THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ELECTRICAL AND MECHANICAL Engineers

Regular Force

Captain and Quartermaster J. Ford to be temp. Major and Quartermaster with effect from 25 April 1971.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) and Quartermaster C. S. L. McLaren to be Captain and Quartermaster with effect from 1 July 1971.

# ROYAL N.Z. ARMY EDUCATION CORPS

Regular Force

Captain (temp. Major) G. N. Smith, B.A., M.ED., to be Major with seniority from 14 December 1969 and effect from 30 August 1970.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) W. P. Dreyer, DIP.TCHG., to be Captain with effect from 27 February 1971.

Supernumerary List

Captain K. A. Sanders to be Major with effect from 25 August 1971.

#### ROYAL N.Z. NURSING CORPS

Territorial Force

Charge Sister Ruby Jones resigns her commission with effect

from 21 June 1971.

Charge Sister Janice Marie Morris resigns her commission with effect from 8 June 1971.

Helen Janet Masters to be Sister, for duty with the 1st Casualty Clearing Station, RNZAMC, with seniority from 16 June 1968 and effect from 16 June 1971.

### EXTRA REGIMENTAL EMPLOYMENT

Headquarters, 1st Infantry Brigade Group

Major John Norman Staines is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, The Corps of Royal N.Z. Electrical and Mechanical Engineers, in the rank of Major with effect from 19 July 1971.

## N.Z. CADET FORCES School Cadet Corps

Bayfield High School Cadets

Lieutenant John Eric Bray, L.TH. (HONS.), to be Captain with effect from 6 August 1971.

Christchurch Boys' High School Cadets

2nd Lieutenant John Edward Murphy, DIP.F.A., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, N.Z. Cadet Forces with effect from 21 June 1971.

Otago Boys' High School Cadets

Lieutenant Michael Armstrong Stewart, B.SC., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, N.Z. Cadet Forces, in the rank of Lieutenant with effect from 31 July 1971.

St. Peter's Maori College Cadets

2nd Lieutenant Barry Michael Burns, B.A., to be Lieutenant with effect from 22 March 1970.

Te Kuiti High School Cadets

Captain F. J. H. Parker to be Major with effect from 23

Waitaki Boys' High School Cadets

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) Gordon Douglas Pringle lapses with effect from 16 July 1971.

Wanganui Collegiate School Cadets

Graham David Butler to be 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) with effect from 27 April 1971.

### RESERVE OF OFFICERS

Regimental List

3rd Field Ambulance, RNZAMC

Captain John Panton Musgrove, M.B., CH.B., is posted to the Retired List with effect from 1 July 1971.

General List

Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery

Lieutenant Barry Selwyn Gustafson is posted to the Retired List with effect from 29 July 1971.

Royal N.Z. Armoured Corps

Major John Alastair Kennedy, M.B.E., is posted to the Retired List with effect from 21 July 1971.

Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment

Major Ivan Lees Faulkner is posted to the Retired List with effect from 4 August 1971.

Captain Michael Brennan is posted to the Retired List with

effect from 5 August 1971.

Lieutenant Brian Matthew Laird is posted to the Retired

Lieutenant Brian Matthew Laird is posted to the Retired List with effect from 4 August 1971.

Lieutenant William Sydney Wray is posted to the Retired List with effect from 4 August 1971.

Lieutenant Peter Warrender Mahy is posted to the Retired List with effect from 4 August 1971.

2nd Lieutenant Kenneth John Bradley is posted to the Retired List with effect from 5 August 1971.

Royal N.Z. Army Medical Corps

Lieutenant-Colonel Arthur Gordon Harper, E.D., M.B., CH.B., M.R.C.P. (EDIN.), is posted to the Retired List with effect from

4 August 1971.
Major John Sandilands Ogilvie, M.B., B.S., D.A., F.F.A.R.C.S., F.F.A.R.A.C.S., is posted to the Retired List with effect from 5 August 1971.

Captain Ronald Graham Stephens, M.B., CH.B., is posted to the Retired List with effect from 4 August 1971.

NZ Cadet Forces

Major George Schischka is posted to the Retired List with

Major George Schischka is posted to the Retired List with effect from 3 August 1971.

Major Peter John Roberts is posted to the Retired List with effect from 24 July 1971.

Lieutenant James Thomas McKinlay, B.E.(civ.), is posted to the Retired List with effect from 4 August 1971.

Lieutenant Robert Gordon Stuckey is posted to the Retired List with effect from 29 June 1971.

Lieutenant Edwin Thomas Stephen Spencer is posted to the Retired List with effect from 29 June 1971.

Dated at Wellington this 30th day of August 1971.

DAVID S. THOMSON, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Cancellations\_and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, cancellations, and Zealand Air Force: and retirements of officers of the Royal New

## REGULAR AIR FORCE GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

# A ppointments

Group Captain N. H. Bright to be acting Air Commodore with effect from 12 July 1971.

Flight Lieutenant R. S. Holdaway to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 14 June 1971.

82960 Officer Cadet (U) Lindsay Sinclair Fenwick is appointed to a permanent commission (on probation) in the rank of Flying Officer with seniority from 19 March 1971 and effect from 9 June 1971.

### **Promotions**

Air Commodore D. F. St. George, C.B.E., D.F.C., A.F.C., to be Air Vice-Marshal, with effect from 23 July 1971.
Group Captain (acting Air Commodore) N. H. Bright to be Air Commodore with effect from 16 July 1971.
Wing Commander D. E. Jamieson, O.B.E., to be Group Captain with effect from 12 July 1971.
Wing Commander (temp. Group Captain) M. F. McD. Palmer to be Group Captain with seniority from 16 February 1970 and effect from 16 February 1971.

### Extension of Commission

The commission of Flight Lieutenant L. R. J. Francis is extended until 4 July 1977.

# Transfer to Retired List

Flight Lieutenant Douglas Ian Paterson, p.F.C., is transferred to the Retired List "A" with effect from 20 May 1971.

# Cancellation of Commission

The commission of acting Pilot Officer David Alexander Leyland is cancelled with effect from 3 June 1971.

The commission of acting Pilot Officer James Coubrough is cancelled with effect from 29 June 1971.

The commission of acting Pilot Officer Russell Brett Deakin

is cancelled with effect from 3 June 1971.

The commission of acting Pilot Officer Graeme Arthur Todd is cancelled with effect from 29 June 1971.