Basil Colmar Campbell, Esq., Director, Road Transport Division, Ministry of Transport;
Henry Charles Kennedy, Esq., of Tairua; and Alan David Talbot, Esq., of Pleasant Point, farmer (being the nominees of the New Zealand Counties Association Incorporated);

Incorporated);
Michael John Minogue, Esq., of Hamilton, solicitor (being the nominee of the Municipal Association of New Zealand Incorporated, as representing those boroughs having a population of 20,000 or more);
John Samuel Thorn, Esq., of Port Chalmers, company director (being the nominee of the Municipal Association of New Zealand Incorporated, as representing those boroughs having a population of less than 20,000 and town districts).

boroughs having a population of town districts);

Donald Derek Merritt, Esq., M.B.E., of Nelson, company director (to represent the interests of persons being owners of commercial motor vehicles); and

Thomas Edward Verdun Turpin, Esq., of Dunedin, public accountant (to represent the interests of persons being accountant of private motor vehicles).

P. J. BROOKS, Clerk of the Executive Council. (P.W. 62/25)

Appointing Chairman and Members of the Water Resources Council

ARTHUR PORRITT, Governor-General

PURSUANT to section 5 of the Water and Soil Conservation Amendment Act (No. 2) 1971, I, Sir Arthur Espie Porritt, Baronet, the Governor-General of New Zealand, hereby

Bruce William Spooner, of Wellington, civil engineer; Eric James Stonyer, an officer of the Department of Agri-

culture;
Richard Wright Willett, an officer of the Department of
Scientific and Industrial Research;

Scientific and Industrial Research;

Norman Colin McLeod, an officer of the Ministry of Works; Robert Richard Louis Harcourt, an officer of the Depart-

ment of Health;
Roger Norman Kerr, an officer of the Marine Department;
Neville George Pickering, Douglas Gordon Dymock, and
Edward Hamish Simpson to represent local authorities;
Alexander Campbell Begg, David Fulton Fowlds, Alan Earl
Cooper, Darcy Freeman, and John Bower Prior to represent recreational interests in natural water

to be members of the Water Resources Council from and including the 1st day of April 1972; and I hereby appoint the said Bruce William Spooner to be Chairman of the Council.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General this 11th day of April 1972.

PERCY B. ALLEN, Minister of Works.

(P.W. 74/100/1)

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air

Pursuant to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:

REGULAR AIR FORCE GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Extensions of Commissions

Squadron Leader H. J. Coventry is granted an extension of his commission until 31 December 1974, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Flight Lieutenant P. G. Bevin is granted an extension of his commission until 4 January 1973, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Cancellations of Commissions

The short-service commission of acting Pilot Officer Larry Kenneth Bennett is cancelled with effect from 28 January 1972. The short-service commission of acting Pilot Officer Ronald John Doggett is cancelled with effect from 23 February 1972.

TECHNICAL BRANCH Appointment

Engineer Division

Squadron Leader G. B. Gilmore, GRAD.I.E.E., GRAD.R.Ae.S., to be acting Wing Commander with effect from 28 February 1972, and temp. Wing Commander with effect from 16 March 1972.

Promotion

Engineer Division

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) R. J. Ruscoe, B.E.M., to be Squadron Leader with effect from 25 January 1972.

Flying Officer (temp. Flight Lieutenant) N. J. Mosby, B.E., to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority from 3 June 1970 and effect from 1 January 1972.

Signals Division

Flying Officer R. T. Farrell to be Flight Lieutenant with effect from 9 February 1972.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Appointment

Secretarial Division

Flying Officer L. R. McC. Wilson to be temp. Flight Lieutenant with effect from 6 March 1972.

Special Duties Division

Warrant Officer Roy Chave is appointed to a short-service commission for a period to expire on 16 July 1977, in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 18 January 1972, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Promotion

Supply Division

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) J. J. Thomson to be Squadron Leader with effect from 9 March 1972.

Extension of Commission

Secretarial Division

Flight Lieutenant R. R. Parsons is granted an extension of his commission until 4 July 1976, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Extension of Age for Retirement

Special Duties Division

Squadron Leader P. A. Brodie, M.B.E., A.N.Z.I.M., is granted an extension of his age for retirement until 12 January 1975.

Transfer to Reserve

Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant Theodore Cyril Moreton is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of 4 years with effect from 8 February 1972.

EDUCATION BRANCH

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

Squadron Leader G. Y. Gemmell is granted an extension of his commission and age for retirement until 23 November 1976, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

MEDICAL BRANCH

Promotion

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) R. G. Grant, B., CH.B., to be Squadron Leader with effect from 20 M.B., CH.B., to February 1972.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS Extensions of Commissions

Flight Lieutenant R. W. Duke, B.A., is granted an extension of his commission until 17 February 1977.

Flight Lieutenant R. M. H. Webber is granted an extension of his commission until 14 March 1975.

Flight Lieutenant B. Hildreth is granted an extension of his commission until 30 October 1982.

Flight Lieutenant John William Michael Colbert, D.F.M., is retired with effect from 11 February 1972.

Resignations of Commissions

Flight Lieutenant Patrick Lane McFarland resigns his commission with effect from 18 February 1972.

Flight Lieutenant Leslie John Raymond Allen resigns his commission with effect from 4 January 1972.

Dated at Wellington this 7th day of April 1972.

ALLAN McCREADY, Minister of Defence.