Exempting Land in Westland Land District from the Operation of Part III of the Coal Mines Act 1925

DENIS BLUNDELL, Governor-General

PURSUANT to section 171 of the Coal Mines Act 1925, I, Sir Edward Denis Blundell, the Governor-General of New Zealand, do hereby exempt the land described in the Schedule hereto from the operation of Part III of the said Act.

SCHEDULE

WESTLAND LAND DISTRICT-RUNANGA BOROUGH AND GREY COUNTY

RURAL Section 5129 (formerly parts Crown land) situated in Block III, Cobden Survey District: area, 254 hectares, more or less (S.O. Plan 5975).

Reserving, nevertheless, unto the Crown, firstly, in terms) of section 168A of the Coal Mines Act 1925, all coal existing in its natural condition on or under the surface of the said land and, secondly, in terms of section 8 of the Mining Act 1971, every mineral existing in its natural condition on counter the surface of the said land or under the surface of the said land.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General this 23rd day of July 1974.

(6/4/17)

F. M. COLMAN, Minister of Mines.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resigna-tions, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Armv

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army:

REGULAR FORCE

ROYAL REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY

Major (temp. Lieutenant Colonel) R. J. Andrews to be Lieutenant Colonel with seniority from 19 November 1973,

Lieutenant Colonel with seniority trom 19 November 1973, and effect from 17 June 1974. Lieutenant (*temp.* Captain) and Quartermaster E. C. Lile to be Captain and Quartermaster with seniority and effect from 11 June 1974.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) C. R. Flinkenberg to be Captain with seniority and effect from 20 June 1974. Lieutenant J. S. Heard to be temp. Captain with effect

from 20 June 1974. D340748 Warrant Officer Class II Robert William George Bennett is appointed to a Regular Commission in the rank of Lieutenant and Quartermaster with seniority and effect from 15 July 1974.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMOURED CORPS

Lieutenant Colonel (temp. Colonel) J. W. Mawson, M.v.o., B.A., to be Colonel and is transferred to the Colonels' List, with seniority from 1 February 1974 and effect from 10 April 1974

Major B. D. Chippindale, A.N.Z.I.M., to be acting Lieutenant Colonel with effect from 10 June 1974 and temp. Lieutenant Colonel with effect from 17 June 1974. Lieutenant (*temp.* Captain) J. Ballance to be Captain with seniority and effect from 20 June 1974.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

M33154 Warrant Officer Class I Russell Bond Luscombe is appointed to a Regular Commission in the rank of Lieutenant and Quartermaster with seniority and effect from 19 July 1974.

ROYAL N.Z. CORPS OF SIGNALS

Captain (*temp.* Major) and Quartermaster Ronald Burton is posted to the Retired List in the rank of Major with effect from 26 July 1974.

The current engagement of Captain (temp. Major) T. B. Gillooly is reduced to 15 December 1978.

Supernumerary List

Captain and Quartermaster J. B. Booth: with reference to the notice published in the *Gazette*, 23 May 1974, No. 50, p. 1018, for "Lieutenant (temp. Captain) and Quartermaster" substitute "Captain and Quartermaster".

Lieutenant P. D. Dale to be temp. Captain with effect from 14 June 1974.

ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT

Major General L. A. Pearce, C.B., C.B.E., Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment, Honorary Colonel 1 RNZIR, is appointed additionally Honorary Colonel of 2/1 RNZIR, for a period to terminate on 31 March 1976, with effect from 4 July 1974. Lieutenant Colonel (temp. Colonel) M. Tebbutt to be Colonel, and is transferred to the Colonels' List, with seniority from 10 April 1973 and effect from 10 April 1974

Colonel, and is transferred to the Colonels' List, with seniority from 10 April 1973 and effect from 10 April 1974. Lieutenant Colonel (temp. Colonel) R. G. Williams, M.B.E., to be Colonel, and is transferred to the Colonels' List, with seniority and effect from 9 May 1974. Lieutenant Colonel J. A. Mace, O.B.E., to be temp. Colonel with effect from 8 July 1974. Captain (acting Major) R. P. F. Schmidt to be temp. Major with effect from 10 June 1974. Captain and Quartermaster Wallace James White is posted

with effect from 10 June 1974. Captain and Quartermaster Wallace James White is posted to the Retired List with effect from 18 July 1974. Lieutenant (*temp.* Captain) P. T. Grant to be Captain with seniority and effect from 20 June 1974. Lieutenant P. F. Burrell to be temp. Captain with effect from 18 May 1974. Lieutenant R. J. Seymour to be temp. Captain with effect from 24 June 1974

from 24 June 1974.

V46617 Staff Sergeant Murray James McLaughlin is appointed to a Regular Commission for an initial period of three years, in the rank of Lieutenant with seniority from 15 July 1973, and effect from 15 July 1974. Richard Adrian Cairns is appointed to a Regular Com-mission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 20 June 1974.

effect from 20 June 1974.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY SERVICE CORPS

Captain (temp. Major) Richard John Shepherd is posted to the Retired List in the rank of Major, with effect from 24 July 1974.

24 July 1974. Lieutenant Mervyn Trevor Campbell is posted to the Retired List with effect from 9 July 1974. Lieutenant P. N. Van Draanen to be temp. Captain with effect from 20 June 1974. K208550 Warrant Officer Class I Maurice Watts is appointed to a Regular Commission in the rank of Lieutenant and Quartermaster with seniority and effect from 8 July 1974.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY ORDNANCE CORPS

Captain (temp. Major) Michael Joseph Cooper is posted to the Retired List in the rank of Major, with effect from 26 July 1974.

2nd Lieutenant A. C. Lash to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 20 June 1974.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ELECTRICAL AND MECHANICAL ENGINEERS

Captain (temp. Major) P. Q. Horgan to be Major with seniority and effect from 20 June 1974. Captain and Quartermaster Colin Stewart Leigh McLaren is posted to the Retired List with effect from 20 March 1974.

Capital Ronald Ord is posted to the Retired List with effect from 24 July 1974. V35324 Warrant Officer Class I Robert Edward Polking-horne is appointed to a Regular Commission in the rank of Lieutenant and Quartermaster with seniority and effect from 15 July 1974.

ROYAL N.Z. DENTAL CORPS

Captain David Prendeville Watt, B.D.S., is transferred from the Territorial Force in the rank of Captain, with seniority from 15 December 1970, and effect from 4 June 1974, on a Dental Short Service commission of 4 years, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Officers.

ROYAL N.Z. CHAPLAINS' DEPARTMENT

Chaplain 4th Class R. N. Pipe (Roman Catholic) is transferred from the Territorial Force on an initial engagement of one year, in the rank of Chaplain 4th Class, with seniority from 10 November 1971 and effect from 20 June 1974.

TERRITORIAL FORCE

ROYAL REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY

3rd Field Regiment, RNZA

Captain Keith John Morrison is posted to the Retired List with effect from 1 June 1974.

16th Field Regiment, RNZA

Captain Elliot Antony Jameson is posted to the Retired List with effect from 1 June 1974.