## Birthday Honours List

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has announced that The Queen has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the celebration of Her Majesty's Birthday, to confer the following honours-

## CIVIL DIVISION

Knight Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (K.B.E.):

- Dr Malcolm McRae Burns, C.B.E., of Christchurch.
- Knight Bachelor:

1256

- The Hon. Mr Justice Clifford Parris Richmond, of Wellington
- Mr Reginald Charles Frank Savory, C.B.E., of Auckland.
- Companion of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George (C.M.G.):
- Mr Lawrence David Hickford, o.B.E., of Okato, Taranaki. Mr Shapton Donald Sinclair, of Waimea West.
- Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.):
  - Mr Harry Heaton Barker, o.B.E., of Gisborne. Mr John Denis McGrath, of Wellington. Mr Eric Bruce MacKenzie, of Wellington.

  - Mr Tipi Tainui Ropiha, I.S.O., of Auckland.
- Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.):

  - Mr Whitford James Brown, of Porirua. Mrs Phyllis Elaine Brusey, of Days Bay. Mr John Cowie, of Lower Hutt. Dr Samuel Jamieson, of Wellington. Mr John Lambert Kerr, of Christchurch. Mr Alph McGlashen, of Auckland.

  - Mr Raiph McGlashen, of Auckland. Mr Amos Robinson McKegg, of Palmerston North. Mr Juro Tomin Mazuran, of Auckland. Mr Arthur John Nicoll, of Ashburton. Mr John Philp, Q.F.S.M., of Invercargill. Mr Alfred Geoffrey Scott, M.B.E., of Wellington. Dr John Malfroy Staveley, M.C., of Auckland. Dr Samuel James Thompson, of Levin.
- Companion of the Imperial Service Order (I.S.O.):
- Mr James William Dempsey, of Upper Hutt.
- Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.É.):

  - Mr Alan Searle Alsweiler, of Invercargill. Mr William Albert Edward Archer, of Auckland. Mr George Noble Boulton, of Wanganui.

  - Mr Oswald Astley Cheesman, of Auckland. Mr Fletcher Roy Christian, of Auckland. Mr Edward Walton Christiansen, of Auckland.
  - Mr William Augustus Christiansen, of Mucktand. Mrs Jean Clark, of Wellington. Mrs Geraldine Dora Davison, of Geraldine. Mr Alfred Gordon Freeman, of Te Awamutu. Mrs Muriel Bessie Fullerton-Smith, of Marton.

  - Mr James Hassall, of Tokoroa. Reverend Canon Beaumont Harold Pierard, of Hamilton.
  - Reverend Canon Beaumont Harold Plerard, of Hamilt Mr David Stanley Radcliffe, M.M., of Edgecumbe. Mr Hugh Douglas Ramsay, of Dunedin. Mr Donald Russell Robertson, of Havelock North. Mr Bertrand Charles Maurice Spiers, of Murchison. Miss Marion Watson Stewart, of Tauranga. Mr Norman Stephen Tankersley, of Masterton.
- British Empire Medal (B.E.M.):

  - Mrs Empire Medai (B.E.M.). Mr Wilfred John Bradley, of Timaru. Miss Catherine Mary Carey (Sister Mary Aloysia), of Waitaruke, North Auckland. Mrs Ngaire Verna Dakers, of Waimauku. Miss Lily Alice Gall, of Gore. Mrs Maude Evelyn Hampton, of Lillburn, Tuatapere. Mr Hugh Hunter, of Katikati. Mrs Edith Lucy Oldbury, of Kawhia. Mrs Olive Rose Violet Newman Parkes, of Palmerston North.

  - North. Mr Paul Edouard Quenneville, of New Caledonia. Mr William Gordon Ainsley Ramsay, of Christchurch. Mrs Patricia Ellen Isabel Rees, of Blenheim.

  - Mrs Ivy Mabel Thorp, of Motueka.

## MILITARY DIVISION

Companion of the Most Honourable Order of the Bath (C.B.):

Lieutenant-General Richard James Holden Webb, C.B.E., of Wellington.

- Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.):
  - Captain Samuel Fenwick Mercer, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland.

  - Colonel Russell Williden Kerr Ainge, of Wellington. Group Captain William Robert Duncan, M.B.E., Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Upper Hutt.
- Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.):
  - Lieutenant Commander (Sp) Alexander George Innes, Royal New Zealand Naval Volunteer Reserve, of Port Chalmers

  - Warrant Control Electrical Mechanician Bruce Arthur Allen, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland. Major Bruce Graham Jenkin, The Corps of Royal New Zealand Engineers (Regular Force), at Australian Army Staff College, Queenscliff, Victoria.
  - Temporary Major Brian Howard Martin, E.D., Royal New Zealand Armoured Corps (Territorial Force), of Wellington.
  - Lieutenant and Quartermaster Donald Frank Williams, Royal New Zealand Infantry Regiment (Regular Force), of Papakura.
  - Squadron Leader Peter Sydney Rule, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wellington.
  - Flight Lieutenant Sean Christopher Robinson, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Ohakea.
- Air Force Cross (A.F.C.):

Wing Commander Mervyn William Hodge, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Auckland.

- Associate of the Royal Red Cross (A.R.R.C.):
- Matron Helen MacKenzie, Royal New Zealand Nursing Corps (Territorial Force), of Matamata.
- British Empire Medal (B.E.M.):
  - Temporary Warrant Control Electrical Artificer Antony Charteris Black, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland.
  - Charterns Black, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland. Chief Petty Officer Electrician Stanley Haines, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland. Leading Medical Assistant Robert Peterson, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland. Sergeant David Paul Beattie, Royal New Zealand Infantry Regiment (Regular Force), of Burnham. Sergeant Joseph Johnston, Royal New Zealand Infantry Regiment of Panakura

  - Regiment, of Papakura. Flight Sergeant William Nevis Halse, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wigram.
  - Flight Sergeant Kenneth Sealy Cooper, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Auckland.
- Queen's Commendation for Valuable Services in the Air:
- Flight Lieutenant Harvey Hammersley, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wigram.

Dated at Wellington this 12th day of June 1972.

D. C. WILLIAMS, Official Secretary.

Compensation Act 1956 Authorised Insurers

PURSUANT to section 101 of the Workers' Compensation Act 1956, I hereby notify that The Home Insurance Co. ceased, as from the 29th day of March 1972, as an authorised insurer under Part III of the Workers' Compensation Act 1956, and is to be omitted from the list of authorised insurers notified in the *Gazette* of 25 November 1971, No. 93, p. 2646.

Dated at Wellington this 23rd day of May 1972.

E. G. DAVEY, Secretary of Labour.

(Lab. 18/8/49)

in the Gazette.

(Lab. I.C. 139)

Industrial Conciliation and Arbitration Act 1954-Cancellation of Registration of Industrial Union

PURSUANT to section 86 of the Industrial Conciliation and Arbitration Act 1954, it is hereby notified that the registration of the Buller Underviewers and Deputies Industrial Union of Workers, Registered No. 1344, situated at Granity, is hereby cancelled as from the date of the publication of this notice

A. C. RUFFELL, Registrar of Industrial Unions, Department of Labour.

Dated at Wellington this 1st day of June 1972.