J82670 Corporal Ian Paul Wightman is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 7 years, in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 9 April 1973, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Signals Division

H79748 Sergeant Maurice Walter Ford is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 8 years, in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 9 April 1973, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers

R83252 Corporal Martin William Passfield is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 7 years, in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 9 April 1973, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Armament Division

V79921 Corporal Kevin Anthony O'Brien is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 8 years, in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 9 April 1973, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Promotion

Engineer Division

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) G. St.A. Murray. GRAD.R.Ae.S., to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 22 June 1973.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement Engineer Division

The commission and age for retirement of Squadron Leader L. W. Tarr, B.E.M., are extended until 18 May 1976.

Transfer to Retired List

Engineer Division

Wing Commander Neville Haig McDonald, B.E.M., is transferred to the Retired List "A" with effect from 26 July 1973.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Appointments

Secretarial Division

Flying Officer C. C. Eyles to be temp. Flight Lieutenant with effect from 25 June 1973.

K552883 Flight Sergeant Brian Milton Frank is appointed

to a short-service commission for a period of 8 years, in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 9 April 1973, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Y81994 Corporal Patrick John Lynch is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 5 years, in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 9 April 1973, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Supply Division

Flight Lieutenant W. H. O'Byrne, B.E.M., to be acting Squadron Leader with effect from 8 June 1973, and temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 18 June 1973.

Flying Officer H. L. Webb to be temp. Flight Lieutenant with effect from 1 June 1973.

P78374 Sergeant Arthur Leslie Meikle is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 5 years, in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 9 April 1973, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Special Duties Division

F73168 Temporary Warrant Officer Geoffrey Harry Pound is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 6 years, in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 9 April 1973, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

A817995 Sidney Frederick Teague is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 5 years, in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 9 April 1973, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers

Officers

Q935056 James Baird Anderson is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 5 years, in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority from 9 April 1972, and effect from 9 April 1973, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Promotion

Secretarial Division

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) J. Hammond, A.C.I.S., A.N.Z.I.M., to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 24 June 1973.

Transfers to Reserve

Secretarial Division

Squadron Leader R. L. Sutton: with reference to the notice published in the Gazette, 11 January 1973, No. 1, p. 6, for the date "30 June 1976" substitute "24 August 1976". Squadron Leader John Mervyn Hayward is transferred to

squartin Leader John Mervyn Hayward is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of 4 years with effect from 1 May 1973.

Flight Lieutenant James Nevan Craig Wright, B.COM., A.N.Z.I.M., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 2 August 1983 with effect from 5 June 1973.

Supply Division

Wing Commander Ronald Frank Albert Thrush, B.Sc., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period to terminate on 20 November 1976 with effect from 16 April

CHAPLAINS' BRANCH

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

The short-service commission and age for retirement of the Reverend B. B. O'Gorman (Roman Catholic) are extended until 15 January 1974, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Women's Royal New Zealand Air Force

A prointments

U84244 Temporary Corporal (W) Caroline Mary Price is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 3 years, in the rank of Assistant Section Officer, with seniority and effect from 9 April 1973.

F84829 Temporary Corporal (W) Patricia Lynne Row is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 3 years, in the rank of Assistant Section Officer, with seniority and effect from 9 April 1973.

D84873 Aircraftwoman Susan Lilian Sutton is appointed

to a short-service commission for a period of 3 years, in the rank of Assistant Section Officer, with seniority and effect from 9 April 1973.

TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Transfers to Retired List

Special Duties Division

Group Captain John Fletcher Gabites, M.SC., SC.D., F.R.S.N.Z., F.INST.P., is transferred to the Retired List "B" with effect from 5 July 1973. with effect

Squadron Leader Laurence Norman Larsen, B.Sc., is transferred to the Retired List "B" with effect from 9 July 1973.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Appointments

The following officers, from the Otago University Medical Company, RNZAMC, are appointed to short-service commissions in the rank of Flying Officer for a period of 5 years, with seniority and effect from the dates shown:

Lieutenant Maurice Stuart Carson Jolly, M.B., CH.B., 7 June 1973.

Lieutenant Roland John Wilson, M.B., CH.B., 15 June 1973.

Transfer

Squadron Leader L. G. Young is transferred from the Active Reserve to the General Reserve until 26 June 1987 with effect from 1 July 1973.

Retirements

The following officers are retired with effect from the dates shown:

Squadron Leader Freeman Jesse Steel, p.F.c., 7 July 1973. Flight Lieutenant Dawson Joseph Cunningham, 7 July Flight Lieutenant Dawson Joseph Cunningham,

Flight Lieutenant Dennis Mervyn Dudley Brown, D.F.C., 25 June 1973.

Flight Lieutenant Henry Timothy Cosgrave, 13 February

Flying Officer Murray William Crawford, 8 January 1973. Flying Officer Stephen John Cotton, 8 April 1970, on being appointed to a permanent commission in the Royal Air

Dated at Wellington this 25th day of July 1973.

A. J. FAULKNER, Minister of Defence.