Lieutenant I. H. Dunhill to be Lieutenant Commander with seniority and effect from 29 May 1973.

Lieutenant C. J. Olliver, C.ENG., M.I.MAR.E., M.N.Z.I.E., to be Lieutenant Commander with seniority and effect from 1 Tune 1973

I June 1973.

Surgeon Lieutenant Maxwell Roy Chalmers, M.B., CH.B., is transferred to the Emergency List of the RNZNVR with effect from 1 July 1973.

Sub Lieutenant (E) W. E. Gilray, V.R.D., A.M.I.E.D.(LOND.), A.N.Z.I.M., M.N.Z.I.D., to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 23 June 1973.

EMERGENCY LIST OF THE ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVY

Instructor Lieutenant Commander P. Turpie, B.SC.(ENG.), DIP.ED., is reappointed to the Active List of the RNZN with effect from 16 July 1973.

Heather on the Emergency List of the RNZN is terminated with effect from 6 April 1973.

The period of service of Lieutenant William Timothy Clyde Heather on the Emergency List of the RNZN is terminated with effect from 6 April 1973.

The period of service of Lieutenant Neville Henry Brandon on the Emergency List of the RNZN is terminated with effect from 17 July 1973.

Dated at Wellington this 10th day of August 1973.

A. J. FAULKNER, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air

# REGULAR AIR FORCE GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

#### Appointment

Squadron Leader Henry John Moffat, from the Royal Air Force, is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 3 years, in the rank of Squadron Leader, with seniority and effect from 25 June 1973.

# **Promotions**

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) K. A. Gayfer to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 1 August 1973.

Flight Lieutenant D. T. Lacey to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 2 August 1973.

### Transfer to Reserve

Flight Lieutenant James Jopp Feehly is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of 4 years with effect from 5 May 1973.

Flight Lieutenant James Jopp Feehly is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers from 1975.

Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of 4 years with effect from 1 July 1973.

## TECHNICAL BRANCH

### Promotion

Engineer Division

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) D. I. Lamason to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 4 August 1973.

### Adjustment of Seniority

Engineer Division

The seniority of Flight Lieutenant D. J. Dilks, B.E. (HONS.), N.Z.C.E., GRAD.N.Z.E.I., is antedated to 14 June 1971.

Transfer to Reserve

**Engineer Division** 

Flight Lieutenant Donald Herman Webb, M.N.Z.E.I., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of 4 years with effect from 7 July 1973.

## ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

### Transfer to Reserve

Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant Milton James Everson is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of 4 years with effect from 6 July 1973.

# Transfer to Retired List

## Secretarial Division

Wing Commander Robert John Whyte, A.C.A., is transferred to the Retired List "A" with effect from 28 July 1973.

## **EDUCATION BRANCH**

### A ppointment

Terence Francis is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 5 years, in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority from 9 July 1972 and effect from 9 July 1973, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

### RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

### Extensions of Commissions

The commission of Flight Lieutenant A. G. McLean is extended until 10 January 1977.

The commission of Flight Lieutenant D. C. Swears is extended until 7 June 1977.

#### Transfer

Flight Lieutenant P. B. Dawson is transferred from the Active Reserve to the General Reserve for a period of 4 years with effect from 9 July 1973.

#### Retirements

Flight Lieutenant Alistair Gordon McLean: the notice published in the Gazette, 15 March 1973, No. 21, p. 475, cancelled.

The following officers are retired with effect from the dates shown:

Flight Lieutenant Ian Montgomery, 19 July 1973. Flight Lieutenant William Fleming, 29 July 1973. Flying Officer Sidney William Richards, 11 July 1973. Flying Officer Cecil Frank Hawker, 21 July 1973.

Dated at Wellington this 10th day of August 1973.

A. J. FAULKNER, Minister of Defence.

Appointment of Member to Manginangina Scenic Board

PURSUANT to the Reserves and Domains Act 1953, the Minister of Lands hereby appoints

#### Terrence Howard Saward

to be a member of the Manginangina Scenic Board, North Auckland Land District, in place of Alan Thomas Wightman, resigned.

Dated at Wellington this 10th day of August 1973.

A. J. FAULKNER, for Minister of Lands.

(L. and S. H.O. 4/750; D.O. 13/94)

Members of Radiological Advisory Council Appointed

PURSUANT to the Radiation Protection Act 1965, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Antony Malcolm Goldstein, M.B., B.S., M.R.C.S., L.R.C.P.,

D.M.R.T., R.C.S., F.F.R.;
Peter John Hurley, M.B., CH.B.;
Kendall Maurice Mayo, M.B., CH.B., D.M.R.D., R.C.P., R.C.S., M.C.R.A.;

Thomas Athol Rafter, D.SC.; Donald William Urquhart, M.B., CH.B., D.D.R., D.T.R., F.C.R.A.;

Herbert Jack Yeabsley, M.Sc.,

to be members of the Radiological Advisory Council for a period of 5 years from the 1st day of September 1973. Dated at Wellington this 14th day of August 1973.

R. J. TIZARD, Minister of Health.

Appointment of a Member of the Timber Preservation Authority

PURSUANT to the Timber Preservation Regulations 1955, the Minister of Forests hereby appoints

Douglas Ian Gribben (an officer of the Department of Trade and Industry)

to be a member of the Timber Preservation Authority.

Dated at Wellington this 9th day of August 1973.

BASIL ARTHUR, Minister of Forests.