The notice published in the Gazette, 8 July 1971, No. 52, page 1347, relating to Captain Frank Nevill Wilson is cancelled and the following substituted: "Major Frank Nevill Wilson is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, N.Z. Cadet Forces, in the rank of Major with effect from 12 November 1970."

New Plymouth High School Cadets

Captain Andrew Joseph Sheat is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, N.Z. Cadet Forces, in the rank of Captain with effect from 24 August 1971.

Palmerston North Boys' High School Cadets

Captain Leonard James Sullivan is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, N.Z. Cadet Forces, in the rank of Captain with effect from 5 May 1971.

Captain with effect from 5 May 19/1. Lieutenant Errol William Brookie, M.A., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, N.Z. Cadet Forces, in the rank of Lieutenant with effect from 5 May 1971. Lieutenant Roger Talbot Austin is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, N.Z. Cadet Forces, in the rank of Lieutenant with effect from 5 May 1971. The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) James Mar-shall McCulloch lapses with effect from 5 May 1971.

### St. Andrews College Cadets

Major Frank Finnegan, M.B.E., B.COM., A.C.I.S., A.N.Z.I.M., attached 1st Squadron (N.Z. Scottish), RNZAC, is posted to the Retired List with effect from 22 August 1971

#### St. Stephen's School Cadets

Major Henry Colton Arundel Lambert, M.C., from the Retired List, to be Major and is appointed O.C. with effect from 19 August 1971.

### Waitaki Boys' School Cadets

Andrew John Collinge Campbell to be 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) with effect from 12 July 1971.

#### Wanganui Collegiate School Cadets

Alexander John Burleigh Binnie, B.SC., to be 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) with effect from 30 January 1971. John Robert Thurlow, DIP.PHYS.ED., to be 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) with effect from 28 July 1971.

### **RESERVE OF OFFICERS**

General List

Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery

Major David Johnston Riddiford, M.C., M.A. (OXON.), is posted to the Retired List with effect from 13 August 1971. Captain Brian Russell Healey is posted to the Retired List with effect from 16 August 1971.

The Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers

Captain Roger Edward Lane, B.E. (HONS.), M.N.Z.I.E., is posted to the Retired List with effect from 18 August 1971.

Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment

Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment Lieutenant-Colonel Norman Elliott McLeod is posted to the Retired List with effect from 2 September 1971. Major Monty Searancke, E.D., is posted to the Retired List with effect from 6 September 1971. Major Peter Denis Young, E.D., is posted to the Retired List with effect from 24 June 1971. Captain William George Rennie is posted to the Retired List with effect from 12 August 1971. Captain Graeme William Kingston-Smith resigns his com-mission with effect from 27 April 1971. Lieutenant David Campbell Gee is posted to the Retired List with effect from 13 September 1971. Lieutenant Ronald Ernest Reggett is posted to the Retired List with effect from 28 August 1971. Rouel N.Z. Army Service Correc

## Royal N.Z. Army Service Corps

Lieutenant Simon Greenfield Brown is posted to the Retired List with effect from 5 September 1971.

## N.Z. Cadet Forces

Captain Ronald Keith Millar is posted to the Retired List

with effect from 16 August 1971. Lieutenant Lewis Derrick Lake, M.A., is posted to the Retired List with effect from 4 August 1971. Lieutenant Edmund Hubert Francois Marie Meijers, M.A., is posted to the Retired List with effect from 3 September 1971. Lieutenant Colin Maxwell McConchie is posted to the Retired List with effect from 3 September 1971.

Dated at Wellington this 1st day of October 1971.

# DAVID S. THOMSON, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Retirements, Resignations, and Cancellation of Commission of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, retirements, resignations, and cancellation of commission of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:

## **REGULAR AIR FORCE**

## GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointment

Group Captain H. G. Moss, A.F.C., to be acting Air Com-modore with effect from 23 August 1971.

#### Promotions

Group Captain (acting Air Commodore) H. G. Moss, A.F.C., to be Air Commodore with effect from 30 August 1971. Flight Lieutenant J. B. Brook to be Squadron Leader with

effect from 1 August 1971.

#### Extension of Commission

Flight Lieutenant D. A. Soper is granted an extension of his commission for a period to expire on 5 January 1977, to be followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

#### Transfers

Flight Lieutenant James Douglas McHerron is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period to expire on 2 July 1975, with effect from 5 July 1971. Flight Lieutenant Lawrence Norman Mitchell, B.COM., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period to expire on 1 August 1975, with effect from 2 August 1971. Flying Officer Gary William Hutchison is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period to expire on 7 July 1975, with effect from 21 July 1971.

#### Retirement

Squadron Leader Donald Moss is retired with effect from 7 August 1971.

Cancellation of Commission

The commission of Acting Pilot Officer Stephen Jeffrey Creighton is cancelled with effect from 9 June 1971.

## TECHNICAL BRANCH

A ppointment

Engineer Division

The short-service commission of Flight Lieutenant C. G. Ryan is converted to a permanent commission with effect from 27 August 1971.

Extension of Commission

Armament Division

Flight Lieutenant D. B. Dalzell is granted an extension of his commission for a period to expire on 14 October 1976, to be followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

## ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Appointment

Secretarial Division

Flight Lieutenant A. Blackshaw to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 1 July 1971.

Promotions

# Supply Division

Squadron Leader (temp. Wing Commander) H. T. McKubre, B.A., DIP.ED., to be Wing Commander with effect from 17 April 1971.

Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant G. T. Clarke to be Squadron Leader with effect from 1 August 1971.

Transfer Special Duties Division

Squadron Leader Anthony Edward West is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period to expire on 31 July 1975, with effect from 5 August 1971.

### **RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS**

## Extensions of Commissions

The commission of Flight Lieutenant A. J. King is extended for a period to expire on 2 August 1974.

#### Retirements

Flight Lieutenant Eric Neil Baker is retired with effect from 7 July 1971. Flight Lieutenant Kenneth Dawick is retired with effect from

21 August 1971.