Ronald Geddes Bishop, of Wellington, civil engineer, as deputy to Frederick Howard Stewart;
Douglas Gordon Dymock, of Te Karaka, farmer, as deputy to Alan David Talbot;

to Alan David 1aibot;
Alfred Robert Tanner, of Longburn, farmer, as deputy to Edward Hamish Simpson;
William Norman Gough Dunlop, of Christchurch, farmer, as deputy to Alexander Campbell Begg; and
Gerald Wilfred Vivian, of Lower Hutt, Director of Research,

as deputy to Bartholomew Robin Mann,

on the Water Allocation Council from and including the 30th day of August 1971.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General this 14th day of August 1971.

PERCY B. ALLEN, Minister of Works.

(P.W. 74/70/1)

Promotions, Transfers, Appointments, Resignations. and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army

PURSUANT to section 16 of the New Zealand Army Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army:

GRADUATES—OFFICER CADET SCHOOL, PORTSEA

Regular Force

The following Officer Cadets graduated from the Officer Cadet School, Portsea, and are appointed to commissions in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant in the order and Corps shown, with effect from 12 June 1971:

Samuel Joseph Ronald Hollander, Royal N.Z. Infantry

Regiment.
Stuart Douglas Hopkins, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment.
Robert Barker, Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery.
David Maxwell Campbell, Royal N.Z. Army Service Corps.
Kevin Richard Brown, Royal N.Z. Armoured Corps.

Michael John Robert Pearce, Royal Regiment of N.Z.

Michael John Robert Pearce, Royal Regiment of N.Z.

Artillery.

John Kim Williams, The Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers.

Stanley Matthew Willcox, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment.

Michael Manning Huggett, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment.

ROYAL REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY

Regular Force

Major F. H. Gibbison is re-engaged until 5 September 1973. Lieutenant (temp. Captain) B. G. A. Harrison to be Captain with effect from 20 June 1971.

Lieutenant G. L. Flavel to be temp. Captain with effect

from 28 June 1971.

Lieutenant and Quartermaster M. C. Nabbs, M.B.E., to be temp. Captain and Quartermaster with effect from 1 July 1971.

2nd Lieutenant E. W. Anker to be Lieutenant with effect from 20 June 1971.

Territorial Force

16th Field Regiment, RNZA

Lieutenant James Kenneth McLay is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery, in the rank of Lieutenant with effect from 1 March 1971, until 30 April 1974.

4th Medium Battery, RNZA

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) P. H. C. Hanson to be Captain with seniority from 18 July 1969 and effect from 15 June 1971. 3rd Field Regiment, RNZA

Lieutenant P. R. Fantham to be Captain with effect from 1 June 1971.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMOURED CORPS

Captain (temp. Major) Harry Russell, M.C., is posted to the Retired List in the rank of Major with effect from 20 July

Lieutenant N. J. Watt to be temp. Captain with effect from

1 May 1971. Lieutenant J. Ballance to be temp. Captain with effect from 20 June 1971.

2nd Lieutenant D. M. Lester to be Lieutenant with effect

from 20 June 1971.

33164 Warrant Officer Class 1 Cyril Patrick Dyson to be Lieutenant and Quartermaster with seniority and effect from

1 July 1971. 817420 Warrant Officer Class II Douglas Raymond Heatley to be Lieutenant and Quartermaster with seniority and effect from 1 July 1971.

Territorial Force

en Alexandra's (Waikato/Wellington Squadron RNZAC Queen East Coast)

2nd Lieutenant M. G. Morrison to be Lieutenant with effect

from 15 April 1971.

2nd Lieutenant P. J. Spooner to be Lieutenant with effect from 15 April 1971.

1st Squadron (NZ Scottish), RNZAC

Ian Hamish Balfour, BAGR.SC., to be 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) with effect from 17 May 1971.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

Regular Force

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) and Quartermaster T. W. Dench to be Captain and Quartermaster with effect from 1 July 1971.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) William Bruce Cobb is posted to the Retired List in the rank of Captain with effect from 24 July 1971.

Lieutenant and Quartermaster G. N. Stevenson to be temp. Captain and Quartermaster with effect from 1 July 1971.

2nd Lieutenant L. R. Upjohn to be Lieutenant with effect

from 20 June 1971.

Territorial Force

1st Construction Squadron, RNZE

2nd Lieutenant Michael Sandor Brandon is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, The Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers, in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant with effect from 20 May 1971, until 30 April 1974.

1st Commander Royal N.Z. Engineers (Works)

Captain (temp. Major) G. E. Hardie, E.D., B.E.(CIV.), M.N.Z.I.E., from the Reserve of Officers, Regimental List, 1st Commander Royal N.Z. Engineers (Works), to be Captain (temp. Major) with seniority as Captain from 14 October 1964 and effect from 1 January 1971.

Captain (temp. Major) G. E. Hardie, E.D., B.E.(CIV.), M.N.Z.I.E., to be Major with seniority from 24 October 1969 and effect from 1 Inpury 1071.

and effect from 1 January 1971.

ROYAL N.Z. CORPS OF SIGNALS

Regular Force

Major K. A. Reggler is re-engaged until 8 December 1971. he is re-engaged until retiring age for rank with effect from 5 June 1971.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) D. W. Smith to be Captain with effect from 20 June 1971.

Territorial Force

1st Communication Zone Signal Squadron, RNZ Sigs

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) R. S. Banks, E.D., to be Captain with effect from 17 February 1971.

Lieutenant Warwick George Marriott, B.SC., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Corps of Signals, in the rank of Lieutenant with effect from 1 June 1971, until 31 May 1974.

ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT

Regular Force

Lieutenant-Colonel (temp. Colonel) B. M. Poananga, O.B.E.

to be Colonel and is transferred to the Colonels' List with effect from 5 April 1971.

Lieutenant-Colonel Ross David Yetton, M.B.E., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment, in the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel with effect from 10 June 1971.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) R. J. K. Hoskin to be Captain with effect from 21 April 1971.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) J. E. H. Marsh to be Captain with effect from 20 June 1971. Lieutenant (temp. Captain) G. R. Hasell to be Captain

with effect from 20 June 1971.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) and Quartermaster W. J. White to be Captain and Quartermaster with effect from 1 July 1971.

Lieutenant John Sydney Hayward is posted to the Retired List with effect from 19 June 1971.

Lieutenant J. R. Sherriff to be temp. Captain with effect from 13 July 1971.

Lieutenant B. E. Hall M.C. to be temp. Captain with effect

Lieutenant B. E. Hall, M.C., to be temp. Captain with effect

from 16 June 1971. Lieutenant and Quartermaster E. H. Pattle to be temp. Captain and Quartermaster with effect from 1 July 1971.

The seniority of Lieutenant B. R. Dodson is ante-dated to

5 April 1968.