(b) The boundaries of the former Town District of Manunui as they existed at the 31st day of March 1972;

and the Council elected for the 3-year term of office following that election shall include 2 Councillors, exclusive of the Mayor, who each possess one of the qualifications specified in section 29 of the Municipal Corporations Act 1954 in respect of the area with the boundaries described in paragraph (b) of this clause.

9. The first Town Clerk of the said borough shall be the Town Clerk of the Borough of Taumarunui holding that office on the 31st day of March 1972.

10. The system of rating in the said borough shall be on the land value system subject, however, to the provisions of section 8 of the Valuation of Land Amendment Act (No. 2) 1970.

11. Until the valuation roll of the said borough is revised under section 10 of the Valuation of Land Act 1951, the provisions of Part IX of the Rating Act 1967 shall apply as if the said borough were the area of a special-purpose authority and the areas of the former districts of Taumarunui Borough and Manunui Town District were constituent districts of such special-purpose authority.

12. Except as otherwise provided herein or in the Local Government Commission Act 1967, the provisions of the Municipal Corporations Act 1954 shall, with the necessary modifications and so far they are applicable, apply to the union hereby effected as if the former Borough of Taumarunui and the former Town District of Manunui had been united under that Act.

13. So far as they are applicable and with the necessary modifications, the provisions of Section 99A of the Land Transfer Act 1952 shall apply to the union hereby effected.

14. The Taumarunui Borough Council shall be the urban fire authority for the Manunui Secondary Urban Fire District as constituted immediately prior to the 1st day of April 1972.

P. J. BROOKS, Clerk of the Executive Council. (I.A. 103/5/276)

The Rangitikei-Wanganui Catchment District Order 1972 and Previous Orders in Council Revoked

ARTHUR PORRITT, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government Buildings at Wellington this 20th day of March 1972

Present:

THE RIGHT HON. J. R. MARSHALL PRESIDING IN COUNCIL THE RIGHT HON. J. R. MARSHALL PRESIDING IN COUNCIL PURSUANT to the Water and Soil Conservation Act 1967, the Local Government Commission Act 1967, and the Soil Conserva-tion and Rivers Control Act 1941, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby revokes the Order in Council made on the 13th day of December 1944, and published in *Gazette*, on the 14th day of December 1944, at pages 1503 and 1504, constituting the Rangitikei Catchment District, and revokes the Order in Council made on the 13th day of December 1944, and published in *Gazette*, on the 14th day of December 1944, at pages 1504 and 1505, declaring number of members and apportioning representation on the Rangitikei Catchment Board and hereby makes the following order.

ORDER

1. Title—This order may be cited as the Rangitikei-Wanganui Catchment District Order 1972.

2. Constitution of District and Water Region The area 2. Constitution of District and water Region—The area described in the First Schedule hereto is hereby constituted a catchment district within the meaning of the Soil Conservation and Rivers Control Act 1941, which district shall be known as the Rangitikei-Wanganui Catchment District, and shall become a water region within the meaning of the Water and Soil Conservation Act 1967.

3. Interim constitution of Board-Until the members of the Board of the said catchment district are elected at the first triennial election of members after the constitution of the said catchment district, the Board shall consist of 5 non-elective members and 12 elective members, such elective members being:

(a) The 10 elective members of the former Rangitikei Catch-ment Board holding office immediately prior to the dissolution of that Board;

- (b) One member who shall be appointed on the nomination of the Councils of Wanganui City (P), Waitotara County, and Stratford County to represent the districts
- or parts of the districts of those local authorities; (c) One member who shall be appointed on the nomination of the Councils of the Taumarunui (P), Waitomo, Otorohanga, Taupo, and Clifton Counties, the Tau-marunui Borough, and the Manunui and Ohura Town Districts to represent the districts of those local authorities.

4. Constitution of Board—Except for the period referred to in paragraph 3 of this order, the Board of the said catchment district shall consist of 5 non-elective members and 10 elective members with representation of such elective members being as follows:

Wanganui County	1 member
Waitotara County (P)	} 1 member
Stratford County	1 member
Waimarino County (P)	1
Raetihi Borough	{ 1 member
Ohakune Borough	
Taumarunui County (P)	1
Waitomo County	
Taumarunui Borough	
Ohura Town District	{ 1 member
Manunui Town District	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
Clifton County	1
Otorohanga County	1
Rangitikei County (P)	3
Tauna Country	2 members
	2
Kiwitea County (P)	t member
Oroua County	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
Manawatu County	1 member
Marton Borough (P))
Taihape Borough	} 1 member
Hunterville Town District	
Wanganui City	1 member
manganner ofty	I Inchioci

5. Appointment of principal local authorities—The local authorities with the notation (P) immediately following their name, in paragraphs 3 and 4 of this order, are hereby appointed principal local authorities, within the meaning and for the purposes of subsection (3) of section 42 of the Soil Conservation and Rivers Control Act 1941.

6. Non-elective members—Previous Orders in Council appointing non-elective members of the Rangitikei Catchment Board are revoked and the persons holding, for the time being, 6. Non-elective members—Previous the offices of:

Farm Advisory Officer, Department of Agriculture, Wanga-

nui; Senior Forest Ranger, New Zealand Forest Service, Palmerston North;

Commissioner of Crown Lands for the Land District of Wellington, Department of Lands and Survey, Wellington; and

Scientist, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research, Wellington;

are appointed non-elective members of the Rangitikei-Wanganui Catchment Board.

7. Special provisions affecting part of catchment district—In respect of that part of the said district that comprises the area respect of that part of the said district that comprises the area described in the Second Schedule hereto (being the greater parts of the Taumarunui and Waitotara Counties, parts of Otorohanga, Waitomo, Clifton, Stratford, Taupo, Waimarino, and Wanganui Counties, the City of Wanganui, the Borough of Taumarunui, and the Town Districts of Manunui and Ohura) the following provisions shall apply:

(a) The provisions of Part V of the Soil Conservation and Rivers Control Act 1941 shall not apply: Provided that they shall apply to the extent of any agreement to operate the whole or any part of the said Part V made, with the approval of the National Water and Soil Conservation Authority, between the Rangtitkei-Wanganui Catchment Board and any territorial local authority having jurisdiction in the said area in respect of the whole or any part of the district of that local authority;
(b) The provisions of section 126 of the Soil Conservation

 of that local authority;
 (b) The provisions of section 126 of the Soil Conservation and Rivers Control Act 1941 shall not apply: Provided that they shall apply to the extent of any agreement to operate the provisions of that section made with the approval of the National Water and Soil Conservation Authority between the Rangitikei-Wanganui Catchment Board and any territorial local authority having invisidition in the soid area in respect authority having jurisdiction in the said area in respect of the whole or any part of the district of that local authority;