Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointment

Flight Lieutenant S. J. Ross is appointed to a career commission for a period to expire on 1 December 1986 with effect from 17 October 1975.

Extensions of Commissions

The short-service commission of Squadron Leader H. J. Moftat, A.F.C., is extended to 24 June 1978.

The short-service commission of Flight Lieutenant M. H. Sommerville is extended to 23 June 1980, to be followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers. The short-service commission of Flight Lieutenant N. R. McKenzie is extended to 13 March 1979, to be followed by 4

years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Transfers to Reserve

Squadron Leader James Maxwell Sceats is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 14 November 1979 with

effect from 15 November 1975. Flight Lieutenant Alexander John Stevens is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 18 November 1979 with effect from 19 November 1975.

Flying Officer Russell Milson Thorne is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 10 August 1979 with effect from 11 August 1975.

Transfer to Retired List

Squadron Leader Ian Russell McCulloch Ness is transferred to the Retired List "A" with effect from 23 August 1974.

ENGINEER BRANCH

Promotions

Flying Officer D. S. Henry, B.E., to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority from 6 December 1973 and effect from 1 October 1975

Pilot Officer J. G. Stables to be Flying Officer with seniority and effect from 7 October 1975.

Transfer to Retired List

Squadron Leader James Robert McKnight, M.I.N.Z.M.I.: with reference to the notice published in the *Gazette*, 16 October 1975, No. 87, p. 2275, for the date "31 July 1975" substitute "1 August 1975".

Administrative and Supply Branch

Appointment

Supply Division

Flight Lieutenant J. Worden to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 20 November 1975.

Promotion

Special Duties Division

Flying Officer (temp. Flight Lieutenant) G. H. P. Hanify to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 25 September 1975,

Extension of Commission

Secretarial Division

The short-service commission of Flight Lieutenant N. A. Fryer is extended to 14 September 1984, to be followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

EDUCATION BRANCH

Extension of Commission

The short-service commission of Flight Lieutenant M. D. Leahy, B.A., DIP.TCHG., is extended to I October 1982, to be followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

Administrative and Supply Branch

Extension of Commission

Special Duties Division

The short-service commission of Flight Lieutenant A. J. Chapman is extended to 20 October 1980.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Transfer to Retired List

Squadron Leader Roger Ian Fairlie Garrett is transferred to the Retired List "B" with effect from 27 October 1975.

Retirements

The following officers are retired with effect from the dates shown:

Flight Lieutenant Edward Haines Beable, DIP.V.F.M., 12 November 1975.

Flight Lieutenant Frank Victor Honey, 11 November 1975. Flying Officer (*temp.* Flight Lieutenant) Ronald George Tait in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, 5 November 1975. Flying Officer Maurice Johnston, D.F.C., 11 September 1975.

Flying Officer Percy Frederick Henderson, 4 November 1975. Flying Officer John Alan Taylor, A.R.A.N.Z., A.A.I.I., 8

November 1975. Flying Officer Robert John Hyslop, B.SC., 7 February 1975. Dated at Wellington this 28th day of November 1975. W. A. FRASER, Minister of Defence.

Officer Authorised to Take and Receive Statutory Declarations

PURSUANT to section 9 of the Oaths and Declarations Act 1957, as amended by the Oaths and Declarations Amendment Act 1972, I have authorised the holders of the offices in the service of the Crown specified in the Schedule below to take and receive statutory declarations under the said Act.

SCHEDULE

NEW ZEALAND RAILWAYS

District Welfare Officer, Napier. District Welfare Officer, Hamilton.

Dated at Wellington this 20th day of November 1975.

A. M. FINLAY, Minister of Justice.

(Adm. 3/28/3/28 (8))

Judge of the Courts Martial Appeal Court Reappointed

PURSUANT to section 3 of the Courts Martial Appeals Act 1953, His Excellency the Governor-General of New Zealand, acting by and with the consent of the Executive Council, has appointed

Frederic McCarthy, Esquire

of Auckland, retired Stipendiary Magistrate, to be a Judge of the Courts Martial Appeal Court to hold office for a further term of 3 years from the date hereof.

Dated at Wellington this 1st day of December 1975.

A. M. FINLAY, Minister of Justice.

(Adm. 3/9 (6))

Appointment of Member of Taranaki Land Valuation Committee

PURSUANT to section 19 of the Land Valuation Proceedings Act 1948, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Murray James Findlater, Esquire

Justice of the Peace, of Hawera, to be a Member of the Taranaki Land Valuation Committee, vice Eric Roy Harford, Esquire, resigned.

Dated at Wellington this 5th day of December 1975.

A. M. FINLAY, Minister of Justice.

(Adm. 3/18/2/11 (6))

Member of Wellington Harbour Board Appointed

PURSUANT to section 33 (2) of the Harbours Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint Jane Jillette Nixon

to be a member of the Wellington Harbour Board as a representative of the City of Porirua and the Borough of Tawa, in place of Mr W. J. Brown, resigned.

Dated at Wellington this 2nd day of December 1975.

BASIL ARTHUR, Minister of Transport.

(M.O.T. 43/17/1)