Squadron Leader (temp. Wing Commander) B. A. N. Greer to be Wing Commander, with seniority from 6 July 1972 and effect from 10 January 1973.

and effect from 10 January 1973. Squadron Leader (temp. Wing Commander) J. A. Scrim-shaw, M.B.E., A.F.C., to be Wing Commander, with seniority from 16 September 1972 and effect from 10 January 1973. Flying Officer K. Jolly to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 12 December 1972. Flying Officer P. G. Bethell to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 12 December 1972. Flying Officer P. L. Radford to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 12 December 1972. Flying Officer P. L. Radford to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 12 December 1972. Flying Officer C. D. Shaw to be Flight Lieutenant, with

Flying Officer C. D. Shaw to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 12 December 1972. Pilot Officer A. G. White to be Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 24 December 1972.

Cancellation of Commission

The commission of Acting Pilot Officer Stephen Paul Anthony Harrison is cancelled with effect from 24 March 1972.

Transfer to Reserve

Flight Lieutenant Hamilton Rex Hunt is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers with effect from 24 Novem-ber 1972 until 7 October 1976.

# TECHNICAL BRANCH

### **Appointments**

Engineer Division

Flight Lieutenant P. B. Thorpe to be temporary Squadron Leader with effect from 5 January 1973.

Signals Division

Flight Lieutenant R. A. Sudlow, A.N.Z.I.M., is appointed to a permanent commission with effect from 7 December 1972. Promotions

Signals Division

Flight Lieutenant C. K. Smith to be temporary Squadron Leader with effect from 11 January 1973. Pilot Officer L. G. Sharp, N.Z.C.E., to be Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 13 December 1972.

Armament Division

Flight Lieutenant D. B. Dalzell to be temporary Squadron Leader with effect from 1 January 1973.

Transfer to Reserve

Engineer Division

Fight Lieutenant Graham Francis Leslie Bannon is trans-ferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers with effect from 12 January 1973.

> ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH A ppointments

Secretarial Division

Flying Officer A. G. Froggatt to be temporary Flight Lieutenant with effect from 8 January 1973. P75292 Flight Sergeant Robert George Sollitt is appointed

to a short-service commission for a period of 4 years in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 2 October 1972, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers

U462387 Sergeant Kenneth Alfred Germon is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 6 years in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 2 October 1972, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers. Supply Division

Flight Lieutenant M. J. Williams is appointed to a per-manent commission with effect from 8 December 1972. N80144 Sergeant Keith Robert Field is appointed to a

short-service commission for a period of 8 years in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 2 October 1972, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers

Y77210 Sergeant Noel Thomas Hamilton is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 5 years in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 2 October 1972, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers. Special Duties Division

S16461 Corporal (temp. Sergeant) Kenneth Charles McKenzie Williams is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 6 years in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 2 October 1972, followed by 4 years

seniority and effect from 2 October 1972, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers. W74080 Flight Sergeant (*temp.* Warrant Officer) Allen George Walding is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 6 years in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 2 October 1972, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

J73470 Warrant Officer Lester Warick Tritt is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 3 years in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 2 October 1972, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers

L77497 Warrant Officer David Stewart Williams is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 5 years in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 2 October 1972, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

C79720 Flight Sergeant (temp. Warrant Officer) Rean Patrick Cattle is appointed to a short-service commission for a period to expire on 6 April 1979 in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 2 October 1972, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers. Promotions

Supply Division

Squadron Leader (temp. Wing Commander) M. D. Reid, A.N.Z.I.M., to be Wing Commander, with seniority and effect from 8 January 1973. Flying Officer R. P. Warren to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 14 December 1972.

Special Duties Division

Squadron Leader H. E. Dewhirst, M.I.E.T., M.R.S.H., M.N.Z.I.C.W., to be Wing Commander, with seniority and effect from 11 December 1972.

Transfers to Reserve

Secretarial Division

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) David Ian Procter, A.C.A., A.C.I.S., A.N.Z.I.M., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 22 January 1977, with effect from 24 January 1973.

Special Duties Division

Squadron Leader Frank Andrew Wilson is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 19 April 1976, with effect from 10 February 1973.

Transfer to Retired List

Secretarial Division

Group Captain William Robert Duncan, O.B.E., is transferred to the Retired List "A" in the rank of Group Captain with effect from 12 December 1972.

### **RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS**

Extension of Commissions

The commission of Squadron Leader N. W. Faircloth is

extended to 6 September 1977. The commission of Flight Lieutenant J. E. Murray is extended to 8 September 1974.

The commission of Flight Lieutenant M. B. Wylie is extended to 10 July 1978.

## Retirements

The following officers are retired with effect from the dates shown:

Squadron Leader Rawlings William McSkimming, M.B.E., A.R.A.N.Z., A.C.I.S., A.C.A.N.Z., 5 November 1972. Squadron Leader James Richard Robert Devereaux, B.E., M.I.E.E., M.N.Z.I.E., 12 December 1972.

Flight Lieutenant Robert Duncan Scott, M.B., CH.B., 28 De-

cember 1972 Flight Lieutenant Bruce Gibb Johnston, D.F.C., 8 January

1973 Flight Lieutenant Neville Douglas Freeman, D.F.C.,

19 December 1972. Flight Lieutenant William Davenport Brown, D.F.C.,

12 January 1973. Flight Lieutenant Robert Alan Macartney, B.A., A.M.N.Z.E.I.,

14 January 1973. Flight Lieutenant Herbert Walker Henry Bellamore,

25 December 1972. Flying Officer Patrick John McVerry, D.F.C., 13 January

1973 Flying Officer John Alfred Downes, 16 January 1973.

Dated at Wellington this 2nd day of February 1973.

A. J. FAULKNER, Minister of Defence.

### Justices of the Peace Appointed

PURSUANT to section 3 (1) of the Justices of the Peace Act 1957, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint the following persons to be Justices of the Peace for New Zealand:

Ackroyd-Kelly, John William, 226 Ohiro Road, Brooklyn, Wellington 2.

Aldridge, Arthur Francis, Russell Street, Waipukurau. Avery, Raymond Ross, 37 Peel Street, Westport. Bennett, Mrs Doreen Lily May, R.D. 1, Paeroa. Berendsen, Dr Keith Ellis, 9 Union Street, Dunedin.