#### ROYAL N.Z. PROVOST CORPS

1st Provost Company, RNZ Pro

2nd Lieutenant William Sharp, B.A., to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 14 April 1972.

#### EXTRA REGIMENTAL EMPLOYMENT

Headquarters, 1 Infantry Brigade Group

Lieutenant R. H. Andrewes to be temp. Captain with effect from 17 February 1973.

#### RESERVE OF OFFICERS

General List

Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery

Captain John Boyd Hamel. Ll.B., is posted to the Retired List with effect from 21 February 1973.

Lieutenant David Samuel Marks is posted to the Retired List with effect from 15 January 1973.

Royal N.Z. Armoured Corps

Lieutenant Terence John Bradbury, A.P.A.N.Z., is posted to the Retired List with effect from 9 February 1973.

Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment

Major John Thomas Shaw, E.D., is posted to the Retired List with effect from 30 December 1971.

Lieutenant Peter Edward Dinniss is posted to the Retired

List with effect from 22 February 1973.

Lieutenant Robert Charles Blair is posted to the Retired List with effect from 6 February 1973.

The Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers

2nd Lieutenant Alec Donald McDonald is posted to the Retired List with effect from 17 February 1973.

Royal N.Z. Army Medical Corps

Lieutenant Donald Allan Gooder is posted to the Retired List with effect from 17 February 1973.

Royal N.Z. Dental Corps

Lieutenant John Russell Hughes, B.D.S., is posted to the Retired List with effect from 27 February 1973.

N.Z. Cadet Corps

Lieutenant John Alexander Patterson, B.Sc., N.Z. Cadet Corps, is posted to the Retired List with effect from 1 April 1972.

Dated at Wellington this 5th day of April 1973.

W. E. ROWLING, for Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

# REGULAR AIR FORCE

# GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointments

Squadron Leader Kenneth Wilfred Claydon, from the Royal Air Force, is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 5 years, in the rank of Squadron Leader, with seniority and effect from 23 February 1973, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Flight Lieutenant R. J. Metcalfe is appointed to a permanent

commission with effect from 22 February 1973.

Flight Lieutenant J. H. Seward is appointed to a permanent commission with effect from 27 February 1973.

#### **Promotions**

The following Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenants with seniority and effect from 28 March 1973:

G. J. Wood. I G. Wood.

K. Aldridge.

The following Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers with seniority and effect from 24 March 1973:

A. E. D. Daly. B. G. Masters. C. C. Johnston. D. J. Forrest.

P. J. Richards.

# Extension of Commission

The short-service commission of Flight Lieutenant J. R. Jennings is extended to 1 December 1981, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

#### Cancellation of Commission

The short-service commission of Acting Pilot Officer Lee Maurice Harper is cancelled with effect from 20 February

## Transfers to Reserve

Squadron Leader R. A. Brill is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 31 December 1976, with effect from 28 February 1973.

Flying Officer William Michael Benge is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 13 March 1985, with effect from 27 January 1973.

## TECHNICAL BRANCH

Appointment

Signals Division

Flight Lieutenant R. V. Skellern, GRAD.N.Z.E.I., is appointed to a permanent commission with effect from 2 March 1973.

#### Promotions

Signals Division

Pilot Officer A. M. Gill, N.Z.C.E., to be Flying Officer with

seniority and effect from 4 April 1973.

Pilot Officer K. R. Dixon, N.Z.C.E., to be Flying Officer with seniority and effect from 4 April 1973.

#### Transfer to Reserve

Signals Division

Flight Lieutenant John Henry Hardwick is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of 4 years, with effect from 4 January 1973.

## Transfer to Retired List

Armament Division

Wing Commander James William Borlase is transferred to the Retired List "A" with effect from 1 March 1973.

# ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH Appointment

Supply Division

Flying Officer D. J. Maguire to be temp. Flight Lieutenant with effect from 12 February 1973.

#### Promotion

Special Duties Division

Flying Officer G. White to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 7 April 1973.

# Extension of Commission

Secretarial Division

The short-service commission of Flight Lieutenant H. C. Richardson is extended to 13 December 1978.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement Supply Division

The commission and age for retirement of Squadron Leader E. J. Brown, B.E.M., A.N.Z.I.M., are extended until 24 July 1975.

# Transfer to Reserve

Special Duties Division

Flying Officer John Edward Baker is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of 4 years, with effect from 7 December 1972.

## Transfer to Retired List

Secretarial Division

Squadron Leader Lawrence Dryden Turner, A.C.A., is transferred to the Retired List "A", in the rank of Squadron Leader, with effect from 23 March 1973.

# Women's Royal N.Z. Air Force

Promotions

Acting Section Officer V. M. Hammond to be Section Officer with seniority and effect from 4 April 1973.

Acting Section Officer H. J. Tapsell to be Section Officer

with seniority and effect from 4 April 1973.