2nd Battalion (Canterbury Nelson Marlborough West Coast),

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) David Robert Manks is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal New Zealand Infantry Regiment, in the rank of Captain, with effect from 28 May 1972.

Honorary Lieutenant William John Samuel is posted to the Retired List with effect from 18 June 1972.

Christopher Noel Brownlee is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) with seniority and effect from 26 July 1972.

Peter Bonamy D'Auvergne, B.Sc., is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) with seniority and effect from 26 July 1972.

3rd Battalion (Auckland (Countess of Ranfurly's Own) and Northland), RNZIR

Kevin Anthony Raymond Ashcroft is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) with seniority and effect from 26 July 1972.

#### 4th Battalion (Otago and Southland), RNZIR

Captain (temp. Major) R.D. Smith to be Major with seniority and effect from 7 May 1972.

seniority and effect from 7 May 1972.

Captain R. G. Barrowclough to be Major with seniority and effect from 7 May 1972.

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) W. R. Wilson is confirmed with effect from 10 August 1970.

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) A. D. Miller is confirmed with effect from 6 April 1971.

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) M. G. Elliott is confirmed with effect from 6 April 1971.

Murray Colin Allison is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) with seniority and effect from 26 July 1972.

#### 6th Battalion (Hauraki), RNZIR

Cecil Wiremu Campbell is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) with seniority and effect from 26 July 1972.

Lloyd John Parrant is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) with seniority and effect from 26 July 1972.

7th Battalion (Wellington (City of Wellington's Own) and Hawke's Bay), RNZIR

Lieutenant John Robert Kingi resigns his commission with

effect from 1 July 1972.

Leslie Allen Francis is appointed to a commission in the rank of Honorary Lieutenant as Director of Music, with seniority from 9 February 1972 and effect from 5 July 1972.

The following are appointed to commissions in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) with seniority and effect from 26 July 1972:

David John Allison. Robert Gordon Fraser. John Alexander Foster. Geoffrey Stewart Lewis.

# 1st Transport Company, RNZASC

Reginald Ivan Sutherland is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) with seniority and effect from 26 July 1972.

# 3rd Transport Company (General Transport), RNZASC

William David McLeod is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) with seniority and effect from 26 July 1972.

# 1st Casualty Clearing Station, RNZAMC

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) J. C. Powell to be Captain with seniority and effect from 7 April 1972.

# 3rd Field Ambulance, RNZAMC

Lieutenant Paul Christopher Armour, M.B., CH.B., resigns his commission with effect from 7 July 1972.

# 3rd Infantry Workshop, RNZEME

Peter Hugh May is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) with seniority and effect from 26 July 1972.

# Royal N.Z. Dental Corps

Major Alan John Laws, M.D.S., Otago University Medical Company, RNZAMC, is posted to the Retired List with effect from 1 June 1972.

### Royal New Zealand Chaplains Department

Chaplain 3rd Class Alastair Kimball Thomas Bathgate (Presbyterian) is posted to the Retired List with effect from 10 May 1972.

Chaplain 3rd Class R. J. Stachurski (Roman Catholic), from the Regular Force, to be Chaplain 3rd Class with seniority from 8 August 1967 and effect from 18 May 1972. Chaplain 4th Class J. B. Currie (Methodist) to be Chaplain 3rd Class with seniority from 22 May 1972.

3rd Class with seniority and effect from 22 May 1972.

Royal N.Z. Nursing Corns

Principal Matron Catherine Barron is posted to the Retired List with effect from 25 July 1972.

#### RESERVE OF OFFICERS

#### General List

The following officers are posted to the Retired List with effect from the dates shown:

Major Peter Maxwell Nottingham, M.Sc., NZDSC, 8 August

1972.

Captain Thomas Neville Lynch, RNZA, 7 August 1972. Captain Richard Henry Bruce Thomas, RNZIR, 13 July 1972.

Lieutenant George Webster Macfarlane, RNZA, 4 August 1972.

N.Z. Cadet Forces: With reference to the notice published in the Gazette, 27 July 1972, No. 59, p. 1531, under "Captains", the name of Leo Francis Walsh is hereby deleted.

Dated at Wellington this 25th day of August 1972.

ALLAN McCREADY, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:

# REGULAR AIR FORCE

# GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

# Appointment

Squadron Leader Cecil Crook, M.B.E., from the Royal Air Force, is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 5 years, in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority from 1 May 1967 and effect from 1 May 1972.

Flying Officer N. A. Davey, B.Sc., to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority from 21 January 1971 and effect from 28 August 1972.

Acting Pilot Officer J. K. Herron to be Flying Officer with seniority and effect from 24 March 1972.

The following Acting Pilot Officers to be Pilot Officers with seniority and effect from 24 March 1972.

A. E. D. Daly.
W. K. L. MacGregor.
B. G. Masters.
C. C. Johnston.
D. J. Forrest.

P. J. Richards.

# Transfer to the Reserve

Squadron Leader Alexander John Brown is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 21 March 1976, with effect from 5 April 1972.

Flying Officer Ian Thomas Tennant-Brown is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 11 July 1976, with effect from 12 July 1972.

#### Transfer to the Retired List

Squadron Leader Alexander John Brown: the notice published in the Gazette, 20 July 1972, No. 57, p. 1486, is cancelled.

#### Cancellation of Commission

The commission of Acting Pilot Officer Stephen James Patrick is cancelled with effect from 7 July 1972.

# TECHNICAL BRANCH

#### A ppointment

Engineer Division

Wing Commander K. R. Orsborn, C.ENG., A.F.R.Ae.S.: with reference to the notice published in the *Gazette*, 18 May 1972, No. 42, p. 1064, for the date "27 April 1972", substitute "17 April 1972".

Squadron Leader Robin Line Doorne, from the Royal Air Force, is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 5 years in the rank of Squadron Leader, with seniority from 22 March 1970 and effect from 22 March 1972.