## 6th Battalion (Hauraki), RNZIR

Lieutenant Peter Warrender Mahy is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regi-ment, in the rank of Lieutenant with effect from 1 May 1973. 7th Battalion (Wellington (City of Wellington's Own) and Hawke's Bay), RNZIR

Captain (temp. Major) A. O. Bloomfield, E.D., to be Major, with seniority and effect from 5 May 1973. Captain Charles Peter Monod is posted to the Retired List with effect from 1 May 1973.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY SERVICE CORPS

1st Army Air Supply Organisation, RNZASC

Lieutenant Philip Michael Smith is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Army Service Corps, in the rank of Lieutenant, with effect from 16 February 1973.

5th Transport Company, RNZASC

Captain (temp. Major) S. T. Foster to be Major with seniority and effect from 5 May 1973.

6th Transport Platoon (Motor Ambulance), RNZASC

Lieutenant P. W. Broadbent to be temp. Captain with effect from 22 May 1973.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY MEDICAL CORPS

Otago University Medical Company, RNZAMC

2nd Lieutenant (*temp.* Lieutenant) O. B. Wright to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 1 August 1972. 2nd Lieutenant L. G. Knight, B.SC., to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 1 January 1973. The following officers are transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers (Medical Branch), in the rank of Flying Officer, with effect from the dates shown:

Lieutenant Maurice Stuart Carson Jolly, M.B., CH.B., 7 June 1973.

Lieutenant Roland John Wilson, M.B., CH.B., 15 June 1973.

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) Alan Scott Clanachan, B.Sc., lapses with effect from 31 December 1972. The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) Kenneth Raymond Thurston lapses with effect from 7 May 1973.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ELECTRICAL AND MECHANICAL ENGINEERS

3rd Infantry Workshop, RNZEME

William Stanley Whall is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 13 February 1973, next below 2nd Lieutenant P. H. May, RNZEME.

## ROYAL N.Z. DENTAL CORPS

Major Michael John Hollis, B.D.S., is transferred to the

Major Michael John Hollis, B.D.S., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Dental Corps, in the rank of Major, with effect from 1 May 1973. Lieutenant Robin Wendell Evans, B.D.S. (Otago University Medical Company, RNZAMC), resigns his commission with effect from 31 March (1973.

ROYAL N.Z. CHAPLAINS' DEPARTMENT

Chaplain 4th Class J. M. Harford (Church of England), is transferred to the Regular Force with effect from 4 July 1973.

ROYAL N.Z. NURSING CORPS

Sister Avril Esther Double resigns her commission with effect from 1 June 1973.

EXTRA REGIMENTAL EMPLOYMENT

Headquarters, 1st Infantry Brigade Group

Lieutenant Colonel E. J. Valintine, E.D., to be Colonel with seniority and effect from 15 June 1973.

Headquarters, 3rd Infantry Brigade Group

Lieutenant Roger Frank Mahan is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, Regimental List, 3rd Independent Field Squadron, RNZE, in his present rank and seniority, with effect from 14 June 1973.

## **RESERVE OF OFFICERS**

## Regimental List

3rd Battalion (Auckland (Countess of Ranfurly's Own) and Northland), RNZIR

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) Peter Joughin Hawley is trans-ferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment, in the rank of Captain, with effect from 1 May 1973.

1st Mobile Dental Unit, RNZDC

Captain John Stevenson Howie, B.D.S. (N.Z.), F.D.S.R.C.S. (EDIN.), is posted to the Retired List with effect from 29 June 1973.

## General List

Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery

Lieutenant George Ernest Chapman is posted to the Retired List with effect from 12 June 1973.

Roval N.Z. Infantry Regiment

Lieutenant Paul Benedict Pollard is posted to the Retired

Lieutenant Faul Benedict Pollard is posted to the Retired List with effect from 27 May 1973. Lieutenant (*temp.* Captain) Martin Hugh Devlin is trans-ferred to the Territorial Force with effect from 1 May 1973. Lieutenant (*acting* Captain) John Philip Crisp is trans-ferred to the Territorial Force with effect from 20 May 1973.

1973 Royal N.Z. Army Medical Corps

Captain Alec Jardine Sinclair, M.B., CH.B., is posted to the Retired List with effect from 26 April 1973.

The Corps of Royal N.Z. Electrical and Mechanical Engineers Major John Norman Staines is posted to the Retired List with effect from 9 August 1972.

N.Z. Women's Royal Army Corps

Captain Joan May Burn, M.B.E., is posted to the Retired List with effect from 31 May 1973.

Dated at Wellington this 25th day of July 1973.

A. J. FAULKNER, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:

# **REGULAR AIR FORCE**

## GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

## **Appointments**

Appointments Flight Lieutenant (Acting Squadron Leader) R. Turner to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 8 June 1973. R803566 Master Air Electronics Operator Victor Edward Elliott is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 5 years, in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 9 April 1973, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers. J80393 Sergeant Mark Lewis McGeorge is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 8 years, in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 9 April 1973, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers. Officers.

## Transfer to Reserve

Group Captain Sidney Maxwell Hope, M.B.E., A.F.C., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period to expire on 21 May 1974, with effect from 1 June 1973.

#### Transfer to Retired List

Air Commodore John James McDowell, M.B.E., F.AUST.I.M., is transferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 31 March 1973.

### **TECHNICAL BRANCH**

### **Appointments**

Engineer Division

Y75002 Warrant Officer Howard William Annan is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 5 years, in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 9 April 1973, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers. T73088 Warrant Officer Patrick Christopher Rice, M.B.E., is experied to a short-service commission for a period of

is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 3 years, in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 9 April 1973, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers. A80362 Sergeant Murray Paul Smith is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 8 years, in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 9 April 1973, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Officers,