Directing the Sale of Land in Block XIV, East Taieri Survey District, Taieri County

DENIS BLUNDELL, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 17th day of September 1973

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to the Public Works Act 1928, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby directs the sale of the land described in the Schedule hereto, such land being no longer required for the purpose for which it was acquired, and hereby concurs in the sale of such land on deferred payments extending over a period not exceeding 5 years and on such terms and conditions as the Taieri County Council may determine.

SCHEDULE

OTAGO LAND DISTRICT

ALL that piece of land containing 22 acres 2 roods 17.7 perches situated in Block XIV, East Taieri Survey District, being part Sections 5 and 6. All certificate of title, Volume 353, folio 229, Otago Land Registry.

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council. (P.W. 54/775; Dn. D.O. 18/300/38, 20/196/2)

Union of Opotiki Borough and Opotiki County

DENIS BLUNDELL, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government Buildings at Wellington this 24th day of September 1973

Present:

THE HON. H. WATT PRESIDING IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to the Local Government Commission Act 1967, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

ORDER

1. This order shall come into effect on 1 October 1973. 2. The districts of the County of Opotiki and the Borough of Opotiki shall be united to form one county under the name of the "County of Opotiki" (hereinafter called "the said county").

3. The Council of the Borough of Opotiki is hereby dissolved.

4. For the purpose of representation only, the said county shall be divided into seven ridings with the following names and boundaries

- (a) Cape Riding, comprising the Cape Riding of the former County of Opotiki.
- (b) Coast Riding, comprising the Coast Riding of the former County of Opotiki.
- (c) Otara Riding, comprising the Otara Riding of the former County of Opotiki.
- (d) Waioeka Riding, comprising the Waioeka Riding of the former County of Opotiki.
- (e) Waiotahi Riding, comprising the Waiotahi Riding of the former County of Opotiki.
- (f) Ohiwa Riding, comprising the Ohiwa Riding of the former County of Opotiki.
- (g) Opotiki Riding, comprising the area contained in the district of the former Borough of Opotiki.

5. Until the members of the council of the said county to be elected at the 1974 triennial general election come into office, the council of the said county shall consist of 13 members with representation as follows:

Cape Riding		l member
Coast Riding	 	member
Otara Riding		member
Waioeka Riding		2 members
Waiotahi Riding		2 members
Ohiwa Riding		l member
Opotiki Riding	 	5 members

6. Until the 1974 triennial general elections the council of the said county shall consist of 13 members as follows:

(a) The eight present members of the Opotiki County Council; and

(b) Five members of the former Opotiki Borough Council, to be chosen by that council to represent the Opotiki Riding, and for the purpose of making that choice, and for no other purpose, the said borough council shall, if necessary, continue in office after the date of the union hereby effected.

7. The Opotiki Riding of the said county shall be a county borough, having the name of "Opotiki", and the provisions of the Counties Act 1956 shall apply in all respects as if the said county borough had been constituted under section 68 of the Counties Amendment Act 1968.

8. Until the first triennial general election of councillors after the said union, the members of the Opotiki County Borough Council shall be the Mayor and councillors of the former Borough of Opotiki.

9. Except as otherwise provided herein or in the Local Government Commission Act 1967, the provisions of the Counties Act 1956 shall, with the necessary modifications and so far as they are applicable, apply to the union hereby effected as if the Borough of Opotiki were a town district to which section 28 of the Counties Act 1956 applies.

10. The following special fund accounts of the former Opotiki Borough Council shall be used for the purpose for which they were established by that Council and shall be renamed as follows:

(a) The Mayor's Relief Fund shall be named the Opotiki County Borough Chairman's Relief Fund.

(b) The Mayor's Flood Relief Fund shall be named the Opotiki County Borough Chairman's Flood Relief Fund.

11. (a) The system of rating shall be on the basis of the unimproved or land values, as the case may be.

(b) Until such time as a revised valuation of the said county shall come into effect the provisions of the Rating Act 1967 shall, where applicable, and with the necessary modifications, apply to the said county as if for the purposes of Part IX of the said Act the said county were a "special purpose authority" and as if the district of the former county and the district of the former borough prior to union were "constituent districts" within the provisions of the said Act.

12. So far as they are applicable and with the necessary modifications, the provisions of section 99A of the Land Transfer Act 1952 shall apply to the union hereby effected.

13. All the valuation rolls, electors' lists, electors' rolls, and ratebooks in force in the former borough at the date of union shall continue in force and be deemed to be the valuation rolls, electors' lists, electors' rolls, and ratebooks in force in the Opotiki Riding and the Opotiki County Borough, as prescribed herein, until new valuation rolls, electors' lists, electors' rolls, and ratebooks are made for the said riding and county borough.

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council. (I.A. 103/5/279)

Exempting Land in the Taranaki Land District From the Operations of Part III of the Coal Mines Act 1925

DENIS BLUNDELL, Governor-General

PURSUANT to section 171 of the Coal Mines Act 1925, I, Sir Edward Denis Blundell, the Governor-General of New Zealand, do hereby exempt the land described in the Schedule hereto from the operation of Part III of the said Act.

SCHEDULE

TARANAKI LAND DISTRICT-TAUMARUNUI COUNTY

PARTS Section 2 and 19, Block IX, Ohura Survey District, containing 3.0757 hectares, more or less S.O. Plans 8017, 8176, and 7904.

Save and excepting for Her Majesty the Queen all seams or beds of coal and all other minerals and metals, and reserving to Her Majesty the Queen and all persons legally entitled to work the said coal, minerals, and metals, a right of instruct correct and access under the said lead of of ingress, egress, and regress under the said land.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General this 30th day of August 1973.

F. M. COLMAN, Minister of Mines.

(Mines 11/47/15-1)