Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army:

REGULAR FORCE

ROYAL REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY

Captain and Quartermaster Peter John Dixon is posted to the Retired List with effect from 20 June 1972. Captain Bryce Grattan Alexander Harrison is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery, in the rank of Captain, with effect from 2 More 1072 2 May 1972.

Captain G. D. Stevenson, from the 2nd General Hospital, RNZAMC, is appointed to a commission for an initial period of 5 years, in the rank of Captain, with seniority and effect from 10 April 1972.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMOURED CORPS

Lieutenant and Quartermaster W. B. Grupen to be temp. Captain and Quartermaster with effect from 7 February 1972.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

Captain (temp. Major) B. G. Jenkin, M.B.E., A.N.Z.I.M., to be Major with effect from 20 December 1971. Lieutenant K. J. Woods to be temp. Captain with effect from 1 March 1972.

ROYAL N.Z. CORPS OF SIGNALS

Supernumerary List

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) and Quartermaster R. J. Tyler is re-engaged until 29 November 1973.

ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT

Lieutenant-Colonel Ian Barnes Bennett, M.SC., A.N.Z.I.M.,

Lieutenant-Colonel Ian Barnes Bennett, M.SC., A.N.Z.I.M., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment, in the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel, with effect from 3 May 1972. Lieutenant-Colonel N. A. Wallace, B.A., is transferred to the Territorial Force with effect from 26 April 1972. Major Terry Paul Samuel, E.D., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment, in the rank of Major, with effect from 8 May 1972. Major R. C. Dodson is transferred to the Territorial Force with effect from 19 September 1971.

Major R. C. Dodson is transferred to the Territorial Force with effect from 19 September 1971. Captain and Quartermaster C. J. Phillips to be temp. Major and Quartermaster with effect from 19 April 1972. Captain and Quartermaster Ronald Charles Jamieson is posted to the Retired List with effect from 1 May 1972. Lieutenant (*temp*. Captain) G. J. Keelty to be Captain with effect from 14 March 1972. Lieutenant E. G. Steel, D.F.C., to be temp. Captain with effect from 13 December 1971. 2nd Lieutenant B. W. F. Morrison to be Lieutenant with effect from 20 December 1971.

Supernumerary List

Major B. T. Poananga is re-engaged until 5 May 1976.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY SERVICE CORPS

Captain (temp. Major) C. D. F. Green, having reached retiring age for rank, is transferred to the Supernumery List with effect from 22 September 1971.

Supernumerary List

Major R. J. K. McKinnon is re-engaged until 16 June 1972. ROYAL N.Z. ARMY MEDICAL CORPS

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) P. J. Kirkland to be Captain with effect from 1 May 1972.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY ORDNANCE CORPS

Supernumerary List

Captain (temp. Major) and Quartermaster Eric Dudley Gerard, E.D., is posted to the Retired List, in the rank of Major and Quartermaster, with effect from 10 June 1972.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ELECTRICAL AND MECHANICAL ENGINEERS

Captain N. A. Titheridge, having reached retiring age for rank, is transferred to the Supernumerary List with effect from 21 November 1971.

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) F. S. Smith is confirmed in his present rank and seniority. P041091 Officer Cadet Murray David Roberts is appointed to a commission for an initial period of 5 years, in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 21 December 1071 pert below 2nd Lieutenant D. A. Bossyntra PNZAMC 1971, next below 2nd Lieutenant D. A. Roseveare, RNZAMC.

ROYAL N.Z. CHAPLAINS DEPARTMENT

Chaplain 3rd Class R. J. Stachurski is transferred to the Territorial Force with effect from 18 May 1972.

N.Z. ARMY LEGAL SERVICE

Major G. B. MacK. Law, B.A., LL.B., is re-engaged until 31 May 1972.

ROYAL N.Z. PROVOST CORPS

Captain B. T. Harding to be temp. Major with effect from 17 March 1972.

2nd Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant) C. R. Baeyertz to be Lieutenant with effect from 21 December 1971.

ROYAL N.Z. NURSING CORPS

Sister A. G. Rameka to be Charge Sister with seniority and effect from 12 February 1972. Pamela June Treloar is appointed to a commission in the rank of Sister with seniority from 4 August 1971 and effect from 4 April 1972. Staff Nurse R. P. Dinnan to be Sister with effect from 9 Navember 1071

November 1971.

Cheryle Stephanie Collyer is appointed to a commission for a period of 2 years, in the rank of Sister, with seniority from 1 January 1972 and effect from 4 May 1972.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY EDUCATION CORPS

Major R. C. Wrighton, M.A., DIP.TCHG., is re-engaged until 31 March 1977.

N.Z. WOMEN'S ROYAL ARMY CORPS

Lieutenant D. R. Bradley is re-engaged until 1 April 1973. Lieutenant Jennifer Ruth Lilly is posted to the Retired List with effect from 6 April 1972.

TERRITORIAL FORCE

ROYAL REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY

3rd Field Regiment, RNZA

2nd Lieutenant N. J. Williams to be Lieutenant with effect from 14 April 1972. Ian Douglas Richards is appointed to a commission in the

rank of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) with seniority and effect from 16 February 1972.

16th Field Regiment, RNZA

Lieutenant B. S. Trafford to be Captain with seniority and effect from 18 February 1972. 2nd Lieutenant K. A. Palmer to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 14 April 1972. 2nd Lieutenant M. J. Carpenter to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 14 April 1972. The comprision of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) P. I. Marfield

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) P. J. Merfield is confirmed.

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) G. Pace is confirmed.

The following are appointed to commissions in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) with seniority and effect from 16 February 1972:

Timothy Gerard Moriarty.

Russell Andrew Barker.

Christopher John Hardley, B.E., is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) with seniority and effect from 28 March 1972.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMOURED CORPS

1st Squadron, New Zealand Scottish, RNZAC Ronald George Mills is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) with seniority and effect

from 16 February 1972.

2nd Squadron, New Zealand Scottish, RNZAC

Lieutenant Christopher Frederick Paul Harris resigns his commission with effect from 1st April 1972.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

Inte Corps of ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS 1st Construction Squadron, RNZE 2nd Lieutenant George William Asbey-Palmer resigns his commission with effect from 23 March 1972. Graeme Charles Wilson, B.SC., is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) with seniority and effect from 16 February 1972. Graham Alexander Bayes, N.Z.C.Q.S., A.B.S.I., is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) with seniority and effect from 6 April 1972. Bayer N.Z. Corps on Symptote

ROYAL N.Z. CORPS OF SIGNALS

2nd Communication Zone Signal Squadron, RNZ Sigs

The following are appointed to commissions in the rank f 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) with effect from 16 February 1972:

Alexis Edward Lankovsky, B.A. Antony Neal Instone.