X85650 Gordon Charles Alexander. K85661 Warwick Robert Bell. X85765 Stephen Geoffrey Bone. L85662 Bretton Paris Cunningham. A85652 Malcolm Clive Fort. S84771 Richard Stewart Ginders. A85767 Antony Bamber Schmidt.

T85324 Lindsay James Smith.

The following Officer Cadets are appointed to short-service commissions for a period of 8 years, in the rank of Acting Pilot Officer, with effect from 16 March 1973, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers:

Y85651 Eric Raymond Allison.

G85704 Gregory Lawrence Patrick Berry. N85664 Michael Joseph Cassidy. Q85712 Ross Alexander Hyndman. S85323 Peter Allan Palmer.

U85808 Allan Elvery Pond. R85667 Wallace Rhys Potts.

P85665 Kevin James Rangi. S85668 Peter James Stockwell.

/85809 Russell Bruce Wignall. R85666 Alan Craig Williams.

#### Promotion

Flying Officer D. A. Griffith to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 19 February 1973.

#### Transfers to Reserve

Squadron Leader Gerrard Clive Brown, A.F.C., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 31 January 1977, with effect from 27 March 1973. Flight Lieutenant Trevor Harvey Jones is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of 4 years,

with effect from 6 February 1973.

#### TECHNICAL BRANCH

A ppointments

## Engineer Division

Flight Lieutenant J. G. Pratt, A.F.R.Ae.S., to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 27 March 1973. Flight Lieutenant R. A. Keown, B.E. (ELECT.), to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 12 April 1973.

Promotions

# **Engineer** Division

Flying Officer (temp. Flight Lieutenant) K. G. Kent, N.Z.C.E., to be flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 9 April 1973.

# Signals Division

Flying Officer (temp. Flight Lieutenant) I. M. C. Howie, GRAD.N.Z.E.I., N.Z.C.E., to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 9 April 1973. Flying Officer (temp. Flight Lieutenant) G. W. Blue, GRAD.N.Z.E.I., N.Z.C.E., to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 9 April 1973.

# Transfers to Reserve

**Engineer** Division

Flight Lieutenant Herbert Desmond Farrell is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 2 November 1976, with effect from 8 November 1972.

Armament Division

Squadron Leader George Harold Crosby is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers with effect from 21 February 1973.

# Administrative and Supply Branch

# A ppointment

Supply Division

Squadron Leader Gerald Thompson, B.A. (HONS.), DIP.ED., to be temp. Wing Commander with effect from 2 April 1973.

#### Promotion

# Supply Division

Squadron Leader (temp. Wing Commander) Gerald Thompson, B.A. (HONS.), DIP.ED., to be Wing Commander with seniority and effect from 16 April 1973.

## Transfer to Retired List

Supply Division

Wing Commander Derek Olsen Turner, A.C.A., A.C. A.C.C.S., A.N.Z.I.M., is transferred to the Retired List with effect from 17 March 1973. A.C.I.S., ist "A"

# **RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS**

Retirements

The following officers are retired with effect from the dates shown:

Squadron Leader James Norman Ritchie, 27 March 1973. Flight Lieutenant Clifford Kendall Say, 29 March 1973. Flight Lieutenant Raymond John Howell, 23 March 1973. Flight Lieutenant Bernard Ian Frederick Hall, M.B.E., B.A., B.SC., 28 March 1973.

Flying Officer James William Charles McArthur, 4 April 1973

Dated at Wellington this 7th day of May 1973.

A. J. FAULKNER, Minister of Defence.

# Appointment of Queen's Counsel

His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council and with the concurrence of the Chief Justice of New Zealand, has been pleased to appoint

#### The Hon. Allan Martyn Finlay

Attorney-General of New Zealand, to be Queen's Counsel. Dated at Wellington this 30th day of April 1973.

NORMAN KIRK, Prime Minister.

# Clerk of the Executive Council Appointed

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Patrick Graham Millen

to be Clerk of the Executive Council, vice P. J. Brooks.

Appointment to date as on and from the 12th day of February 1973.

# NORMAN KIRK, Prime Minister.

Port Conciliation Committee for the Port of Greymouth Appointed

PURSUANT to the Waterfront Industry Act 1953, the Minister of Labour hereby appoints the following persons to be the Port Conciliation Committee for the Port of Greymouth for the term of 1 year expiring on 31 March 1974.

George William Todd, Chairman;

- Clifford Edmond Heaphy and Graeme Ashley Warnes (nominated by the New Zealand Port Employers' Associa-tion (Incorporated)); and John William Faulkner and Edward Albert Markland (nominated by the Greymouth Waterfront Workers' Industrial Union of Workers).

Dated at Wellington this 7th day of May 1973.

HUGH WATT, Minister of Labour.

Reappointing a Member and a Deputy Member of the Engineering Associates Registration Board

PURSUANT to section 3 of the Engineering Associates Registra-tion Act 1961, the Minister of Works hereby reappoints the following persons to be a member and deputy member of the Engineering Associates Registration Board:

Roy Frederick Leopold Neate, member, and Errol William Neale, his deputy, on the nomination of the New Zealand Electronics Institute (Incorporated).

Dated at Wellington this 11th day of May 1973.

HUGH WATT, Minister of Works.

(P.W. 28/417)

### Member of the Council of Legal Education Appointed

PURSUANT to the Law Practitioners Amendment Act 1961, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Ivor Lloyd Morgan Richardson, Esquire

a barrister of the Supreme Court of New Zealand, to be a member of the Council of Legal Education for a term expiring on the 30th day of May 1975.

Dated at Wellington this 6th day of April 1973.

A. M. FINLAY, Attorney-General.