ROYAL N.Z. ARMY ORDNANCE CORPS

1st Composite Ordnance Company, RNZAOC

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) P. R. Frater, B.C.A. (HONS.), is confirmed with effect from 16 February 1972.

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) D. W. Walsh is confirmed with effect from 1 March 1972.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ELECTRICAL AND MECHANICAL Engineers

1st Infantry Workshop, RNZEME

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) J. G. Hinton is confirmed with effect from 10 April 1971.

ROYAL N.Z. DENTAL CORPS

1st Mobile Dental Unit, RNZDC

Lieutenant D. M. A. Haszard, B.D.S., to be Captain with seniority and effect from 5 December 1972.

N.Z. ARMY LEGAL SERVICE

Captain (temp. Major) K. L. Johnston, LL.B., is re-engaged until 23 March 1975.

EXTRA REGIMENTAL EMPLOYMENT

Headquarters, 3rd Infantry Brigade Group

Colonel Edward Gale Latter, M.B.E., E.D., ithe Retired List with effect from 1 April 1973. is posted to

Headquarters, Force Maintenance Area

Captain Verdon John Chettleburgh, E.D., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Corps of Signals, in the rank of Captain, with effect from 22 March

1st Infantry Brigade Group Intelligence Platoon

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) David Stewart Kingston, RNZIR, lapses with effect from 31 December 1972.

RESERVE OF OFFICERS

General List

Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery

Lieutenant Bruce Roderick Frankham is posted to the Retired List with effect from 14 March 1973.

Lieutenant D. S. Marks: the notice published in the Gazette, 19 April 1973, No. 34, p. 782, is cancelled.

Lieutenant Christopher James O'Hara Tobin is posted to the Petined Liet with effect from 4 April 1973.

the Retired List with effect from 4 April 1973.

The Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers

Major Donald Clements Nichols, R.E.A., is posted to the Retired List with effect from 9 March 1973.

Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment

Lieutenant-Colonel Kenneth Hugh MacDonald, M.C.: with reference to the notice published in the Gazette, 1 March 1973, No. 15, p. 351, for "25 November 1972" substitute "25 November 1971".

Lieutenant P. W. Mahy: the notice published in the Gazette, 22 March 1973, No. 23, page 512, is cancelled and the following substituted:

"Lieutenant Peter Warrender Mahy, RNZIR, is transferred to the Territorial Force, 6th Battalion (Hauraki), RNZIR, with effect from 1 January 1973."

Royal N.Z. Electrical and Mechanical Engineers

Captain Ralph Naylor is posted to the Retired List with effect from 2 March 1973.

Retired List

Royal Infantry Regiment

Lieutenant Emerson Studholme Rangi is transferred to the Territorial Force, 6th Battalion (Hauraki), RNZIR, with effect from 1 February 1973.

Dated at Wellington this 25th day of May 1973.

A. J. FAULKNER, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointments

Wing Commander D. M. Crooks, O.B.E., to be temp. Group Captain with effect from 14 May 1973.

Squadron Leader J. S. Boys, A.F.C., to be Wing Commander with seniority and effect from 14 May 1973.

Flight Lieutenant G. R. Walsh to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 5 May 1973.

Flight Lieutenant G. Ayre to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 29 May 1973.

Transfer to Retired List

Wing Commander John Edward Wood, D.F.C., is transferred to the Retired List "A" in the rank of Wing Commander with effect from 12 April 1973.

TECHNICAL BRANCH

Promotion

Engineer Division

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) J. G. Pratt, A.F.R.Ae.S., to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 29 May 1973.

Transfer to Reserve

Signals Division

Squadron Leader Peter Stanley Stevens, C.ENG., A.F.R.Ae.S., A.M.I.E.R.E., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of 4 years, with effect from 12 April 1973.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Promotions

Secretarial Division

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) Carruthers, M.B.E., to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 29 May 1973.

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) D. H. Waghorn, B.E.M., A.N.Z.I.M., to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 29 May 1973.

Transfer to Reserve

Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant Colin Arthur Reeves, B.A., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 8 April 1977, with effect from 9 April 1973.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Extensions of Commissions

The commission of Flight Lieutenant N. Laurenson is extended until 31 March 1977.

The commission of Flying Officer R. L. Guthrie is extended until 24 August 1975.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

The commission and age for retirement of Chaplain W. T. Williamson are extended until 26 March 1977.

Transfer to Retired List

Squadron Leader Mafeking Baden Powell Pere, M.A., B.SC. (HONS.), is transferred from the General Reserve to the Retired List "B" with effect from 18 April 1973.

Retirements

The following officers are retired with effect from the dates shown:

Flight Lieutenant Cyril Patrick Towsey, D.F.C., MUS.B.,

LR.S.M., 2 May 1973.

Flight Lieutenant Leonard Mexted, 3 May 1973.

Flying Officer Arthur George Hoskins, 11 May 1973.

Flying Officer Allan Ralph Baynes, 5 May 1973.

Pilot Officer Ronald Melville Fechney, 6 May 1973.

Dated at Wellington this 25th day of May 1973.

A. J. FAULKNER, Minister of Defence.

Appointment of High Commissioner for New Zealand in Australia

His Excellency the Governor-General in Council has been pleased to appoint

Eric Primrose Chapman

to be High Commissioner for New Zealand in Australia under and for the purposes of the Foreign Affairs Act 1943, to hold the said office as on and from the 9th day of May 1973 and ending with the 8th day of May 1977.

Dated at Wellington this 28th day of May 1973.

NORMAN KIRK, Minister of Foreign Affairs.