Extending the Time Within Which the Commission of Inquiry Into New Zealand Shipping May Report

ARTHUR PORRITT, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

To all unto whom these presents shall come, and to:

RAYMOND DOUGLAS JAMIESON, Esquire, of Wellington, Stipendiary Magistrate;

CARLETON HUNTER PERKINS, Esquire, of Christchurch, Public Accountant; and

IAN DOUGLAS STEVENSON, Esquire, of Wellington, retired Civil Servant.

GREETING:

WHEREAS by Order in Council made on the 25th day of May 1970* you the said Raymond Douglas Jamieson, Carleton Hunter Perkins, and Ian Douglas Stevenson were appointed to be a Commission to inquire into and report upon certain matters relating to New Zealand shipping:

And whereas by the said Order in Council the said Commission was required to submit an interim report on certain specific items of the terms of reference not later than the 31st day of July 1970:

And whereas by an Order in Council made on the 14th day of December 1970[†] the time for submitting that interim report was extended until the 31st day of March 1971 but it was considered that an interim report was unnecessary and such a report has not been submitted:

And whereas it is considered expedient that your findings Order in Council (including the matters in respect of which an interim report was required to be made) should be sub-mitted not later than the 30th day of June 1971:

Now, therefore, I, Sir Arthur Espie Porritt, Baronet, the Governor-General of New Zealand, acting pursuant to the Commissions of Inquiry Act 1908 and by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby require you to report to me in writing under your hands not later than the 30th day of June 1971 your findings and opinions on all the matters specified in the first-mentioned Order in Council, with-out prejudice to the continuation of the liberty conferred upon you by that Order in Council to report your proceedings and recommendations from time to time if you should judge it expedient so to do, and do hereby confirm the said first-mentioned Order in Council and the Commission thereby constituted, save as modified by these presents.

Given in Executive Council under the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General this 26th day of April 1971.

P. J. BROOKS, Clerk of the Executive Council.

*Gazette, 4 June 1970, p. 982 †Gazette, 4 February 1971, p. 144

Appointing a Member of the National Water and Soil Conservation Authority

ARTHUR PORRITT, Governor-General

PURSUANT to section 5 of the Water and Soil Conservation Act 1967, I, Sir Arthur Espie Porritt, Baronet, the Governor-General of New Zealand, hereby appoint Alick Lindsay Poole, Esquire, of Wellington, to be a member of the National Water and Soil Conservation Authority representing the Soil Conservation and Rivers Control Council as and from the 1st day of April 1971, for the residue of the term for which Arnold Edwin Clark was appointed, the said Arnold Edwin Clark having resigned as and from the 31st day of March 1971.

By witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General this 17th day of April 1971.

H. J. WALKER, for Minister of Works. (P.W. 74/60/1)

Appointments, Promotions, Transfers, Extensions, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, transfers, extensions, resignations, and retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Annointment

Flight Lieutenant John William Lodder Meredith (78397) is appointed to a permanent commission, with effect from 11 March 1971.

Appointment and Extension

Temporary Squadron Leader John Willingham Hewson (74189) is granted a permanent commission, with age for retirement extended to 31 December 1978, with effect from 9 March 1971.

Promotions

Flying Officer Lindley Jon Robert Francis (82449) to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 21 February 1971.

The under-mentioned Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers with seniority and effect from 6 March 1971:

John Stephenson Bates (82300). Donald Wayne Carter (82442). Bruce Reid Ferguson (83823).

Ronald William Ferguson (83824). Dudley Garth Harrison (83822). Noel Raymond McKenzie (83866). Bruce William Watson (84186).

Noel William Davie (83869).

Terence Michael Gardiner (83890). Gordon Barker Habgood (83870).

Cancellation of Commission

The commission of Acting Pilot Officer Larry Ray Timpany (84743) is cancelled with effect from 17 December 1970.

TECHNICAL BRANCH

Appointment

Engineer Division

Flight Lieutenant Denys James Miles (78191) is granted a permanent commission, with effect from 9 March 1971.

ADMINISTRATION AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Transfer to the Retired List

Secretarial Division

Squadron Leader Leslie William Thompson, M.B.E., A.N.Z.I.M. (70756), is transferred to the Retired List A, with effect from 12 February 1971.

A ppointment

Equipment Division

Flying Officer Hugh Kevin McCarron (77630) to be temporary Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 4 February

Retirement

Squadron Leader Hugo Frederick Kyle (73704) is retired, with effect from 14 December 1970.

A ppointment

Special Duties Division

Sergeant Edward George Wright (81635) is appointed to a short service commission (on probation) for a period to expire on 11 January 1977, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers, in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 12 January 1971.

TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

A ppointment

Ian Walter Black (134405) is appointed to a commission in the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division), Territorial Air Force, for a period to expire on 2 March 1976, to be followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers, in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 3 March 1971.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Transfers

Flight Lieutenant Henry Allen Bunn (79367) is transferred from the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force for a period to expire on 6 January 1975, with effect from 8 January 1971. Flight Lieutenant Kenneth Exelby Smith (353762) is trans-ferred from the Administration and Supply Branch (Equip-ment Division), Regular Air Force, for a period to expire on 7 January 1975, with effect from 8 January 1971. Flight Lieutenant Alexander Albert Glover (71551) is transferred from the Administration and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division), Regular Air Force, for a period to expire on 4 July 1974, with effect from 22 October 1970.