Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Navy

Pursuant to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Naval Forces.

ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVY

CHIEF OF NAVAL STAFF

Rear Admiral Edward Courtney Thorne, C.B., C.B.E., is placed on the Retired List with effect from 13 December 1975. Commodore J. F. McKenzie, C.B.E., A.D.C., to be Rear Admiral with seniority and effect from 13 December 1975, and is appointed Chief of Naval Staff for a period of 2 years.

Commander I. H. D. Tyler to be Acting Captain with effect from 8 December 1975.

Instructor Lieutenant Commander B. R. Bartley is granted a permanent commission on the Instructor Officers List in his present rank and seniority, and his appointment is extended to retiring age for rank, with effect from 10 November 1975. Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant Commander) L. H. Carter to be Lieutenant Commander with seniority from 3 September 1975 and effect from 12 November 1975.

ber 1975 and effect from 12 November 1975.
Lieutenant R. J. Gillbanks to be temp. Lieutenant Commander with effect from 30 June 1975.

The seniority of Surgeon Lieutenant P. H. Robinson, M.B., Ch.B., is ante-dated to 4 February 1973.

Sub Lieutenant L. C. Spriggens, B.E. (MECH.), to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 21 August 1975.

Sub Lieutenant P. A. V. Briars to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 20 November 1975.

Sub Lieutenant G. R. Buchan to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 20 November 1975.

Royal New Zealand Naval Volunteer Reserve

Surgeon Lieutenant Commander G. L. Smith to be Surgeon Commander with seniority and effect from 16 December 1975.
Lieutenant J. A. J. Lillico to be Lieutenant Commander with seniority and effect from 12 September 1975.

Dated at Wellington this 5th day of December 1975.

W. A. FRASER, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Relinquishments, Cancellations, Transfers and Resignations of Officers in the New Zealand Cadet Forces

PURSUANT to section 59 of the Defence Act 1971, the Minister of Defence hereby approves the following appointments, promotions, extensions, relinquishments, cancellations, transfers, and resignations of officers of the New Zealand Cadet Forces.

SEA CADET CORPS

Appointment

Mark Sinclair is appointed to a commission in the rank of Sub Lieutenant on probation for a period of 3 years with effect from 21 October 1975.

Ensign David Peter Humphreys resigns his commission with effect from 30 June 1975.

AIR TRAINING CORPS

Promotions

Pilot Officer J. W. Burn to be Flying Officer with effect from 20 July 1974.

Temporary Flying Officer N. L. West to be Flying Officer with effect from 7 May 1975.

with effect from 7 May 1975.

Temporary Squadron Leader C. J. Stratton to be Squadron Leader with effect from 22 May 1975.

Flying Officer D. M. Williams to be Flight Lieutenant with effect from 29 August 1975.

Flight Lieutenant A. J. Lowry to be Squadron Leader with effect from 7 September 1975.

Pilot Officer R. A. Land to be Flying Officer with effect from 3 October 1975.

Extension

Flight Lieutenant A. L. Downing is granted an extension of his commission until 23 June 1978.

Relinquishment

Squadron Leader Stuart Ross McRobie relinquishes his appointment as Unit Commander with effect from 15 December 1975.

Transfer to Supernumerary List

Flying Officer G. K. Andrews is transferred to the Supernumerary List for 1 year with effect from 31 October 1975.

Resignations

Pilot Officer Graeme Lawson Bruce resigns his commission with effect from 1 August 1975

Flying Officer James Alfred Kennedy resigns his commission

with effect from 29 November 1975.

Squadron Leader Stuart Ross McRobie resigns his commission with effect from 15 December 1975.

SCHOOL CADET CORPS

Appointment

Adrian Arthur Watson is appointed to a commission in the rank of Lieutenant with effect from 19 November 1975.

Resignation

2nd Lieutenant Malcolm Harry Ives resigns his commission with effect from 31 January 1976.
Lieutenant Jeremiah Terence Kingsford O'Leary resigns his

commission with effect from 11 December 1975.

Major Grafton Thomas Hall Maslin resigns his commission with effect from 31 December 1975.

Dated at Wellington this 8th day of December 1975.

W. A. FRASER, Minister of Defence.

Appointment of the Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries to Control and Manage a Reserve

Pursuant to the Reserves and Domains Act 1953, the Minister of Lands hereby appoints the Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries to control and manage the reserve described in the Schedule hereto subject to the provisions of the said Act, as a reserve for a fish hatchery and game farm.

SCHEDULE

CANTERBURY LAND DISTRICT-EYRE COUNTY

RESERVES 5240 and 5241, situated in Blocks II and III, Christchurch Survey District: area, 46.9434 hectares, more or less (S.O. Plan 10831).

Dated at Wellington this 8th day of December 1975.

MATIU RATA, Minister of Lands.

(L. and S. H.O. 6/5/139; D.O. 8/5/443)

Appointment of Members of Aria War Memorial Library Board

PURSUANT to the Reserves and Domains Act 1953, the Minister of Lands hereby appoints

Jennifer Jean Foss and Robert James Jeffares

to be members of the Aria War Memorial Library Board, Taranaki Land District, in place of Edward Walter Royce Nicholson, resigned, and Douglas Sidney Finch, deceased, and further increases the total number of members of the said Aria War Memorial Library Board from seven to eight and appoints

Irene Valerie Perry

as the additional member of the Board.

Dated at Wellington this 25th day of November 1975.

MATIU RATA, Minister of Lands.

(L. and S. H.O. 5263; D.O. 8/170)

Member of Port Conciliation Committee for the Port of Whangarei Appointed

PURSUANT to the Waterfront Industry Act 1953, the Minister of Labour hereby appoints

David Russell McFadzien (nominated by the New Zealand Port Employers' Association (Incorporated)), vice, Eric Charles Buscke

to be a member of the Port Conciliation Committee for the port of Whangarei, for a term expiring on 31 May 1976. Dated at Wellington this 10th day of December 1975.

A. J. FAULKNER, Minister of Labour.