Flight Lieutenant Rex Joseph Lorigan (80415) is granted a permanent commission, with effect from 15 March 1971.

The following Officer Cadets (U) are appointed to permanent commissions in the rank of Acting Pilot Officer, with effect from 19 March 1971:

Peter Sydney Faulkner (82621). John Kielgaard Herron (83421). William John Sommer (82623).

The following are appointed to short-service commissions (on probation) for a period to expire on 18 March 1983, to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers; they are appointed in the rank of Acting Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 19 March 1971:

Officer Cadet Louis Ross Clarkson (84833).
Officer Cadet Anthony Edward Denis Daly (84815).
Officer Cadet David Alexander Leyland (84896).
Officer Cadet William Kelly Leslie MacGregor (84897).
Officer Cadet Brian Gordon Masters (84898).
Officer Cadet Ross Peter Vickery (84899)
Officer Cadet Alan George White (84900).
Elight Sergeant Clive Cecil Lobuston (80034)

Flight Sergeant Clive Cecil Johnston (80034).

The following are appointed to short-service commissions (on probation) for a period to expire on 18 March 1979, to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers; they are appointed in the rank of Acting Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 19 March 1971:

Officer Cadet Larry Kenneth Bennett (84813).
Officer Cadet James Coubrough (84742).
Officer Cadet Russell Brett Deakin (84816).
Officer Cadet Douglas John Edwards (84895).
Officer Cadet David John Forrest (84817).
Officer Cadet John Roy Secker (84769).
Corporal Leslie Gordon Sharp (82062).
Officer Cadet Graeme Arthur Todd (84819).
Corporal Ronald John Doggett (82114).
Officer Cadet Lewis John Jenkins (84835). Officer Cadet Lewis John Jenkins (84835). L.A.C. Stephen Kynaston (84286). Sergeant Philip John Richards (82870).

#### Promotions

Flight Lieutenant Robert Thomas Reynolds Gilbert (79208) to be Squadron Leader, with seniority and effect from 24 April 1971.

Flying Officer Nigel James McNeill (81965) to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 29 March 1971.

The following Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenants, with seniority and effect from 21 April 1971:

Allan Thomas King (82505).
Peter William Philipson (82451).
Keith Ainsley Skilling (82474).
Ian Charles Varcoe (82475).
Trevor Harvey Jones (82649).
Allan John Boyce (82469).
Trevor David Mollard (82506).
Wayne Lloyd McMillan (82509).
Bryce McGregor Butterfield (8246).

Bryce McGregor Butterfield (82470). James Stanley Barclay (82441).

The following Acting Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers, with seniority and effect from 19 March 1971:

Alexander John Stevens (82933).
Francis Stanton Sharp, B.Sc. (82915).
Acting Pilot Officer Wayne Edward Matthews (82305) to be Pilot Officer, with seniority from 19 December 1970 and effect from 19 March 1971.

The following Acting Pilot Officers to be Pilot Officers, with seniority and effect from 19 March 1971:

David Eric Sapwell (84355) David Eric Sapwell (84353).
Warwick Nisbet Smith (84093).
Kimball Murray Lambert Smith (84097).
Murray Wayne Sinclair (84354).
Brian James Burt (84410).
Rodney Albert John Murdoch (84441).
Frank Henry Parker (84413).
Robert Lindsay Horrocks (84440).
Peter Geoffrey Buck (84351) Peter Geoffrey Buck (84351).

## Extension of Commission

Flight Lieutenant Denis Patrick Cahill, B.A. (80024), is granted an extension of his short-service commission for a period to expire on 5 July 1972.

### Transfer to Retired List

Squadron Leader Francis James McDavitt (70972) is transferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 23 March

# Retirement

Squadron Leader John Corfe Evison, A.F.C. (77332) is retired, with effect from 5 January 1971.

#### Cancellation of Commission

The short-service commission of Acting Pilot Officer Andrew Hillman (84586) is cancelled, with effect from 16 February 1971.

#### TECHNICAL BRANCH

### A ppointment

Engineer Division

Flight Lieutenant Graham Frankton Smart (78096) is granted a permanent commission, with effect from 12 March

#### Promotion

Engineer Division

Pilot Officer Peter Alexander Williamson (81419) to be Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 7 April 1971.

#### Transfer to the Retired List

Signals Division

Squadron Leader Teunis Van Den Heuvel (71644) is transferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 16 February 1971.

#### ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

### A ppointments

Secretarial Division

Flight Lieutenant Grahame Victor Sommerville (73734) to temporary Squadron Leader, with effect from 19 April 1971.

Equipment Division

Squadron Leader Harold Trevor McKubre, B.A., DIP.ED. (71315), to be Acting Wing Commander, with effect from 5 April 1971 and temporary Wing Commander, with effect from 17 April 1971.

Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant John Richard Hudson (71233) is granted a permanent commission, with effect from 12 March 1971.

## **Promotions**

Special Duties Division

The following Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers, with seniority and effect from 7 April 1971:

John Edward Baker (81665) Cameron Lewis Smith (81642).

### Retirement

Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant William Eric Turnham (74574) is retired, with effect from 2 January 1971.

## RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Transfer and Extension of Commission

Squadron Leader Francis Davitt Mandival Moran, M.B.E. (130811), is transferred from the General Duties Branch to the Education Branch, with effect from 1 April 1971, and his commission is extended for a period to expire on 19 October 1974.

### Extension of Commission

Temp. Squadron Leader Robert Maurice Conly (134057) is granted an extension of his commission for a period to expire on 3 February 1975.

## Retirements

Squadron Leader Murdoch Campbell Paterson, A.C.I.S. (130308) is retired, with effect from 26 March 1971. Flying Officer John Dickson Fergusson (132707) is retired, with effect from 30 March 1971.

## N.Z. CADET FORCES

## AIR TRAINING CORPS

# Appointments

The notice published in the Gazette, 1 April 1971, No. 23, page 573, relating to the appointment of Richard Kent Moody is cancelled and the following substituted:

"Richard Kent Moody is appointed to a commission in the Air Training Corps, in the rank of Pilot Officer for a period to expire on 20 January 1975, with seniority and effect from 21 January 1971."

Robert Arthur Oddy is appointed to a commission for a period to expire on 24 January 1975, in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 25 January 1971.