Birthday Honours List

His Excellency the Governor-General has announced that The Queen has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the celebration of Her Majesty's Birthday, to confer the following honours-

CIVIL DIVISION

- Knight Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (K.B.E.):
- Mr Reginald Harry Smythe, of Auckland.

Knight Bachelor:

- Mr Walter Neville Norwood, of Wellington.
- Companion of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George (C.M.G.):

 - Mr Charles Hilgendorf, of Sherwood, Ashburton. The Most Reverend Dr Norman Alfred Lesser, of Napier.
- Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.)
 - Reverend Pakake Heketoro Leonard M.B.E., of Ngongotaha. Mr Cyril William Mace, of Christchurch. Mr Victor Worth Thomas, of Wellington. Mr Robert Archibald Whyte, of Paraparaumu Beach.
- of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire Officer (O.B.E.):

 - Mr Reginald Percy Andrews, of Wanganui. Mr Eric Tamate Beaven, of Christchurch. Mr Arthur Trevor Campbell, resident in London. Mr Robert James Charles, resident in U.S.A. Mr Geoffrey Noel Townshend Greenbank, of Auckland. Mr Matthew Graham Blacklock Harvey, of New Plymouth.

 - Mr Matthew Graham Blacklock Harvey, of New Phy Dr Geoffrey Henry Leslie, of Wellington. Mr Terence Henderson McCombs, of Christchurch. Mr David Hedley McElrea, of Milton R.D. 2. Reverend Lawrence Alfred North, of Wellington. Mr Peter John Scott, of Dunedin. Mrs Mavis Ada Tiller, of Wellington. Dr Robert Burns Watson, of Queenstown.
- Companion of the Imperial Service Order (I.S.O.):
- Mr John Bruce Brown, of Wellington.
- Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.):
- Mrs Ellen Elizabeth Buckingham, of Quarry Hills, Southland.
- Mr John William Byers, of Kaikohe. Mr Raymond Malcolm Collis, of Kairanga, Manawatu. Mrs Doris May Dennis, of Gisborne. Mrs Elsie Elizabeth Fellingham, of Featherston.

- Mrs Elsie Elizabeth Fellingham, of Featherston. Mr James Albert Nicholas Halford, of Norsewood. Mr John Brown Hamilton, of Queenstown R.D. 1. Mr Sidney Perrin Harling, of Blenheim. Mr Arthur Reginald Harris, of Mount Maunganui. Mr John Hobson, of Auckland. Mr Graeme Laurenson, of New Plymouth. Dr David Collingwood Low, of Nelson. Mr Archibald James McCallum, of Oamaru. Mr Robert Millin McCulloch, of Auckland. Mr Ralph Murrell McDonald, of Mosgiel. Mr Albert Leonard Sutherland, of Greymouth. Mr Conway Wilberforce Teppett, of Palmerston North. Sister Heeni Te Teira Wharemaru, of Hamilton. Dr Ernest Edwyn Willoughby, of Huntly.
- Dr Ernest Edwyn Willoughby, of Huntly.
- British Empire Medal (B.E.M.)

 - Mr Aldrew Robert Michael Bowie, of Hanmer. Mr Herbert Wedgwood Brabant, of Whakatane. Mrs Joyce Brabant, of Whakatane. Miss Mary Constance Burrell, of Hastings. Mr Sidney Keith Christensen, of Taupo. Constable Henry Willoughby Hampton, New Zealand Police, of Chatham Islands.
 - Mr Albert Cyril Loach, of Christchurch.

 - Mr Hector George McAllister, of Kaiapoi. Sister Grace McNaught, of Te Kuiti. Miss Elizabeth Matheson, of Wellington. Mrs Amy Marion Rothery (*nee* Ryan), of Auckland. Mrs Patricia Helene Pamela Simcox, of Puketitiri, Hawkes
 - Bay. Mr Gordon Day Staveley, of Wellington.
 - Mr Athol Gradwyn Wood, of Runciman, Papakura.
- Queen's Police Medal, for Distinguished Service (Q.P.M.):
- Chief Superintendent Robert Alexander Moore, New Zealand Police, of Hamilton.

MILITARY DIVISION

1199

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.):

Air Commodore Douglas Fitzclarence St. George, D.F.C., A.F.C., Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wellington.

- Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.):
 - Captain Frederick Hardman, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland.
 - Lieutenant-Colonel Edward Senior E.D., Corps of Royal New Zealand Engineers (Territorial Force), serving in Thailand.
 - Wing Commander Alfred George Edward Pugh, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Paekakariki.
- Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.):

 - (M.D.L.).
 Temporary Lieutenant Commander Brian John Mahoney, Royal New Zealand Navy, 'of Auckland.
 Major Molly Lois Moore, New Zealand Women's Royal Army Corps (Regular Force), of Wellington.
 Warrant Officer Second-class Joseph Gormanly, Royal New Zealand Corps of Signals (Regular Force), serving in Singapore).
 - New Zealand Corps of Signals (Regular Force), serving in Singapore. Warrant Officer Second-class (Temporary Warrant Officer First-class) Leslie George Stanton, Royal New Zealand Infantry Regiment (Territorial Force), of Greymouth. Squadron Leader John Alan Scrimshaw, A.F.C., Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Ohakea.
- Air Force Cross (A.F.C.):
 - Squadron Leader Gerrard Clive Brown, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Auckland.
- Associate of the Royal Red Cross (A.R.R.C.):
 - Matron Marjorie Edith Traill, Royal New Zealand Nursing Corps (Regular Force), of Auckland.
- British Empire Medal (B.E.M.):
 - Chief Electrician Edward Dawson, Royal New Zealand
 - Chief Electrician Edward Dawson, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland. Marine Engineering Artificer Third-class Graeme Stewart Holmes, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland. Marine Engineering Mechanician First-class Stephen Howarth, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland. Sergeant (Temporary Staff Sergeant) Frederic Donald Barclay, Royal New Zealand Infantry Regiment (Regular Encoder of Surgeant)

 - Force), of Burnham
 - Flight Sergeant David Hamilton Karl, Royal New Zealand
 - Air Force, of Auckland. Sergeant Alexander Allan McEwan, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wellington.

Queen's Commendation for Brave Conduct:

- Engineering Mechanic First-class Paul Rick Rivas Ormsby, Royai New Zealand Navy, of Tauranga. Leading Engineering Mechanic Bernard Charles Shearsby, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Takapuna.
- Dated at Wellington this 15th day of June 1971.

D. C. WILLIAMS, Official Secretary.

Special Order Made by Waiapu County Council Altering Riding Boundaries

PURSUANT to section 88 of the Counties Act 1956, the Secretary for Internal Affairs hereby publishes the following special order made by the Waiapu County Council.

Dated at Wellington this 23rd day of June 1971.

- P. J. O'DEA, Secretary for Internal Affairs.
- (I.A. 103/137/115)

SPECIAL ORDER

In pursuance and exercise of the powers vested in it by sections 23 and 36 of the Counties Act 1956, the Waiapu County Council hereby resolves, by way of special order, that with amalgama-tion of the former Counties of Matakaoa and Waiapu having been fully achieved, the present division of the County of Waiapu into eleven ridings be altered and reduced to nine (9) ridings by the amalgamation of the former Ridings of Whangaparaoa and Whenthelite to extend a count of the bound of the bound of the former of the bound of t by the amagamation of the former Ridings of Whangaparaoa and Wharekahika to establish a new riding to be known as the Oweka Riding, and by the amalgamation of the former Ridings of Awatere and Horoera to establish a new riding to be known as the Whangaokeno Riding; and that the repre-sentation of the Waiapu County Council shall consist of nine (9) members of the said Council who shall be elected by the electors of each of the nine Ridings of Oweka, Whangaokeno,