- 7. Until the said Council, to be elected at the first triennial election of members following the date of the union, takes office, the council of the said County shall comprise the members of the former Waipukurau County Council, and the members of the former Patangata County Council who were holding office on the date immediately prior to the
- 8. The system of rating in the said County shall be on the basis of land value and the said Council shall make and levy the general rate separately in each riding of the said County as if it had so resolved by special order pursuant to subsection (2) of section 110 of the Counties Act 1956.
- 9. Notwithstanding anything in clause 1 hereof, the said Council shall make and levy all rates in the ridings specified in clause 4 hereof for the whole year commencing on 1 April 1974 and ending on 31 March 1975 and for the purpose of making and levying those rates and for this purpose only this order shall be deemed to have come into force on 1 April 1974.
- 10. For the purposes of the Local Authorities (Petroleum Tax) Act 1970, the following provisions shall apply:
 (a) The district of the said County shall be deemed always to have been a constituent district of the Hawke's Bay Tax Area.
 - (b) The rate revenue of the said County for the previous financial year shall be the sum of the rate revenue for that period of the former Counties of Waipukurau and Patangata.
- 11. The cash balances and reserves of the former Counties of Waipukurau and Patangata shall become the cash balances and reserves of the said County and with the exception of plant account reserves shall be used only within the riding or other area in which they originated.
- 12. The transfer of any members of the staffs of the former Waipukurau and Patangata County Councils to the service of the said Council shall be deemed to be transfers of permanent employees within the meaning of section 4 of the Local Authorities (Employment Protection) Act 1963, and the provisions of that Act shall, with any necessary modifications, apply accordingly.
- 13. So far as they are applicable and with the necessary modifications, the provisions of section 99A of the Land Transfer Act 1952, shall apply to the union herein effected.
- 14. Except as otherwise provided herein, the provisions of section 10 of the Counties Act 1956, shall apply to the union of the Counties hereby effected as if the former Counties of Waipukurau and Patangata had been united under that Act.

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council. (I.A. 103/5/288)

Exempting Land in South Auckland Land District from the Operation of Part III of the Coal Mines Act 1925

DENIS BLUNDELL, Governor-General

Pursuant to section 171 of the Coal Mines Act 1925, I, Sir Edward Denis Blundell, the Governor-General of New Zealand, do hereby exempt the land described in the Schedule hereto from the operation of Part III of the said Act.

SCHEDULE

SOUTH AUCKLAND LAND DISTRICT-RAGLAN COUNTY

PART Sections 4 and 5, Block XIII, Rangiriri Survey District, and part Allotment 136, Whangape Parish, being part land on D.P. 20355 and Lots 3, 4, and 18, D.P. 21946, situated in Block XIII, Rangiriri Survey District: area, 9.5187 hectares, more or less, excepting thereout all coal, fireclay, and other minerals contained in certificate of title 488/238. Balance of certificate of title 639/264, subject to rights of way created by transfers 213028 and 239801.

Allotment Whangape Parish, Block XIII, Rangiriri Survey District: area, 9.3861 hectares, more or less, excepting thereout all coal, fireclay, and other minerals contained in certificate of title 579/189. All certificate of title 579/192, limited as to parcels, subject to a right of way created by conveyance No. 372354 (R515/38).

s witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General this 14th day of May 1974.

F. M. COLMAN, Minister of Mines.

Port Conciliation Committee for the Port of Picton Appointed

PURSUANT to the Waterfront Industry Act 1953, the Minister of Labour hereby appoints the following persons to be the Port Conciliation Committee for the Port of Picton for the term of 1 year expiring on the 31st day of May 1975.

Thomas Royden Harrison, Chairman;
John Vernon Fisher, Gerald Redmond Drummond and
Archibald Charles Welsh (nominated by the New Zealand
Port Employers' Association (Incorporated)); and
Frank Neville Burns, James Howat and Athol Francis
Norton (nominated by the Picton Waterfront Workers'

Industrial Union of Workers).

Dated at Wellington this 7th day of June 1974.

HUGH WATT, Minister of Labour.

Appointment of Chairman of the Legal Aid Appeal Authority

Pursuant to section 6 of the Legal Aid Act 1969, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint Alfred William Yortt, Esquire,

Stipendiary Magistrate, of New Plymouth, to be Chairman of the Legal Aid Appeal Authority for the remainder of his present term.

Dated at Wellington this 1st day of June 1974.

A. M. FINLAY, Minister of Justice.

(J. 21/2/76 (6))

Chief Judge of the Maori Land Court Appointed

Pursuant to section 16 of the Maori Affairs Act 1953, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Kenneth Gillanders Scott to be the Chief Judge of the Maori Land Court on and from the 24th day of June 1974.

Dated at Wellington this 13th day of June 1974.

MATIU RATA, Minister of Maori Affairs.

Judge of the Maori Land Court Appointed

PURSUANT to section 16 of the Maori Affairs Act 1953, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Edward Taihakurei Junior Durie

to be a Judge of the Maori Land Court on and from the 15th day of August 1974.

Dated at Wellington this 13th day of June 1974.

MATIU RATA, Minister of Maori Affairs.

Chairman of the Public Service Appeal Board Appointed

Pursuant to section 61 of the State Services Act 1962, the Minister of State Services has appointed

Randal Dudley Poynton Heenan

of Wellington, retired public servant, to be the Chairman of the Public Service Appeal Board for a term of 3 years from the 1st day of June 1974.

Dated at Wellington this 24th day of May 1974.

A. J. FAULKNER, for Minister of State Services.

Members of Architects' Investigation Committee Appointed

His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint, in terms of section 38 of the Architects' Act 1963, Raymond Warren Taylor, of Christchurch.

to be a member and Chairman of the Architects' Investigation Committee, and

Rodney Fox Draffin, of Auckland, and Albert Graham Kofoed, of Wellington.

(Mines 11/29/3)