Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Relinquishments, Cancellation, Transfers, and Resignations of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Pursuant to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, relinquishments, cancellation, transfers, and resignations, of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

A ppointments

Squadron Leader G. C. Derby to be temp. Wing Commander with effect from 19 January 1972.

Flight Lieutenant A. R. Mills to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 19 January 1972.

Flight Lieutenant R. Turner to be acting Squadron Leader with effect from 2 February 1972.

Anthony Frederick Rundle is appointed to a short-service commission in the rank of Flying Officer for a period of 8 years, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers, with effect from 18 January 1972.

EXTENSION OF COMMISSION

The commission of Squadron Leader B. J. Reid, A.N.Z.I.M., is extended until 19 March 1972.

The commission of Flight Lieutenant G. Ayre is extended until 2 March 1974, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

EXTENSION OF COMMISSION AND AGE FOR RETIREMENT

The commission and age for retirement of Flight Lieutenant D. R. Densem are extended until 29 March 1974, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Transfers to Reserve

Squadron Leader Rutherford Moncrieff Hancock is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers with effect from 2 February 1972.

Squadron Leader Thomas Esmond Enright is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers with effect from 17 January 1971.

Cancellation of Commission

The commission of acting Pilot Officer Peter Maxwell Pountney is cancelled with effect from 30 December 1971.

TECHNICAL BRANCH

Appointments

Engineer Division

Flight Lieutenant D. A. Gable, M.B.E., to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 15 February 1972.

Signals Division

Flight Lieutenant T. N. de Stigter to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 17 January 1972.

Flight Lieutenant E. A. Morgon to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 21 September 1971.

Leader with effect from 21 September 1971.

Flying Officer I. M. C. Howie to be temp. Flight Lieutenant with effect from 20 September 1971.

Acting Pilot Officer L. G. Sharp, N.Z.C.E., from the General Duties Branch, is appointed to a short-service commission (on probation) in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 13 December 1971, for a period of 8 years, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Promotions

Engineer Division

Squadron Leader P. H. Lumley, M.B.E., A.R.Ae.S., to be Wing Commander with effect from 14 February 1972.

Flying Officer (temp. Flight Lieutenant) P. H. Lagan to be Flight Lieutenant with effect from 9 February 1972.

Armament Division

Flying Officer A. G. Sanderson to be Flight Lieutenant with effect from 9 February 1972.

Extension of Commission

Engineer Division

The commission of Flight Lieutenant L. E. Goslin, M.B.E., is extended until 3 April 1975, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Transfers to Retired List

Signals Division

Squadron Leader Trevor Norman Lowry was transferred to the Retired List "A" with effect from 23 July 1971.

Armament Division

Squadron Leader Stanley Charles Rust is transferred to the Retired List "A" with effect from 8 January 1972.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Appointments

Supply Division

Squadron Leader J. D. Anderson to be acting Wing Commander with effect from 9 February 1972 and temp. Wing Commander with effect from 25 February 1972.

Commander with effect from 25 February 1972.

Flight Lieutenant T. H. Crew to be acting Squadron Leader with effect from 17 January 1972 and temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 31 January 1972.

Flight Lieutenant A. F. Ellis to be acting Squadron Leader with effect from 7 February 1972 and temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 14 February 1972.

Flight Lieutenant D. J. Woods is appointed to a career commission for a period to expire on 23 June 1986, with effect from 10 January 1972.

Special Duties Division

Stuart Wilson Fairbairn is appointed to a short-service commission (on probation) for a period of 5 years in the rank of Flight Lieutenant with effect from 13 July 1971, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Promotions

Secretarial Division

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) J. M. Hayward to be Squadron Leader with effect from 25 January 1972.

Flying Officer A. Jones to be Flight Lieutenant with effect from 9 February 1972.

Flying Officer S. Archer to be Flight Lieutenant with effect from 9 February 1972.

Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant L. H. Stone to be Squadron Leader with effect from 25 January 1972.

Adjustment of Seniority

Special Duties Division

The seniority of Flying Officer J. D. Brown is ante-dated to 12 August 1971.

EXTENSIONS OF COMMISSIONS AND AGE FOR RETIREMENT

Supply Division

The commission and age for retirement of Wing Commander D. O. Turner, A.C.A., A.C.I.S., A.C.C.S., A.N.Z.I.M., are extended until 2 February 1973.

The commission and age for retirement of Squadron Leader H. T. Bell, D.F.M., are extended until 11 December 1973. Secretarial Division

The commission and age for retirement of Flying Officer L. R. McC. Wilson are extended until 14 July 1984.

Transfer to Retired List

Supply Division

The notice published in the Gazette, 29 April 1971, Volume I, page 795, relating to Squadron Leader Hugo Frederick Kyle is cancelled and the following substituted:

"Squadron Leader Hugo Frederick Kyle is transferred to the Retired List 'A' with effect from 14 December 1970."

Special Duties Division

Squadron Leader Peter Lindly Dick Cummins, M.B.E., is transferred to the Retired List "A" with effect from 14 February 1972.

EDUCATION BRANCH

Adjustment of Seniority

The seniority of Flight Lieutenant L. M. Laing is adjusted to 15 March 1971.

Transfer

Flight Lieutenant David Stepnen Saddleton, B.A., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 31 December 1975, with effect from 5 January 1972.

MEDICAL BRANCH

Relinquishment of Rank

Flying Officer (acting Flight Lieutenant) J. L. Talbot, M.B., CH.B., relinquishes the acting rank of Flight Lieutenant with effect from 14 December 1971.