Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air

# REGULAR AIR FORCE

#### GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

#### Appointment

Squadron Leader G. A. Parkinson, A.N.Z.I.M. to be temp. Wing Commander, with effect from 27 August 1973.

Flight Lieutenant T. H. J. Knight to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 23 August 1973.

Acting Pilot Officer C. A. H. Millen to be Pilot Officer with seniority from 22 September 1972 and effect from 30 March

Acting Pilot Officer C. M. Rippey to be Flying Officer with seniority from 30 December 1972 and effect from 30 March 1973.

Acting Pilot Officer D. A. Heather to be Flying Officer with seniority and effect from 30 March 1973.

The following Acting Pilot Officers to be Pilot Officers with seniority and effect from 30 March 1973:

Bruce Russell Clark, Ian George Clements, Alan Warren Deal, Philip Clifford Jones, James Bernard McMillan, Richard James Newlands, David James Riddler, Gregory David Taylor.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

The commission and age for retirement of Squadron Leader A. R. Bleakley are extended until 15 October 1976.

### Transfers to Reserve

Squadron Leader Norman John Atkins, B.A., DIP.TCHG., A.N.Z.I.M., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of 4 years, with effect from 10 April 1973.

Flight Lieutenant John Murray Denton is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of 4 years, with effect from 9 February 1973.

Flight Lieutenant Geoffrey Kenyon Caton Ogilvie is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of 4 years, with effect from 3 July 1973.

Flight Lieutenant Ian Bruce Pirie is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of 4 years with effect from 27 June 1973.

# ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

### Appointments

# Secretarial Division

Flight Lieutenant Harold McCone, from the Royal Air Force, is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 5 years, in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority from 5 March 1971 and effect from 5 March 1973, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

# Special Duties Division

Peter George Donnelly, M.SC., PH.D(PSYCH.) (CANADA), is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 5 years in the rank of Squadron Leader, with seniority and effect from 2 July 1973.

Allan Frank Harold Baker, B.SC.(HONS.) (PSYCH.) is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 5 years, in the rank of Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 5 June 1973, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

# Promotion

### Supply Division

Flying Officer B. McK. Garnett to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 2 September 1973.

## Adjustment of Seniority

## Special Duties Division

The seniority of Flight Lieutenant P. J. Amodeo is adjusted to 15 March 1971.

### Retirement

### Special Duties Division

Squadron Leader Vernon Sampson Liddicoat is retired with effect from 11 May 1973.

#### TECHNICAL BRANCH

#### Reversion

## Signals Division

Squadron Leader (acting Wing Commander) J. B. Noonan relinquishes the acting rank of Wing Commander with effect from 9 August 1973.

### Transfer to Retired List

### Signals Division

Squadron Leader William Thomas Saunders, M.B.E., is transferred to the Retired List "A" with effect from 7 August

# EDUCATION BRANCH

### Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

The short-service commission and age for retirement of Flight Lieutenant A. Pickersgill, H.N.C., A.M.N.Z.I.D., are extended until 12 January 1979, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

### Women's Royal N.Z. Air Force

Section Officer M. M. Gestro to be Flight Officer with seniority and effect from 2 September 1973.

### TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

### ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

#### **Promotions**

# Special Duties Division

Flying Officer J. W. Hannaford to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 9 July 1973.

Flying Officer H. A. M. Naber to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 9 July 1973.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement Special Duties Division

The commission and age for retirement of Flight Lieutenant D. C. Boroughs are extended until 18 August 1978, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

# RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

#### Appointment

Lieutenant Ian Robert Lange, M.B., Ch.B., from the Otago University Medical Company, RNZAMC, is appointed to a short-service commission in the rank of Flying Officer for a period of 5 years with seniority and effect from 20 August 1973.

## **Promotion**

Flight Lieutenant J. H. Henderson, M.B., CH.B., D.O., R.C.P. (LOND.) and R.C.S. (ENG.), F.R.C.S. (EDIN.), to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 4 January 1971.

# Extension of Commission

The commission of Flight Lieutenant M. A. Menzies is extended until 12 August 1977.

# Transfer

Flying Officer Peter Wynn Joll is transferred from the Active Reserve to the General Reserve for a period of 4 years, with effect from 15 March 1973.

### Retirements

The following officers are retired with effect from the dates shown:

Squadron Leader Arthur Ross Cunnold Jackson, 22 August

Flight Lieutenant Bernard Leo Macedo, LL.B., 6 August 1973. Flight Lieutenant James Himiona Wetere, D.F.C., 16 August

Flight Lieutenant Herbert James Dalzell, D.F.M., 31 July 1973.

Flight Lieutenant Arthur Tompkins, 31 August 1973. Flight Lieutenant Ronald James Nelson, F.INST.W.S.P.(F), A.N.Z.I.M., 5 July 1973.

Flight Lieutenant Uwe Jens Sobiecki, 15 August 1973.

Dated at Wellington this 4th day of September 1973.

A. J. FAULKNER, Minister of Defence.

# Appointment of Honorary Danish Consul at Dunedin

His Excellency the Governor-General directs it to be notified that the appointment of

### Mr Stuart Campbell Scott

as Honorary Consul for Denmark, at Dunedin, has been recognised.

Dated at Wellington this 5th day of September 1973. NORMAN KIRK, Minister of Foreign Affairs.