Portions of Street at Greymouth Taken for the Purposes of the Midland Railway

PURSUANT to sections 32 and 216 of the Public Works Act 1928, the Minister of Railways hereby declares that, a sufficient agreement to that effect having been entered into, the land described in the Schedule hereto is hereby taken for the purposes of the Midland Railway from and after the 18th day of June 1973.

## **SCHEDULE**

WESTLAND LAND DISTRICT—GREYMOUTH BOROUGH

ALL that piece of land described as follows:

Being

0 1 25.6 (1659 m<sup>2</sup>) Part Mount Street.

Situated in Block XII, Greymouth Survey District.

As the same is more particularly delineated on the plan marked L.O. 21496 (S.O. 5280) deposited in the office of the Minister of Railways at Wellington, and thereon coloured green, edged green.

Dated at Wellington this 12th day of June 1973.

T. M. McGUIGAN, Minister of Railways.

(N.Z.R. L.O. 807/129) (2)

Cancellation of a Licence to Use Water for the Purpose of Generating Electricity

Pursuant to the Electricity Act 1968, the Minister of Electricity, with the consent of the licensee, hereby cancels a licence dated the 17th day of August 1955 authorising John Chartres, sheep farmer, to use water for the purpose of generating electricity. (Gazette, 18 August 1955, p. 1300.)

Dated at Wellington this 6th day of June 1973.

T. M. McGUIGAN, Minister of Electricity.

(N.Z.E.D. 11/20/129)

Cancellation of a Licence to Use Water for the Purpose of Generating Electricity

PURSUANT to the Electricity Act 1968, the Minister of Electricity, with the consent of the licensees, hereby cancels a licence dated the 10th day of February 1960 authorising John Henry Crockford and Mary Elizabeth Crockford, sheep farmers, to use water for the purpose of generating electricity. (Gazette, 18 February 1960, p. 187.)

Dated at Wellington this 5th day of June 1973.

T. M. McGUIGAN, Minister of Electricity.

(N.Z.E.D. 11/20/2978)

## Birthday Honours List 1973

His Excellency the Governor-General has announced that The Queen has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the celebration of Her Majesty's Birthday, to confer the following honours-

CIVIL DIVISION

Knight Commander of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George (K.C.M.G.):

Professor Albert William Liley, C.M.G., of Auckland. Mr Alister Donald McIntosh, C.M.G., of Wellington.

Knight Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (K.B.E.):

Mr George Charles Hart, B.E.M., of Auckland.

Dame Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (D.B.E.):

Sister Mary Leo (Miss Kathleen Agnes Niccol), M.B.E., of Auckland.

Companion of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George (C.M.G.):

The Very Reverend Dr Ian Watson Fraser, of Wellington. Mr John Anthony James, of Wellington. Professor Neville Crompton Phillips, of Christchurch.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.): Assistant Commissioner Kennedy Berclay Burnside, of

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.):

The Honourable Norman Leslie Shelton, of Marton. Mr Richard Spence Volkmann Simpson, of Lower Hutt. Mr Valdemar Reid Skellerup, of Christchurch.

Wellington.

Mr Frank Chilton, of Christchurch.

Mr Frank Chilton, of Christchurch.
Reverend Father Francis James Green, of Waihi.
Mr Reginald Jones, of Christchurch.
Mr Roderick Athelstane Keir, of Auckland.
Mrs Jeanie Eleanor Kirk-Burnnand, of Dunedin.
Mr Frederic McCarthy, S.M., of Auckland.
Mr Ritchie Macdonald, of Auckland.
Mr George Thomas Matthew, of Wellington.
Mrs Doris Turner Nicholson, of Heretaunga.
Mrs Kiri Janette Park (née Te Kanawa), resident in England. England.

Mr Albert Henry Thomas Rose, of Christchurch. Professor James Lawrence Wright, of Dunedin.

Companion of the Imperial Service Order (I.S.O.):

Mr Joseph William Allen, of Petone.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.):

Miss Alice Rosina Berridge, of Auckland. Mr Keith Wilbur Blackmore, of Alexandra. Lieutenant-Colonel (Miss) Viola Emily

Blincoe, of

Heretaunga.

Mrs Mary Wharton Christian, of Tauranga.

Mr Leslie Jonathan Fairbrother, of Carterton.

Mrs Catherine May Garland, of Dunedin.

Mr George Glassey, of Ashburton.
Mr Rudall Charles Victor Hayward, of Auckland.
Mrs Rangimarie Taheka Hetet, of Te Kuiti.
Mr John Stanley Hunt, of Albert Town, Cromwell.
Dr Victor David Morrow Jacobson, of Havelock, Marlborough.

borough.

Mr James Noel Laird, of Hawera.

Mr Keith Charles Malcolm, of Palmerston North.

Mr Leslie Roy Mills, of Auckland.

Miss Agnes Annabel Grace Morgan, of Wellington.

Mr George Stanley O'Keefe, of Westport.

Mr John Billington Hayes Parry, of Auckland.

Mr Herbert Robinson Peers, of Christchurch.

Mrs Mana Rangi, of Tiki Tiki.

Mr William Antony Reed, of Nelson.

Mr Harold Harding Richmond of Dunedin.

Mr Harold Harding Richmond, of Dunedin.
Mr Allan George Scott, of Morrinsville.
Miss Mavis Betty Evelyn Treloar, of Otatara, Invercargill.
Mr Albert Veart, M.C., m.i.d., of Auckland.
Mr George Hector Walker, of Lower Hutt.
Mr Joseph Victor Wallis, of Napier.
Mr James Richard Whitford, of Christchurch.

British Empire Medal (B.E.M.):

Mrs Leila Genevra Bassett, of Motueka

Miss Clarice Gledhill Chivers, of New Plymouth.
Miss Margaret Cooper, of Auckland.
Mr Joseph Fahey, of Lawrence.

Mr Robert Bruce Frankham, of Hamilton.

Mr James Craigie Glass, of Timaru.
Mrs Margaret Mary Hall, of Fox Glacier.
Mr Geoffrey Lawrence Hocquard, of Riverlands, Blenheim.
Mr George Allan Wilton Keast, of Mangatainoka, Pahiatua.
Miss Jocelyn Edna Pamela Looker, of Hamilton.
Mr James Smith, of Port Charles, Coromandel.
Miss Jean Ann Smith, of Clarkville, Kaiapoi.
Miss Flizabeth Stirson of Christchurch

Miss Elizabeth Stinson, of Christchurch.

## MILITARY DIVISION

Companion of the Most Honourable Order of the Bath (C.B.): Major-General Leslie Arthur Pearce, CB.E., of Lower Hutt. Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.):

Air Commodore Richard Bruce Bolt, D.F.C., A.F.C., of Wellington.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.):

Commander Ronald Fletcher Faber, v.R.D., Royal New Zealand Naval Volunteer Reserve, of Auckland.
Temporary Colonel Ralph Kenneth Grey Porter, Royal New Zealand Artillery (Regular Force), of Wellington.
Group Captain Keith Rex Orsborn, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Tawa.