further increases the number of members of the said Board from six to seven, and appoints Te Mutu Rikihana as the additional member.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General this 11th day of March 1971.

DUNCAN MACINTYRE, Minister of Lands.

(L. and S. H.O. 4/215/1; D.O. 13/132/1)

Appointments, Promotions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army

PURSUANT to section 16 of the New Zealand Army Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army:

ROYAL REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY

Regular Force

Major (acting Lieutenant-Colonel) C. C. Stewart to be temp. Lieutenant-Colonel. Dated 8 March 1971. Captain B. G. Dilger to be temp. Major. Dated 13 January

1971

Licutenant and Quartermaster D. F. Pollard to be temp. Captain and Quartermaster. Dated 21 January 1971.

Territorial Force

16th Field Regiment, RNZA

Lieutenant Neil Arthur Johnson is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery, in the rank of Lieutenant, until 4 December 1971. Dated 30 December 1970.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMOURED CORPS Regular Force

Lieutenant R. K. Storey to be temp. Captain. Dated 23 January 1971.

Lieutenant D. A. Johnston, from the Territorial Force, to be Lieutenant, on an initial engagement of 5 years. Dated 20 February 1971.

Supernumerary List

Captain (*temp.* Major) and Quartermaster George William Arthur Bennett is posted to the Retired List in the rank of Major and Quartermaster. Dated 15 February 1971.

Territorial Force

1st Squadron (New Zealand Scottish), RNZAC

Lieutenant D. A. Johnston is transferred to the Regular Force. Dated 20 February 1971.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

Territorial Force

6th Independent Field Squadron, RNZE

Ian John Clarke to be 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.). Dated 1 January 1971.

William John Strand to be 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.). Dated 1 January 1971.

2nd Works Section, RNZE

Captain (temp. Major) G. Pallo, E.D., B.E. (ELECT.), M.N.Z.I.E., ASSOC.I.E.E., to be Major. Dated 19 February 1971.

ROYAL N.Z. CORPS OF SIGNALS

Regular Force

Captain (temp. Major) T. D. Macfarlane to be Major. Dated 14 December 1970.

## **ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT**

Regular Force

Major Jack Rathbun, A.N.Z.I.M., is posted to the Retired List. Dated 6 February 1971. Major P. G. Hotop to be acting Lieutenant-Colonel. Dated 11 January 1971. Major (acting Lieutenant-Colonel) P. G. Hotop to be temp.

Lieutenant-Colonel, Dated 8 February 1971. Captain (temp. Major) M. J. Dudman to be Major. Dated 1 August 1970.

Captain (temp. Major) P. D. R. Browne to be Major. Dated 14 December 1970. Captain (temp. Major) R. S. Dearing to be Major. Dated 14 December 1970.

Captain M. N. Ritchie to be temp. Major. Dated 21 January 1971.

Captain S. J. M. Winton to be temp. Major for the period 7 September 1970 to 20 January 1971.

Captain Peter Stephen Sullivan is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment, in the rank of Captain. Dated 20 January 1971. Lieutenant (*temp.* Captain) D. G. Shattky to be Captain. Dated 20 December 1970.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) and Quartermaster W. Elliott

to be Captain and Quartermaster w. Efflott to be Captain and Quartermaster. Dated 12 February 1971. Lieutenant Brian Peter Groshinski is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regi-ment, in the rank of Lieutenant. Dated 2 February 1971. Lieutenant J. A. Fisher to be temp. Captain. Dated 21 Lanuary 1971

January 1971

The seniority of Lieutenant R. L. Scott is antedated to 9 June 1970.

## ROYAL N.Z. ARMY SERVICE CORPS

Regular Force

Captain (temp. Major) S. T. Foster, E.D., was transferred to the Territorial Force. Dated 29 October 1970. Lieutenant R. N. Walker to be temp. Captain. Dated 20 November 1970.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY MEDICAL CORPS

Regular Force

Captain (temp. Major) R. V. Richards (non-medical) to be Major. Dated 1 January 1971. Captain J. Schulz, M.B., B.S., from the Territorial Force, to be

Major, on a 3-month engagement. Dated 4 February 1971.

Captain (*temp*. Major) Peter Harlan Callaway, A.R.S.H. (non-medical), is posted to the Retired List in the rank of Major. Dated 2 March 1971. Officer Cadet Robert Edward Howard to be 2nd Lieutenant (*on prob.*). Dated 5 January 1971.

Territorial Force

Captain David Walling Leslie, M.B., CH.B. (late of the 2nd General Hospital, RNZAMC), resigns his commission. Dated

1 January 1971. Captain J. Schulz, M.B., B.S., is transferred to the Regular Force. Dated 4 February 1971.

2nd General Hospital, RNZAMC

Captain Alec Jardine Sinclair, M.B., CH.B., is transferred to

the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Army Medical Corps, in the rank of Captain. Dated 1 January 1971. Lieutenant Malcolm Maben Cameron, B.SC., M.B., CH.B., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Army Medical Corps, in the rank of Lieutenant. Dated 11 January 1971.

3rd Field Ambulance, RNZAMC

Captain (temp. Major) J. O. Burford, B.D.S., RNZDC, to be Major. Dated 12 December 1970. 2nd Lieutenant P. C. Heaphy to be Lieutenant. Dated 14

August 1970.

Otago University Medical Company, RNZAMC

Captain (temp. Major) Michael Elliott Shackleton, M.B., CH.B., F.R.C.S., F.R.A.C.S., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Army Medical Corps, in the rank of Major. Dated 1 October 1970.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) D. B. Drysdale, M.B., CH.B., to be Captain. Dated 5 February 1971. Charles James Newhook to be 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.).

Dated 1 January 1971.

9th Mobile Bacteriological Laboratory, RNZAMC

Captain J. D. R. Morgan to be temp. Major. Dated 29 July 1970.

6th Field Hygiene Section, RNZAMC

Lieutenant B. M. Teviotdale, B.MED.SC., M.B., CH.B., to be Captain. Dated 7 January 1971.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY ORDNANCE CORPS

Regular Force

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) and Quartermaster I. R. Larsen to be Captain and Quartermaster. Dated 7 October 1970. Lieutenant R. Ellwood to be Captain. Dated 20 December

1970.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ELECTRICAL AND MECHANICAL ENGINEERS

## Regular Force

Captain (temp. Major) J. A. Robinson, B.E. (MECH.), to be Major. Dated 14 December 1970. Lieutenant (temp. Captain) A. C. Ward to be Captain. Dated

14 December 1970,

Supernumerary List

Major and Quartermaster Robin Moir is posted to the Retired List. Dated 6 March 1971.