Government Railways Appeal Board Appointment of Chairman

ARTHUR PORRITT, Governor-General

PURSUANT to section 91 of the Government Railways Act 1949, I, Sir Arthur Espie Poritt, Baronet, the Governor-General of New Zealand, hereby appoint as a member and as Chairman of the Government Railways Appeal Board, Malcolm Cort Astley, of Auckland, to hold office from and including the 1st day of May 1972 to and including the 30th day of April 1975.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General this 30th day of November 1971.

J. B. GORDON, Minister of Railways.

Appointments, Promotions, Transfers, Resignations, Cancel-lations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, transfers, resignations, cancellations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointments

Flying Officer G. R. Thomson to be temp. Flight Lieutenant with effect from 1 August 1971.

Q82722 Corporal Carlton Ashmore Hamilton Millen is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 12 years, in the rank of Acting Pilot Officer with effect from 17 September 1971, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

The following Officer Cadets are appointed to short-service commissions for a period of 12 years, in the rank of Acting Pilot Officer with effect from 17 September 1971, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers:

D85149 Graeme Campbell Clark. L84443 Michael Roger French. S84357 Andrew Derek Lyttle. E84460 David Merton Peters.

F84461 Christopher Keith Williams.

T84358 John Francis Wilson.

M82282 Corporal Kerry Stuart Campbell is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 8 years, in the rank of Acting Pilot Officer with effect from 17 September 1971, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

The following Officer Cadets are appointed to short-service commissions for a period of 8 years, in the rank of Acting Pilot Officer with effect from 17 September 1971, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers:

T84818 Lee Maurice Harper.

Q84999 Graeme Ross Scott. C84826 Gregory David Taylor. G85152 Graeme Lawrence Wellington.

Promotions

The following Flight Lieutenants to be Squadron Leaders with effect from 23 October 1971:

G. S. Higgins.

Temp. Squadron Leader R. S. Holdaway. J. W. L. Meredith. G. W. Ragg. F. H. Roach.

The following Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenants with effect from dates shown:

J. D. Peterson, D.F.C., 21 February 1971.

J. D. Peterson, D.F.C., 21 February 1971.
P. R. Gazley, B.S.C., seniority from 20 June 1971 and effect from 29 September 1971.
K. D. Harford, 1 August 1971.
M. H. Sommerville, 1 August 1971.
B. W. Forster, 20 September 1971.
B. L. O'Neill, B.A., 20 September 1971.
E. D. Webb, 20 September 1971.
R. N. Masters, 20 September 1971.
D. J. McEvedy, 20 September 1971.
J. R. Jennings, 22 September 1971.
D. V. Monti, 22 September 1971.
D. J. Ellis, 22 September 1971.

D. A. Bamfield, 22 September 1971.
K. L. Crofskey, 22 September 1971.
T. C. A. Baines, 22 September 1971.
R. F. Hurley, 22 September 1971.
M. D. Crang, 22 September 1971.
G. J. Fallow, 14 October 1971.
V. S. Paul, 14 October 1971.
S. M. Elliott, 15 October 1971.

The following Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers with effect from 11 September 1971:

A. M. Turner.G. L. Claxton.B. W. Payne.

Acting Pilot Officer A. D. Gainsford to be Pilot Officer with seniority from 17 June 1971 and effect from 17 September 1971.

The following Acting Pilot Officers to be Pilot Officers with effect from 17 September 1971:

P. H. Johnson.

R. M. Thorne. A. J. Buckingham. D. I. Grant. S. L. Robertson.

Adjustment of Seniority

The seniority of Flying Officer L. S. Fenwick, B.S. (USAF ACADEMY), is ante-dated to 19 September 1970.

Extensions of Commissions

The following are granted extensions of their short-service commissions until the dates shown, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers:

Squadron Leader G. C. Brown, A.F.C., 31 January 1973. Flight Lieutenant H. Hammersley, 7 June 1974. Flight Lieutenant R. Turner, 31 December 1977.

Transfers

Flight Lieutenant Graham Neville Lucas is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 2 July 1975, with effect from 23 July 1971.

Flight Lieutenant Garry Maurice Harry Wright is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 2 July 1975, with effect from 5 August 1971.

Transfer to the Retired List

Air Vice-Marshal William Hector Stratton, C.B., C.B.E., D.F.C. AND BAR, is transferred to the Retired List "A" with effect from 1 November 1971.

Cancellations of Commissions

The short-service commissions of the following Acting Pilot Officers are cancelled with effect from the dates shown:

Louis Ross Clarkson, 2 September 1971. Douglas John Edwards, 9 October 1971. Kevin Lawrence Fitzmaurice, 7 September 1971. Graeme Allan Smith, 13 September 1971. Ross Peter Vickery, 26 August 1971.

TECHNICAL BRANCH

APPOINTMENTS

Engineer Division

Flight Lieutenant A. G. P. Dick to be Acting Squadron Leader with effect from 1 October 1971 and temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 11 October 1971.

Flying Officer N. J. Mosby, B.E., to be temp. Flight Lieutenant with effect from 1 August 1971.

Flying Officer M. J. Melville to be temp. Flight Lieutenant with effect from 16 September 1971.

Flying Officer E. D. Hubbard to be temp. Flight Lieutenant with effect from 1 August 1971.

Signals Division

Flying Officer G. W. Blue to be temp. Flight Lieutenant with effect from 1 August 1971.

Promotion Engineer Division

Flying Officer (temp. Flight Lieutenant) J. R. Charlton, B.E.M., to be Flight Lieutenant with effect from 15 October 1971.

Transfer to Retired List

Signals Division

Wing Commander Alfred George Edward Pugh, O.B.E., C.ENG., A.F.R.AC.S., is transferred to the Retired List "A" with effect from 24 April 1971.