(Calycotome spinosa) and welted thistle (Carduus crispus) be declared noxious weeds as mentioned under the First Schedule of the Noxious Weeds Act 1950.

Dated at Wellington this 25th day of June 1974.

S. J. CALLAHAN, for Director-General of Agriculture and Fisheries.

Environmental Impact Report Notified—Mangatotara State Forest Development

THE Commission for the Environment gives notice that it has received an environmental impact report on the proposed development of the Mangatotara State Forest in the Kaimai Ranges. Representations in writing on the environmental aspects of the project, as it is explained in the report, will be received at the office of the Commission, P.O. Box 12-042, Wellington, until Friday, 2 August 1974.

Copies of the report may be purchased from the New Zealand Forest Service at Private Bag, Wellington, or P.O. Box 1340, Rotorua, or seen at the public libraries in Rotorua or Tauranga.

Dated at Wellington this 1st day of July 1974.

J. M. BAMFORD,

Assistant Commissioner for the Environment.

(Env. 8/25)

The Royal Society of New Zealand

PURSUANT to the Royal Society of New Zealand Act 1965, the Fellows of the Royal Society of New Zealand at their annual general meeting held on 15 May 1974 elected the following Fellows:

Peter Leonard Bergquist, M.SC., PH.D., James William Brodie, M.SC., Bruce Russell Penfold, M.SC., PH.D.,

John Edward Titheridge, M.SC. DIP.HONS. (N.Z.), PH.D. (CAMB.), Walter George Whittlestone, D.SC.

MARGARET E. MARSH, General Secretary.

The Royal Society of New Zealand

PURSUANT to the Royal Society of New Zealand Act 1965, the Fellows of the Royal Society of New Zealand, at the annual general meeting held on 15 May 1974, passed a resolution amending the rules of the Society published in the *Gazette* on 22 December 1965, and 19 June 1969, the effect of such resolution being:

SECTION J-THE ENCOURAGEMENT OF RESEARCH

Section JI-Hutton Memorial Medal and Research Fund Rule 5 was amended to read:

Unless in exceptional circumstances the Hutton Memorial Medal shall be awarded not oftener than once in every 3 years, and in no case shall the medal be awarded unless, in the opinion of the Council, there is evidence of scientific work of great merit. The Council shall appoint a committee consisting, if possible, of 3 holders of the award representative of the 3 sciences concerned (zoology, botany, geology) to recommend each award. This committee may meet, the cost of one meeting to be a charge on the Hutton Memorial of one meeting to be a charge on the Hutton Memorial Fund.

Section JX-Captain James Cook Fellowship and Fund Rule 5 was amended to read:

The Fellowship shall be at senior level and tenable for 2 years at any New Zcaland University or New Zealand research institution. An extension for a third year may be granted as provided under clause 12.

Rule 11 had the following clauses added:

- (e) Exercise general supervision over the Fellow's activities in relation to the Fellowship. Such supervision shall include the right of the Board, after first affording the Fellow reasonable opportunity to give any explanation in writing or in person, to recommend to the Council that the Fellowship be terminated in terms of clause 17 (d).
- (f) Grant an extension for a third year subject to its being satisfied that the Fellow's research warrants such an extension.

New Rule 12 was inserted to read:

A Fellow wishing to have the Fellowship extended for a third year must apply to the Selection Board giving full reasons in support. This application must be made after serving one year of the Fellowship or by such date as the Board may specify.

Rules 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 were renumbered 13, 14, 15, 16, 17. Rule 16 (c), now 17 (c), was amended to read:

The Fellow is normally required to take up the Fellowship within 6 months of the appointment.

Rule 16 (d) now 17 (d) was amended to read:

A Fellowship may be terminated at such times and on such conditions, if any, as may be prescribed if the Council and the Selection Board cease to be satisfied that the Fellow is a suitable person to hold the Fellowship. In such circum-stances the Council shall pay the return fares of the Fellow, his wife and children to the country of origin, subject to his returning there after a reasonable time following the termination of the Fellowship.

Rule 16 (e), now 17 (e), now reads:

Every Fellow shall furnish to the Council such written reports on the progress of his research project as may be laid down by the Selection Board and, before completion of his Fellowship, shall furnish the Council with a written report covering the research project undertaken during the tenure of his fellowship. A Fellow is also expected to inform the Board of his publication intentions.

MARGARET E. MARSH, General Secretary. Wellington, New Zealand, 2 July 1974.

Members of Bobby Calf Pool Committees Elected

PURSUANT to the Bobby Calf Marketing Regulations 1955, notice has been received by the New Zealand Dairy Board that the persons whose names are set out under the name of each Bobby Calf Pool Committee in the Schedule hereto have been duly elected as members of that committee.

Dated this 1st day of July 1974.

P. S. GREEN,

General Secretary, New Zealand Dairy Board.

SCHEDULE

Albertland Bobby Calf Pool Committee-

Kerry Bruce Smith, Phillip Leslie Brown, Leonard Edwin Lawrence, Lawrence Grant, Charles Robert Smith, Ronald Ernest Aspinall, Neville Gordon Shepherd, Kenneth Scott Allen, and Graham Ferguson Taylor.

Bell Block Bobby Calf Pool Committee-Peter McCormack Blyde, Joseph Allan Wetton, Albert Leonard Jupp, George William Rogers, and Kenneth Charles Bacon.

Dannevirke Bobby Calf Pool Committee-Raymond John Cordell, Alexander Sturrock, Cecil Coe. Ernest Joseph Martin, Hugh George Ross, Leslie Vincent Benbow, and Royden Francis Swenson.

Hamilton Federated Bobby Calf Pool Committee-

James Murray Seath, Trevor Charles Houghton, Barry Michael O'Connor, Thomas Murray Sanders, Errol Douglas Baldwin, Ronald Douglas Jackways, Ralph Ross Masters, Henry Carlton Baker, Wilfred Archer Bridgman, Seath David Silcock, Francis Joseph De La Rue, Dennis Leight Brett, Reginald Kempthorne,