air Force Officers to the Air Training Corps, for a period to expire on 23 January 1973, with effect from 1 December 1969.

Resignations

The under-mentioned officers are permitted to resign their commissions from the dates shown:

Flying Officer Harling Alfred John Lamb, 1 December 1969. Pilot Officer Sam Gardiner, 13 December 1969. Pilot Officer Graham James Moore, 13 December 1969. Pilot Officer John Dawson Ridge, B.Sc., 1 December 1969. Pilot Officer John Edmund Roberts, 13 December 1969.

Dated at Wellington this 22nd day of January 1970. DAVID S. THOMSON, Minister of Defence.

(Air 12/11/9)

Appointments, Promotions, Transfer to Retired List, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, promotions, transfer to retired list, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointments

Squadron Leader Mervyn William Hodge, p.s.c., c.f.s. (77250), to be Temporary Wing Commander, with effect from

15 November 1969.
Squadron Leader Murray Davis Peacock, A.F.C., p.s.c. (75154), to be Temporary Wing Commander, with effect from

22 November 1969.

Master Engineer Douglas David Gawne (72051) is appointed to a short-service commission in the General Duties Branch (Engineer Division), Regular Air Force, for a period to expire on 14 September 1972, to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 2 September 1969.

Flight Sergeant Thomas Hilton Moody (76822) is appointed to a short-service commission in the General Duties Branch (Engineer Division). Regular Air Force, for a period to expire

(Engineer Division), Regular Air Force, for a period to expire on 1 September 1977, to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 2 September 1969.

Promotion

Group Captain (temp.) Harold Gordon Moss, A.F.C., p.s.c. (72349), to be Group Captain, with seniority from 4 December 1968, and with effect from 17 October 1969.

TECHNICAL BRANCH

Appointments

Engineer Division

Flight Lieutenant Richard James Ruscoe, B.E.M. (70836) to be Temporary Squadron Leader, with effect from 13 March

Flying Officer Robert Alexander Keown, B.E. (80787), to be Temporary Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 18 August 1969.

Master Engineer Alfred Wilson McNally (75237) is appointed to a short-service commission in the Technical appointed to a snort-service commission in the Technical Branch (Engineer Division), Regular Air Force, for a period to expire on 7 January 1979, to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority from 2 July 1969 and with effect from 2 September 1969.

Warrant Officer William Ernest Charles Morris (72772) is residually that the technical Republication of the property of the proper

appointed to a short-service commission in the Technical Branch (Engineer Division), Regular Air Force, for a period to expire on 1 September 1975, to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 2 September 1969.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Appointments

Secretarial Division

Warrant Officer Ian Oscar Parkinson (71128) is appointed to a short-service commission in the Administrative and Supply Branch (Secretarial Division), Regular Air Force, for a period to expire on 16 January 1977, to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 2 September 1969.