General List

The following officers are posted to the Retired List:

Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery

Lieutenant-Colonel James Roy Spence, M.B.E., M.C. Dated 20 November 1970.

Lieutenant Phillip Gordon Bramwell. Dated 26 November 1970.

Lieutenant John Bernard Glasgow. Dated 27 November

1970. Lieutenant Harold Brien Lampen-Smith. Dated 17 Decem-

ber 1970. Lieutenant Graeme MacFarlane. Dated 23 December 1970.

Royal N.Z. Corps of Signals

Lieutenant Joseph Francis Cheetham Rodrigues. Dated 22 December 1970.

Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment

Major John Lincoln Knowles, E.D. Dated 20 October 1970. Captain John Dennis Mahar. Dated 26 November 1970. Captain Trevor Brahne Wynyard, Dated 13 November 1970. Lieutenant William Alfred Charles East. Dated 22 December

Lieutenant Thomas Mark Alistair Morgan. Dated 5 Decem-

ber 1970.

Royal N.Z. Army Service Corps

Major Harold William Boyce, E.D. Dated 20 December 1970.

Royal N.Z. Army Medical Corps

Captain Anthony James Jephson Emmett, M.B., B.S., F.R.C.S.

(ENG.). Dated 25 November 1970.

Lieutenant William Alexander Fraser, M.B., CH.B. Dated 23 December 1970.

The Corps of Royal NZ Electrical and Mechanical Engineers Lieutenant George Daniel Carson, Dated 17 December 1970.

Royal N.Z. Nursing Corps

Sister Mavis Ahier. Dated 4 December 1970.

N.Z. Cadet Corps

Captain Colin John Barker, B.A. Dated 29 November 1970. Lieutenant Graham Edwin Hampton, M.A. Dated 23 Novem-

Dated at Wellington this 30th day of January 1971.

DAVID S. THOMSON, Minister of Defence.

(Def. 251/14/4)

Appointments, Promotions, Reversion, Transfers, Retirements, Termination of Commissions, and Resignation of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, promotions, reversion, transfers, retirements, termination of commissions, and resignation of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointment

Stephen Jeffrey Creighton (84744) is appointed to a short-service commission (on probation) for a period to expire on 10 September 1980 to be followed by 4 years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Acting Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 11 September 1970.

Promotion

Flight Lieutenant Michael Palairet (79478) to be Squadron Leader, with seniority and effect from 5 December 1970.
Flying Officer Lawrence Norman Mitchell, B.com. (82510) to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority from 4 June 1969, with effect from 14 December 1970.

The under-mentioned Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers with seniority and effect from the dates shown:

Ian Thomas Tennent-Brown (83007), 28 November 1970. Peter James Nalder (80341), 6 December 1970. William Michael Benge (80257), 6 December 1970.

TECHNICAL BRANCH A ppointments

Engineer Division

Flight Lieutenant Guy Thornton D'Anvers, A.N.Z.I.M. (70518) to be acting Squadron Leader from 7 December 1970 and temporary Squadron Leader from 14 December 1970.

Flight Lieutenant Douglas Allan Carter (75629) to be acting Squadron Leader from 30 November 1970 and temporary

Squadron Leader from 7 December 1970.
Flying Officer Paul Henry Lagan (79581) to be temporary
Flight Lieutenant from 1 August 1970.

Pilot Officer Noel Douglas Moffat to be Flying Officer with seniority and effect from 1 December 1970.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Appointment

Secretarial Division

Flying Officer Raymond Frank Joseph Page (897575), to be temporary Flight Lieutenant from 1 August 1970.

Equipment Division

Flight Lieutenant James Barry Penney (209240), to be acting Squadron Leader from 7 December 1970 and temporary Squadron Leader from 12 December 1970.

Flying Officer Charles Benedict Raddock (73533), to be temporary Flight Lieutenant from 1 August 1970.

Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant Dudley Wybert Simpson (70996), to be acting Squadron Leader from 1 December 1970.

Reversion

Secretarial Division

Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Raymond Frank Joseph Page (897575) reverts to his substantive rank of Flying Officer, with effect from 14 December 1970.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Transfers

Squadron Leader John Clark Buckmaster, A.F.C. and Bar (708262), is transferred from the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, for a period to expire on 8 January 1975. Squadron Leader Max Pearl, M.B., CH.B. (134355), is transferred from the Medical Branch, Regular Air Force, for a period to expire on 28 October 1972.

period to expire on 28 October 1972.

Retirements

The under-mentioned officers are retired with effect from the dates shown:

Wing Commander Allan Gerald Sievers, A.F.C. (130317), 26

December 1970.
Wing Commander William Robert Kofoed, D.S.O., D.F.C. (130117), 28 December 1970.

Squadron Leader Jonathan Arthur Neilson, D.F.C. (132921), 17 December 1970.

Squadron Leader Kelvin Henry Day (130312), 30 December

Flight Lieutenant James Earnest Matthews (131471), 28 November 1970.

Flight Lieutenant Thomas Charles Brian Cooper (130644), 4 December 1970

Flying Officer Ivo Clements Tisch (133502), 13 December 1970.

Flying Officer William Kemp Hutchens, A.C.A., A.C.I.S. (132684), 28 December 1970.

AIR TRAINING CORPS Appointments

Graham Barry Hopper is appointed to a commission for a period to expire on 16 November 1974. He is appointed in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 17

Graham Maurice Hider is appointed to a commission for a period to expire on 22 November 1974. He is appointed in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 23 November 1970.

Promotions

Squadron Leader (temp.) Vernon Leslie Alexander Powell to be Squadron Leader, with seniority and effect from 1 October 1969.

Squadron Leader (temp.) Martin David Burns, M.B.E., to be Squadron Leader, with seniority and effect from 1 October

1969.