Lindsay McLean Smith, 102558, AB, to be Ensign, with seniority and effect from 14 January 1974, and is appointed to the RNZNVR List 1 until 8 September 1998.

John Andrew Moir, 102448, AB, to be Ensign with seniority and effect from 14 January 1974, and is appointed to the RNZNVR List 1 until 18 August 1998.

THE EMERGENCY LIST OF THE ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVAL VOLUNTEER RESERVE

Lieutenant Commander John Cooper Treadwell, V.R.D., A.C.A., A.R.A.N.Z., is placed on the Retired List of the RNZNVR with effect from 12 October 1973.

Dated at Wellington this 3rd day of February 1974.

A. J. FAULKNER, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resigna-tions, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army:

REGULAR FORCE

GENERALS' LIST

Major-General Leslie Arthur Pearce, C.B., C.B.E., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment, in the rank of Major-General, with effect from 21 December 1973.

ROYAL REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY

Major (temp. Lieutenant-Colonel) Alan Ross Vail is transferred from the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery, in the rank of Major, with seniority from 22 November 1971 and effect from 22 November 1973, on his appointment as a Military Observer, UNMOGIP.

Major R. J. Andrews to be temp. Lieutenant-Colonel with effect from 19 November 1973.

Captain R. A. Williamson to be temp. Major with effect from 10 December 1973.

from 10 December 1973.

2nd Lieutenant R. Barker to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 20 June 1973.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMOURED CORPS

Captain William Bevil Flanagan, D.F.C., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Armoured Corps, in the rank of Captain, with effect from 29 January 1974.

Captain and Quartermaster C. M. Wild to be temp. Major and Quartermaster with effect from 15 December 1973, and is re-engaged until 21 February 1979.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

2nd Lieutenant J. S. Hollander to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 21 December 1973.

ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT

Major (temp. Lieutenant-Colonel) Eric Vernon Braggins colonel with effect from 22 October 1973.

Captain (temp. Major) B. J. Marshall to be Major with seniority and effect from 11 December 1973.

Captain and Quartermaster R. Tinsley, B.E.M., to be temp. Major and Quartermaster, with effect from 26 November 1973.

Lieutenant P. T. McAndrew to be Captain with seniority and effect from 12 December 1973.

2nd Lieutenant K. A. Smith to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 20 December 1973.

2nd Lieutenant B. J. Ewart is re-engaged until 14 June

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY SERVICE CORPS

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) G. E. A. Cook to be Captain with seniority and effect from 8 October 1973.

Lieutenant P. O'Regan to be temp. Captain with effect from 17 October 1973.

Lieutenant C. P. Sinclair to be temp. Captain with effect from 23 July 1973.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY ORDNANCE CORPS

Captain (temp. Major) Ian Geoffrey Ross is posted to the Retired List in the rank of Major with effect from 29 January 1974.

Captain and Quartermaster K. A. Watson to be temp. Major and Quartermaster with effect from 1 December 1973. Lieutenant P. M. O'Brien to be acting Captain with effect from 1 November 1973.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ELECTRICAL AND MECHANICAL ENGINEERS

Captain (temp. Major) and Quartermaster Neville James Clark is posted to the Retired List in the rank of Major and Quartermaster, with effect from 17 January 1974.

2nd Lieutenant Murray David Roberts is posted to the Retired List with effect from 18 September 1973.

ROYAL N.Z. CHAPLAINS' DEPARTMENT

Chaplain 4th Class John Martin Collins (Roman Catholic) is transferred from the Territorial Force, in his present rank, with seniority from 1 April 1971 and effect from 20 December 1973, on an initial engagement of three years.

ROYAL N.Z. NURSING CORPS

Matron Marjorie Edith Traill, A.R.R.C., DIP.N., is posted to the Retired List with effect from 12 January 1974.
Charge Sister (acting Matron) J. E. Grant to be temp. Matron with effect from 22 November 1973.
Sister R. E. J. Thompson to be Charge Sister with seniority and effect from 1 August 1973.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY EDUCATION CORPS

Major H. Owen, B.A., to be temp. Lieutenant-Colonel with effect from 22 November 1973.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) and Quartermaster H. Cherrington, B.E.M., to be Captain and Quartermaster with seniority and effect from 13 November 1973.

Nigel Robert Long, M.Sc. (HONS.), is appointed to a commission for an initial period of three years in the rank of Captain with seniority from 7 January 1972 and effect from 7 January 1974.

N.Z. WOMEN'S ROYAL ARMY CORPS

Captain P. K. Bent is re-engaged until 6 October 1974.

TERRITORIAL FORCE

ROYAL N.Z. ARMOURED CORPS

1st Squadron, New Zealand Scottish, RNZAC

Captain W. A. Adam to be temp. Major with effect from 14 November 1973.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

The commission of Lieutenant William James Farrell is cancelled with effect from 7 December 1973.

ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) John Lawrence Senior is cancelled with effect from 10 January 1974

4th Battalion (Otago and Southland), RNZIR

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) B. Stainton is confirmed with effect from 15 March 1972. B. McI.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY SERVICE CORPS

1st Army Air Supply Organisation, RNZASC

Jeffrey Craig Spencer Cocks is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) with effect from 1 September 1973.

1st Transport Company, RNZASC

Roger Peter Scholes is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 12 March 1972.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY MEDICAL CORPS

1st Casualty Clearing Station, RNZAMC

Lieutenant P. A. Ockelford, B.SC., with reference to the notice published in the *Gazette*, 8 November 1973, No. 102, p. 2296, for the name "P. A. Ockleford" substitute "P.A. Ockelford".

1st Field Ambulance, RNZAMC

Lieutenant C. J. Heron, M.B., CH.B., is transferred to the Regular Force for a period of three months in the rank of temp. Captain, with effect from 4 December 1973. 3rd Field Ambulance, RNZAMC

Lieutenant Jeremy Kenneth Walton, M.B., CH.B., resigns his commission with effect from 14 November 1973.