SCHEDULE

GISBORNE LAND DISTRICT-WAIAPU COUNTY

PART Whareponga A8 Block situated in Block V, Waipiro Survey District: area, 3 acres 3 roods 1.2 perches, more or less. Balance of certificate of title, Volume 97, folio 243, Gisborne Registry (S.O. 6007).

Given under the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, and issued under the Seal of New Zealand, this 21st day of December 1971.

[L.S.]

DUNCAN MacINTYRE, Minister of Lands.

GOD SAVE THE QUEEN!

(L. and S. H.O. 6/6/592; D.O. 3/1187)

Appointing a Member of the National Water and Soil Conservation Authority

ARTHUR PORRITT, Governor-General

PURSUANT to the Water and Soil Conservation Act 1967, I, Sir Arthur Espie Porritt, Baronet, the Governor-General of New Zealand, hereby appoint Bruce William Spooner, of Wellington, civil engineer, to be a member of the National Water and Soil Conservation Authority on and after 1 January 1972, to represent the Water Allocation Council for the residue of the term of which his predecessor was appointed. term of which his predecessor was appointed.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, this 10th day of January 1972.

PERCY B. ALLEN, Minister of Works.

(P.W. 74/70/1)

Appointments, Promotions, Transfers, Resignations, Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army

Pursuant to section 16 of the New Zealand Army Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army:

GENERALS' LIST

Regular Force

Lieutenant-General Sir Leonard Whitmore Thornton, K.C.B., C.B.E., is posted to the Retired List with effect from 23 December 1971.

ROYAL REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY

Regular Force

Lieutenant-Colonel Howard Spencer Cocks, O.B.E., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery, in the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel with effect from 19 November 1971.

Lieutenant-Colonel (temp. Colonel) J. L. Smith, M.B.E., B.A., to be Colonel with effect from 1 October 1971.

Major (temp. Lieutenant-Colonel) C. C. Stewart to be Lieutenant-Colonel with effect from 1 October 1971.

Captain K. E. Lee is reposted to the Territorial Force (4th

Captain K. F. Lee is reposted to the Territorial Force (4th Medium Battery, RNZA) with effect from 20 October 1971.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) A. D. Ross relinquished the temp. rank of Captain with effect from 17 November 1971.

Territorial Force

16th Field Regiment, RNZA

Lieutenant Peter Arthur Oliver is posted to the Retired List

with effect from 27 September 1971.

Captain K. F. Lee, from the Regular Force, to be Captain with seniority from 28 July 1968 and effect from 20 October 1971.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMOURED CORPS

Regular Force

Lieutenant-Colonel James Brown is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Armoured Corps, in the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel with effect from 6 November 1971.

Major P. H. Bell is re-engaged until 29 February 1972. Lieutenant (temp. Captain) and Quartermaster N. P. O'Dwyer, M.B.E., is re-engaged until 15 June 1972.

Territorial Force

2nd Squadron, New Zealand Scottish, RNZAC

2nd Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant) J. J. Lane to be Lieutenant with effect from 22 October 1971.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

Regular Force

Lieutenant William James Trotter resigns his commission with effect from 9 November 1971.

Territorial Force

2nd Construction Squadron, RNZE

Lieutenant Donald Guthrie Espie, B.E. (CHEM.), is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, The Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers, in the rank of Lieutenant with effect from 1 May 1971.

Lieutenant H. A. Mawson, B.E. (CIV.), to be Captain with effect from 3 September 1971.

6th Independent Field Squadron, RNZE

2nd Lieutenant J. A. Davies to be temp. Lieutenant with effect from 30 June 1971.

ROYAL N.Z. CORPS OF SIGNALS

Colonel Commandant

Lieutenant-Colonel Douglas McNiel Burns, E.D., B.SC., Retired List, is appointed Colonel Commandant, Royal N.Z. Corps of Signals for a term of 4 years with effect from 1 December 1971, vice Colonel R. W. Foubister, O.B.E., whose term has

Regular Force

Major K. A. Reggler is re-engaged until 8 February 1972.

ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT

Regular Force

Captain and Quartermaster T. F. Phillips to be temp. Major

and Quartermaster with effect from 1 November 1971.

Captain C. E. Brock to be temp. Major with effect from 26 October 1971.

Captain E. I. Manuera, M.C., to be temp. Major with effect

from 29 November 1971.
Captain R. J. K. Hoskin to be acting Major for period 8-15
November 1971 inclusive.

November 19/1 inclusive.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) H. T. Gardiner to be Captain with effect from 14 December 1970.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) R. P. F. Schmidt to be Captain with effect from 14 December 1970.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) J. R. Webb to be Captain with effect from 8 January 1971.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) R. S. Miller to be Captain with effect from 20 June 1971.

Lieutenant H. K. Pope to be temp. Captain with effect from

Lieutenant H. K. Pope to be temp. Captain with effect from

31 August 1971.

H621628 Staff Sergeant Ronald William Potaka is appointed to a commission in the rank of Lieutenant and Quartermaster with effect from 20 September 1971.

Supernumerary List

Major I. J. Hellyer is re-engaged until 30 November 1971. Major (temp. Lieutenant-Colonel) and Quartermaster Joseph

william Beaumont, M.B.E., is posted to the Retired List in the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel and Quartermaster with effect from 15 August 1971.

Major Maxwell William Lawson-Smith, A.N.Z.I.M., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment, in the rank of Major with effect from 5

November 1971.

Territorial Force

2nd Battalion (Canterbury Nelson Marlborough West Coast), RNZIR

2nd Lieutenant Alister Vincent Spain, M.AGR.SC., resigns his commission with effect from 20 April 1971.

3rd Battalion (Auckland (Countess of Ranfurly's Own) and Northland), RNZIR

Captain (temp. Major) Donald Jefcoate McKenzie is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment, in the rank of Major with effect from 28 October 1971.

4th Battalion (Otago and Southland), RNZIR

Lieutenant Kevin James Allum is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment, in the rank of Lieutenant with effect from 1 September 1971.

2nd Lieutenant N. Reid to be Lieutenant with effect from

1 March 1971.

5th Battalion (Wellington West Coast and Taranaki), RNZIR

Lieutenant Maurice Kenneth Haglund is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment, in the rank of Lieutenant with effect from 4 October