Territorial Force

Chaplain 4th Class N. C. Williams, B.A. (Presbyterian), to be Chaplain 3rd Class with effect from 9 October 1971 and is

posted to the Retired List with effect from 26 October 1971. Chaplain 4th Class D. L. Thompson (Church of England) is transferred to the Regular Force with effect from 8 December 1971.

N.Z. ARMY LEGAL SERVICE

Major G. B. MacK. Law, B.A., LL.B., is re-engaged until 29 February 1972.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY EDUCATION CORPS

Regular Force

Regular Force

Major B. S. Coomber is re-engaged until 5 January 1974. Captain (temp. Major) R. C. Wrighton, M.A., DIP.TCHG., to be Major with effect from 7 December 1971.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) L. K. R. Williams, B.A., to be

Lieutenant (*temp.* Captain) L. K. R. Williams, B.A., to be Captain with effect from 24 April 1970. Lieutenant (*temp.* Captain) Alasdair Lindsay Robert McNicol is posted to the Retired List in the rank of Captain with effect from 24 December 1971. Trevor Bruce Powell, B.A., DIP.TCHG, is appointed to a regular commission in the rank of Lieutenant on an initial engagement of 3 years with seniority from 15 December 1968 and effect from 29 November 1971.

Territorial Force

N.Z. Welfare Unit, RNZAEC

Gary William Newman, DIP.N.Z.I.M., is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) with effect from 12 October 1971.

ROYAL N.Z. NURSING CORPS

Regular Force

Matron M. E. Traill, A.R.R.C., is re-engaged until 30 April 1973.

Charge Sister T. M. Kennedy is re-engaged until 12 December 1974

Sister C. A. Sims is re-engaged until 2 November 1972.

Territorial Force

Charge Sister (temp. Matron) V. Ellen, 2nd General Hospital, RNZAMC, to be Matron with effect from 10 December 1971.

Charge Sister B. E. Jacobs, 2nd General Hospital, RNZAMC, to be Matron with effect from 11 December 1971. Charge Sister B. Hakaraia, 2nd General Hospital, RNZAMC, to be Matron with effect from 12 December 1971.

Sister Denise Ruby Eveline Rose, 1st Casualty Clearing

Station, RNZAMC, resigns her commission with effect from 15 December 1971.

NEW ZEALAND WOMEN'S ROYAL ARMY CORPS

Regular Force

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) Sheila Ann Johnson is posted to the Retired List in the rank of Captain with effect from 16 December 1971.

Lieutenant Pamela Barbara Hankey is posted to the Retired List with effect from 1 January 1972. Lieutenant P. K. Bent is re-engaged until 6 January 1974.

Supernumerary List

Major M. L. Moore, M.B.E., is re-engaged until 31 December 1971.

N.Z. CADET FORCES

School Cadet Corps

Bayfield High School Cadets

Major Vernon James Tie is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, N.Z. Cadet Forces, in the rank of Major with effect from 31 January 1972.

St. Andrew's College Cadets

Lieutenant Glen Innes, M.A., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, N.Z. Cadet Forces, in the rank of Lieutenant with effect from 31 January 1972. Lieutenant John Bruce Sutton, M.SC., L.T.C.L., is posted to the Retired List with effect from 31 December 1971.

St. Peter's Maori College Cadets

Phillip John Munro is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) with effect from 15 December 1971.

Wanganui Collegiate School Cadets

Lieutenant David Rangeley Walker is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, N.Z. Cadet Corps, in the rank of Lieutenant with effect from 13 January 1971.

RESERVE OF OFFICERS

General List

The following officers are posted to the Retired List with effect from the dates shown:

Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery

Major Barry Aexander Bathgate Hardy, 11 January 1972. Major Robert Arthur Higgs, E.D., 9 December 1971. Lieutenant Neil Arthur Johnson, 11 January 1972.

Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment

Major Alan Russell Fraser, 16 November 1971

Captain Colin Scott Thomson, 11 December 1971.

Royal N.Z. Army Service Corps

Lieutenant David George Hogg, 31 December 1971. Lieutenant David Martin Wellwood, 1 January 1972.

Royal N.Z. Army Medical Corps

Captain Paul Bernard Walmsley, B.SC., M.B., CH.B., 10 December 1971.

Royal N.Z. Chaplains Department

Chaplain 3rd Class Francis Maurice Royston Venville (Church of England), 6 January 1972.

N.Z. Cadet Forces

Lieutenant Leo McNamara, 6 January 1972.

Dated at Wellington this 29th day of January 1972.

DAVID S. THOMSON, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Reversion, Transfers, Extensions, Cancellation, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, reversion, transfers, extensions, cancellation, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointments

Flight Lieutenant M. M. Spring to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 29 November 1971. Flight Lieutenant J. M. Denton is appointed to a permanent commission with effect from 16 November 1971.

Promotions

Flight Lieutenant A. J. Brown to be Squadron Leader with

effect from 1 August 1971. Flight Lieutenant M. L. Manttan to be Squadron Leader with effect from 15 December 1971. Flying Officer S. J. Ross to be Flight Lieutenant with effect from 22 September 1971. Elving Officer B. B. Erancis to be Flight Lieutenant with

Flying Officer B. R. Francis to be Flight Lieutenant with effect from 14 December 1971. Flying Officer T. W. Medcalf to be Flight Lieutenant with

effect from 14 December 1971.

Flying Officer C. R. Anyan to be Flight Lieutenant with effect from 14 December 1971. Flying Officer P. K. Nicholls to be Flight Lieutenant with

effect from 14 December 1971. Flying Officer G. M. Familton to be Flight Lieutenant with

effect from 14 December 1971.

Pilot Officer W. E. Matthews to be Flying Officer with effect from 19 December 1971.

Transfer to Reserve

Squadron Leader Alan Laurie Lawless is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 31 December 1975, with effect from 5 January 1972.

Flying Officer Robert James Benton is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of 4 years with effect from 28 September 1971.

Cancellation of Commission

The commission of Acting Pilot Officer Christopher Horton Bennetts is cancelled with effect from 25 March 1971.

TECHNICAL BRANCH

Appointments

Engineer Division

Flight Lieutenant G. St. A. Murray, GRAD.R.A.S., to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 15 November 1971.