## Transfers to Retired List

Air Commodore Ernest Charles Gartrell, C.B.E., D.F.C., is transferred to the Retired List "A" with effect from 10 November 1973.

Squadron Leader Blake Olliver Harper, A.N.Z.I.M., is trans-ferred to the Retired List "A" with effect from 1 January 1974.

### TECHNICAL BRANCH Promotions

Engineer Division

Flying Officer P. A. Williamson, N.Z.C.E., to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 7 April 1974. Flying Officer G. Holliday to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 14 April 1974. Pilot Officer I. P. Wightman to be Flying Officer with seniority and effect from 9 April 1974.

Signals Division

Flying Officer C. B. Britnell to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 7 April 1974. Flying Officer (*temp.* Flight Lieutenant) B. J. Germain, M.B.E., N.Z.C.E., to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 7 April 1974. Flying Officer (*temp.* Flight Lieutenant) B. T. Lennox to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 7 April 1974

1974.

Flying Officer P. Mason to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 7 April 1974. Flying Officer (temp. Flight Lieutenant) B. W. Gilbert to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 14 April 1974.

Pilot Officer M. W. Passfield to be Flying Officer with seniority and effect from 9 April 1974.

Armament Division

Flying Officer R. G. McKay to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 14 April 1974. Pilot Officer K. A. O'Brien to be Flying Officer with seniority and effect from 9 April 1974.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement Engineer Division

The commission and age for retirement of Squadron Leader N. J. Work are extended to 6 November 1979.

Transfer to Reserve

Engineer Division

Flight Lieutenant Alfred Wilson McNally is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from 4 February 1974.

Signals Division

Squadron Leader John Bernard Noonan, M.B.E., is trans-ferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 26 November 1975, with effect from 25 December 1973.

Administrative and Supply Branch

A ppointment

Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant Q. B. Sellwood to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 25 March 1974.

Promotions

Secretarial Division

Flying Officer (temp. Flight Lieutenant) C. C. Eyles to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 14 April 1974.

Pilot Officer P. J. Lynch to be Flying Officer with seniority and effect from 9 April 1974.

Supply Division

Flying Officer (temp. Flight Lieutenant) D. J. Maguire to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 14 April 1974.

Flying Officer W. B. Murphy to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 14 April 1974. Special Duties Division

Flying Officer (temp. Flight Lieutenant) A. G. Froggatt to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 14 April 1974.

Retirement Special Duties Division

Squadron Leader Hugh Taggart Bell, D.F.M., is retired with effect from 12 December 1973.

# EDUCATION BRANCH

Termination of Commission

The short-service commission of Flight Lieutenant Martin Sidney Francis Hawkins, H.N.D. (MECH.ENG), A.M.I.E.D., is terminated with effect from 24 December 1973,

### CHAPLAINS' BRANCH

## Extension of Commission

The short-service commission of the Reverend R. E. Keyte is extended to 31 October 1977, followed by four years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

#### Transfer to Reserve

The Reverend Bede Brian O'Gorman (Roman Catholic) is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from 16 January 1974.

## WOMEN'S ROYAL NEW ZEALAND AIR FORCE

#### Promotions

The following Assistant Section Officers to be Section Officers with seniority and effect from 9 April 1974:

C. M. Price.

P. L. Row. S. L. Sutton.

## TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

#### ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Promotion Special Duties Division

Flying Officer R. A. Soar to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 8 April 1974.

#### Transfer to Reserve

Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant Michael Peter Sparham is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 19 September 1982, with effect from 18 March 1974.

# **RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS**

#### Retirements

The following officers are retired with effect from the dates shown:

Squadron Leader John Leslie Munro, D.S.O., D.F.C., 5 April 1974

Squadron Leader Charles Edward Baxter, D.F.C., 9 April 1974.

Squadron Leader Roland Cyril Ernest Arthur Comfort, 27 March 1974.

Flight Lieutenant Leonard George William Brown, 17 April 1974.

Flight Lieutenant Donald James Matheson, 11 April 1974. Flying Officer Herbert Elmer Lorraine Pickering, 29 March 1974.

Flying Officer Robert Hume Regnault, 21 March 1974. Flying Officer Leslie Charles Bell, 31 March 1974.

Flying Officer Douglas Lloyd Wilson, 2 April 1974.

Flying Officer John James Simpson, 21 March 1974.

Flying Officer Thomas Harold Sinclair, D.F.C., A.F.M., 10 March 1974.

Pilot Officer Geoffrey David Beal, 24 March 1974.

Dated at Wellington this 15th day of May 1974.

A. J. FAULKNER, Minister of Defence.

### Port Conciliation Committee for the Port of Lyttelton A ppointed

PURSUANT to the Waterfront Industry Act 1953, the Minister of Labour hereby appoints the following persons to be the Port Conciliation Committee for the Port of Lyttelton for the term of 1 year expiring on the 31st day of May 1975.

Robert Hamilton Duff, Chairman;

- James Benjamin Graham, Deputy Chairman; Alan Parnell Gale, Charles Craig Gass, George Carstairs Simpson, and John Twomey (nominated by the New Zealand Port Employers' Association (Incorporated)); and
- Richard Edward Dewhurst, Raymond Keith Fergus, Melvyn Ewell Foster and Ronald James Wasley (nominated by the Lyttelton Waterfront Workers' Industrial Union of Workers).

Dated at Wellington this 20th day of May 1974.

HUGH WATT, Minister of Labour,