M77199 Sergeant Jan Proctor Alexander is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 6 years, in the rank of Flying Officer with effect from 12 October 1971, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers. G76044 Sergeant William Edward Brian Hunter is appointed

G76044 Sergeant William Edward Brian Hunter is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 6 years, in the rank of Flying Officer with effect from 12 October 1971, fol-lowed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers. R75892 Flight Sergeant Clive Gemmell Rae is appointed to a short-service commission for a period to expire on 3 May 1980, in the rank of Flying Officer with effect from 12 October 1971, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers. Armament Division

C77351 Sergeant Terence Carlisle Edge is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 6 years, in the rank of Flying Officer with effect from 12 October 1971, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Promotion

Armament Division

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) T. R. White-head, B.SC., to be Squadron Leader with effect from 10 Decemher 1971.

### Transfer to Reserve Engineer Division

Flight Lieutenant (*temp.* Squadron Leader) Albert Cowley is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers in the rank of Squadron Leader for a period of 4 years with effect from 1 January 1972.

### Transfer to Retired List

Engineer Division Flight Lieutenant (*temp.* Squadron Leader) Guy Thornton D'Anvers, A.N.Z.I.M., is transferred to the Retired List "A" in the rank of Squadron Leader with effect from 6 December 1971.

Signals Division

Squadron Leader Colin Francis Laloli, M.B.E., D.F.C., is trans-ferred to the Retired List "A" with effect from 4 November 1971.

# Resignation of Commission

Engineer Division

Flying Officer Noel Douglas Moffat, N.Z.C.E., resigns his commission with effect from 19 November 1971.

### ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

### Appointments 4 1 1

Secretarial Division

A74934 Sergeant Laurence Charles Richardson is appointed to a short-service commission for a period to expire on 4 March 1982, in the rank of Flying Officer with effect from 12 October 1971, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

# Supply Division

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) James Barry

Penney, A.N.Z.I.M., is appointed to a permanent commission with effect from 15 November 1971. K74874 Flight Sergeant Raymond Patrick Harrington is appointed to a short-service commission for a period to expire on 10 September 1980, in the rank of Flying Officer with effect from 12 October 1971, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

W81095 Corporal John Noel Hall Atkins is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 12 years, in the rank of Pilot Officer with effect from 12 October 1971, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

### Special Duties Division

Peter Frederick Jackson, M.SC., is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 5 years in the rank of Flight Lieutenant with effect from 15 November 1971, followed

by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers. W77967 Flight Sergeant John Denis Brown is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 12 years, in the rank of Flying Officer with effect from 12 October 1971, fellowed by Amagnetic the Reserve of Air Force Officer followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

# Reversion

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) P. J. Hughan relinquishes the temp. rank of Squadron Leader with effect from 4 December 1371.

### Transfer to Retired List

### Secretarial Division

Secretarial Division

Wing Commander Hugo Roy Francis Smith is transferred to the Retired List "A" with effect from 16 December 1971.

#### EDUCATION BRANCH

### Promotions

Flight Lieutenant K. J. Smith to be Squadron Leader with

effect from 7 January 1972. Flying Officer E. J. McKinstry, N.Z.C.E., to be Flight Lieu-tenant with effect from 1 August 1971. Flying Officer M. A. Brown, N.Z.C.E., to be Flight Lieu-tenant with effect from 1 August 1971.

#### RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

# Extensions of Commissions

The commission of Flight Lieutenant J. M. Higgins is extended until 28 July 1992 The commission of Flight Lieutenant D. E. D. Trewhitt is

extended until 6 July 1983. The commission of Flying Officer A. J. Petrie is extended

until 27 September 1988.

### Transfer to Retired List

Squadron Leader Duncan Cumming is transferred to the Retired List "B" with effect from 12 November 1971.

#### Retirements

The following officers are retired with effect from the dates shown:

Wing Commander Errol Horace Law, A.F.R.AE.S., 15 December 1971.

Flight Lieutenant William George Birnie, B.COM., A.C.A., A.C.I.S., 14 December 1971.

Flight Lieutenant Frederick Thomas Carpenter, 29 November 1971

Flight Lieutenant James Kenneth Climie, D.F.C., 12 December 1971

- Flight Lieutenant Verdun Edward Frost, F.R.A.N.Z., 5 September 1971.
  - Flight Lieutenant Keith James Green, 12 December 1971. Flight Lieutenant Ronald Marshall Lewis Hopping,

27 November 1971.

Flight Lieutenant David St. John Knott, 6 January 1972.

Flight Lieutenant David St. John Khott, 6 January 1972. Flight Lieutenant Allen Douglas Lewis Lamont, B.A., A.R.A.N.Z., 26 November 1971. Flight Lieutenant Eric David Butler Lusk, 1 January 1972. Flight Lieutenant Noel Ager Mackay, B.E. (MECH.), A.M.I.MECH.E., M.S.A.E., 25 December 1971. Flight Lieutenant Kenneth Miller, 14 November 1971. Flight Lieutenant Graham Stuart Potts, 22 December 1971. Flight Lieutenant Graham Stuart Potts, 22 December 1971.

Flight Lieutenant Ivan Thomas Reading 2 December 1971. Flight Lieutenant Robert Ellis Stevenson, 1 January 1972.

Flight Lieutenant Donald Frank Thompson, 3 December 1971.

1971. Flight Lieutenant Kenneth Brian Walker, 23 January 1972. Flying Officer Ivan Jack Corich, 2 December 1971. Flying Officer Morris Eugene Frampton, 10 January 1972. Flying Officer Gilbert Mackay Haase, 30 December 1971. Flying Officer George Lloyd Hodges, 6 December 1971. Flying Officer Lloyd William Martin, 26 November 1971. Flying Officer (temp. Flight Lieutenant) Trevor Beattie Morley, 19 December 1971, in the rank of Flight Lieutenant. Flying Officer Reginald Morris Fitzallan Simpson, B.E.M., 8 January 1972

S January 1972. Flying Officer (*temp.* Squadron Leader) John Beveridge Stevenson, B.A., 14 November 1971, in the rank of Squadron

Leader.

# NEW ZEALAND CADET FORCES

# AIR TRAINING CORPS

## A ppointments

Harold Alan Clark is appointed to a commission for a period of 4 years, in the rank of Pilot Officer with effect from 22 November 1971.

John Petrie Dallas is appointed to a commission for a period of 4 years, in the rank of Pilot Officer with effect from 23 November 1971.

## **Promotions**

Flying Officer J. D. Irving, B.A., to be Flight Lieutenant with effect from 12 September 1971. Pilot Officer K. J. Lynch to be Flying Officer with effect from 4 November 1971.

# Extensions of Commissions

The commission of Flying Officer E. W. Terrill is extended until 31 December 1972

The commission of Flying Officer E. T. Hamill is extended until 29 January 1975.