easterly along the southern boundary of part Section 7, Block I, Rangi Survey Disrict, and its production across Ararimu East Road to its eastern side; thence northerly generally along the eastern side of that road and Opotiki Road to a point in line with the south-eastern boundary of part Section 30, Block I, Rangi Survey District; thence north-easterly to and along that boundary and the eastern boundary of Section 33, Block I, aforesaid, to the southern boundary of the Stratford-Okahukura Railway; thence generally easterly and south-easterly along the southern and south-western boundaries of that railway to the middle of the Ongarue River; thence generally northerly up the middle of that river to and generally easterly up the middle of the Mangatukutuku Stream, to and along the north-eastern boundaries of Sections 1 and 2, Block III, Tuhua Survey District, along the western and generally northern boundaries of Section 3, Block IV, Tuhua Survey District, to a point in line with the south-eastern boundary of Section 13, Block XIV, Ongarue Survey District; thence along a right line across a public road to and along that south-eastern boundary, along the north-eastern boundaries of Sections 4, 5, and 6, the north-eastern and north-eastern boundary of Section 2, the aforesaid sections being of Block IV, aforesaid, along the generally northern boundary of Section 1, Block I, Puketapu Survey District, to a point in line with the north-western boundary of Section 2, Block I, aforesaid; thence along a right line across a public road to and along the north-western and northern boundaries of the last-mentioned Section 2, to and generally northerly along the western and northern boundaries of part Rangitoto Tuhua No. 10, along the north-western boundary of Section 1, Block XIV, Hurakia Survey District, and its production across a public road to and along the southern and western boundaries of Section 5 and the western boundary of Section 2, the last-mentioned sections being of Block X, Hurakia Survey District, and the pr the last-mentioned sections being of Block X, Hurakia Survey District, and the production of the last-mentioned boundary, to the middle of the Ongarue River, the point of commence-

P. J. BROOKS, Clerk of the Executive Council. *Gazette, 1971, No. 49, p. 1231

Appointing a Member of the Auckland Harbour Bridge Authority

ARTHUR PORRITT, Governor-General

PURSUANT to section 4 of the Auckland Harbour Bridge Act 1950, I, Sir Arthur Espie Porritt, Baronet, the Governor-General of New Zealand, hereby appoint William Burns Souter, of Browns Bay, Auckland, to be a member of the Auckland Harbour Bridge Authority for a term of 5 years from the 27th day of September 1971.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General this 27th day of September 1971.

PERCY B. ALLEN, Minister of Works.

(P.W. 34/2734/3)

Appointments, Promotions, Transfers, Resignations, Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army

PURSUANT to section 16 of the New Zealand Army Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army:

GENERALS' LIST

Regular Force

Major-General R. J. H. Webb, C.B.E., to be Lieutenant-General on assuming the appointment of Chief of Defence Staff with effect from 16 October 1971, vice Lieutenant-General Sir Leonard W. Thornton, K.C.B., C.B.E.

Brigadiers' List

Regular Force

Brigadier L. A. Pearce, O.B.E., to be acting Major-General with effect from 28 September 1971 and Major-General with effect from 1 October 1971 on assuming the appointment of Chief of the General Staff; is transferred to the Generals' List and also relinquishes the appointment of Aide-de-Camp (Additional) to the Queen.

COLONELS' LIST

Regular Force

Colonel James Warne Ardagh, O.B.E., M.B., CH.B., F.R.C.S., F.R.A.C.S., from the Territorial Force, RNZAMC, to be Colonel with seniority from 27 May 1966 on a 3-month engagement with effect from 13 September 1971.

ROYAL REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY

Regular Force

Lieutenant and Quartermaster E. C. Lile to be temp. Captain and Quartermaster with effect from 11 June 1971.

Territorial Force

3rd Field Regiment, RNZA

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) F. R. Goodall, M.A., to be Captain with effect from 3 September 1971.

2nd Lieutenant J. L. Oliver to be Lieutenant with effect from 4 September 1971.

4 September 1971.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMOURED CORPS

Regular Force

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) and Quartermaster N. P. O'Dwyer, M.B.E., having reached retiring age for rank, was transferred to the Supernumerary List and re-engaged until 15 November 1971 with effect from 16 November 1970.

Territorial Force

2nd Squadron, N.Z. Scottish, RNZAC

Lieutenant Stuart Lindsay Robertson is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Armoured Corps until 31 March 1974 with effect from 1 October 1971.

2nd Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant) C. G. McKay to be Lieutenant with effect from 1 September 1971.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

Regular Force

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) D. Maclean to be Captain with with effect from 20 December 1970, next below Captain D. J. Rees, RNZAOC.

Supernumerary List

Major C. M. Douglas is re-engaged until 31 October 1976.

ROYAL N.Z. CORPS OF SIGNALS

Regular Force

Captain and Quartermaster F. Butler to be temp. Major and Quartermaster with effect from 27 September 1971.
Captain T. B. Gillooly to be temp. Major with effect from 28 June 1971.
W 592960 Staff Sergeant (temp. Warrant Officer Class II) William Thomas Higginson to be Lieutenant and Quartermaster with effect from 22 September 1971, continuing on his current engagement expiring 7 September 1976.

Territorial Force

1st Communication Zone Signal Squadron, RNZ Sigs

Lieutenant George John Knightly is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Corps of Signals until 1 September 1975 with effect from 1 July 1971.

ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT

Regular Force

Captain (temp. Major) and Quartermaster W. R. Henderson relinquishes the temp. rank of Major and Quartermaster and is granted the acting rank of Major and Quartermaster with effect from 21 August 1971.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) H. C. Oakley-Browne to be Captain with effect from 20 June 1970, next below Charge Sister T. M. Kennedy, RNZNC.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) and Quartermaster B. P. Martin to be Captain and Quartermaster with effect from 1 July 1971 and temp. Major and Quartermaster with effect from 31 July 1971.

Lieutenant N. J. Fry to be temp. Captain with effect from 26 August 1971.

Lieutenant and Quartermaster B. J. Pepper to be temp. Captain and Quartermaster with effect from 23 September 1971. Supernumerary List

Captain H. C. Clark is re-engaged until 4 November 1972. Territorial Force

Honorary Captain Ernest Ormrod, M.B.E., is posted to the Retired List with effect from 12 September 1971.

3rd Battalion (Auckland (Countess of Ranfurly's Own) and Northland), RNZIR

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) J. G. Bowler relinquishes the temp. rank of Captain and is transferred to the Reserve of