#### RETIRED LIST

Royal N.Z. Army Medical Corps

Captain N. M. F. Officer, M.B.E., M.B., CH.B., is re-posted to the Territorial Force, 1st Casualty Clearing Station, RNZAMC, with effect from 30 May 1974.

Dated at Wellington this 30th day of August 1974.

A. J. FAULKNER, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resigna-tions, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air

## REGULAR AIR FORCE GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

### Appointments

Appointments

Flight Lieutenant V. R. de Bettencor to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 15 July 1974.

Flight Lieutenant J. W. Lanham to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 5 August 1974.

Flight Lieutenant H. S. R. Saunders is appointed to a permanent commission with effect from 13 June 1974.

Flight Lieutenant V. S. Paul is appointed to a permanent commission with effect from 20 June 1974.

Flight Lieutenant James Stanley Barclay is appointed to a permanent commission with effect from 11 June 1974.

T83300 Sergeant Arthur Warren Dale is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 8 years in the rank of Flying Officer with seniority and effect from 16 April 1974, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers. Officers.

### **Promotions**

Wing Commander C. M. Hanson, O.B.E., to be Group Captain with seniority and effect from 1 July 1974.
Squadron Leader (temp. Wing Commander) G. C. Derby to be Wing Commander with seniority from 3 Lecember 1973 and effect from 15 July 1974.
Squadron Leader W. J. Cranfield, A.F.C., to be Acting Wing Commander with effect from 1 July 1974, temp. Wing Commander with effect from 8 July 1974, and Wing Commander with seniority and effect from 15 July 1974.
Squadron Leader C. C. McAllister to be Acting Wing Commander with effect from 8 July 1974, and Wing Commander with seniority from 15 July 1974, and effect from 15 July 1974.
Squadron Leader (temp. Wing Commander) G. A. Parkin-

15 July 1974.
Squadron Leader (temp. Wing Commander) G. A. Parkinson, A.N.Z.I.M., to be Wing Commander with seniority from 27 August 1973 and effect from 15 July 1974.
Squadron Leader (temp. Wing Commander) A. E. Thomson to be Wing Commander with seniority from 7 January 1974 and effect from 15 July 1974.
Squadron Leader (temp. Wing Commander) P. R. Adamson to be Wing Commander with seniority from 8 July 1974 and effect from 15 July 1974.

# Extension of Commission

The commission of Flight Lieutenant I. C. Varcoe is extended to 23 June 1978, followed by four years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

## Transfers to Reserve

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) Raymond Turner is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers, in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, for a period of 4 years with effect from 1 July 1974.

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) Alistair Richard Mills is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers in the rank of Flight Lieutenant for a period of 4 years, with effect from 10 July 1974.

Flight Lieutenant Allan John Royce is transferred to the

Flight Lieutenant Allan John Boyce is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of 4 years with effect from 24 June 1974.

Flight Lieutenant Trevor David Mollard is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of 4 years, with effect from 24 June 1974.

Flight Lieutenant Peter Graham Bethell is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of 4 years, with effect from 31 March 1974.

## Transfers to Retired List

Wing Commander Raymond Arthur Mackinder, A.F.C., is transferred to the Retired List 'A' with effect from 1 June

Wing Commander Thomas Joseph Danaher, A.F.C., A.N.Z.I.M., is transferred to the Retired List 'A' with effect from 3 July 1974.

## TECHNICAL BRANCH

#### Change of Name

The Technical Branch of the Royal New Zealand Air Force is renamed the Engineer Branch, and all officers of the former Technical Branch are hereby transferred to the Engineer Branch in their present rank and seniority, with effect from 28 May 1974.

### ENGINEER BRANCH

## Appointments

Squadron Leader R. L. Doorne, M.A., C.ENG., A.F.R.Ae.S., is appointed to a permanent commission with effect from 13 June 1974.

L134031 Sergeant Peter Edwin Williams is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 10 years, in the rank of Flying Officer with seniority and effect from 16 April 1974, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

The following are appointed to short-service commissions for a period of 8 years, in the rank of Pilot Officer with seniority and effect from 16 April 1974, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers:

A84203 Corporal Graham Lyndon Lake. V83463 Corporal Christopher Torr. T83898 Temporary Corporal Aaron Woollaston.

#### ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

#### Appointments

Special Duties Division

X76680 Warrant Officer Max Ashton is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 8 years, in the rank of Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 16 April 1974, followed by a period on the Reserve of Air Force Officers, to expire on 17 December 1985. Supply Division

K84971 Leading Aircraftman Brian Edward Joblin is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 8 years, in the rank of Pilot Officer with seniority and effect from 16 April 1974, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

### Promotion

Supply Division

Flying Officer J. B. McLean to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 13 July 1974.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement Special Duties Division

The commission and age for retirement of Squadron Leader L. H. Stone are extended to 30 April 1977.

## Transfer to Reserve

## Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant Edwin Francis Arthur Wiggins, A.N.Z.I.M., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of 4 years with effect from 7 July 1974.

### EDUCATION BRANCH

### Retirement

Squadron Leader Tony Harris Harrison, B.A., DIP.TCHG., is retired with effect from 15 May 1974.

## WOMEN'S ROYAL NEW ZEALAND AIR FORCE

## Appointment

Q85413 Aircraftwoman Judith Kay Johnston is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 3 years in the rank of Assistant Section Officer, with seniority and effect from 16 April 1974.

## Resignation of Commission

Flight Officer Noeline Marguerite Johnson resigns her commission with effect from 4 July 1974.

## RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

## Promotion

Pilot Officer J. G. Faris, M.B., CH.B., B.SC., t Officer with seniority and effect from 10 May 1974. to be Flying

### Extension of Commission

The commission of Flight Lieutenant E. Evans is extended to 4 January 1978.

## Resignation of Commission

Squadron Leader Marshall Laird, D.SC., PH.D., resigns his commission with effect from 27 June 1974.