SCHEDILLE DEFINITION OF METROPOLITAN AREAS

Name of Metropolitan Area		Districts Included Therein
Auckland	******	The City of Auckland, the Boroughs of Birkenhead, Devonport, Ellerslie, Mount Albert, Mount Eden, Mount Roskill, New Lynn, Newmarket, Northcote, Onehunga, One Tree Hill, Otahuhu, Mt. Wellington.
Wellington		The Cities of Wellington and Lower Hutt, the Boroughs of Eastbourne and Petone.
Christchurch	*****	The City of Christchurch and the Borough of Riccarton.
Dunedin		The City of Dunedin and the Boroughs of Green Island, Port Chalmers, and St. Kilda.

Dated at Wellington this 20th day of February 1975. D. J. GASSON, Acting Director of Prices and Stabilisation Division. *Gazette, No. 70, 18 July 1974, p. 1477

(T. and I.)

Price Order No. 2308 (Ecuadorian Bananas)

PURSUANT to the Control of Prices Act 1947, I, Desmond James Gasson, pursuant to a delegation from the Secretary of Trade and Industry acting under a delegation from the Price Tribunal, hereby make the following price order:

- 1. This order may be cited as Price Order No. 2308 and shall come into force on the 24th day of February 1975.
 - 2. (1) Price Order No. 2295* is hereby revoked.
- (2) The revocation of the said order shall not affect the liability of any person for any offence in relation thereto committed before the coming into force of this order.
- 3. References in this order to metropolitan areas are references to the metropolitan areas described in the Schedule hereto.

APPLICATION OF THIS ORDER

4. This order applies with respect to all Ecuadorian bananas sold by way of retail in New Zealand.

MAXIMUM RETAIL PRICES OF ECUADORIAN BANANAS

- 5. (1) The maximum price that may be charged or received by any retailer for any Ecuadorian bananas to which this order applies shall be:
 - (a) When sold by a retailer carrying on business in any of the metropolitan areas of Auckland, Wellington, Christchurch, or Dunedin, or in any of the Cities or Boroughs of Whangarei, Takapuna, Hamilton, Tauranga, Rotorua, Gisborne, New Plymouth, Stratford Hayrors, Wongapui, Polymouth, Norice ford, Hawera, Wanganui, Palmerston North, Napier, Hastings, Masterton, Blenheim, Nelson, Greymouth, Timaru, Westport, Oamaru, Balclutha, Gore, or Invercargill-

25 cents per 1b.

- (b) When sold by a retailer carrying on business elsewhere-
 - 1 lb, 26 cents; 2 lb, 51 cents; 3 lb, 77 cents;

 - 4 lb, \$1.02; 5 lb, \$1.28;
 - 6 lb, \$1.53.

Fractions of a pound shall be calculated at the rate of 26 cents per lb. Quantities in excess of 6 lb shall be calculated at the rate of $25\frac{1}{2}$ cents per lb.

(2) If in respect of any lot of bananas the price calculated in accordance with the foregoing provisions of this clause is not an exact number of cents, the maximum price of the lot shall be computed to the nearest whole cent.

PROVISIONS FOR SPECIAL PRICES

6. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary in the foregoing provisions of this order, and subject to such conditions, if any, as it thinks fit, the Tribunal, on application by any retailer, may authorise special maximum prices in respect of any Ecuadorian bananas to which this order applies where special circumstances exist, or for any reason extraordinary charges (freight or otherwise) are incurred by the retailer. Any authority given by the Tribunal under this clause may apply with respect to a specified lot or consignment of bananas, or may relate generally to all Ecuadorian bananas to which this order applies sold by the retailer while the approval remains in force.

DUTY IMPOSED ON RETAILERS

- 7. Every retailer who offers or exposes for sale in any shop any Ecuadorian bananas to which this order applies shall keep in a prominent position, in such proximity to the bananas to which it relates as to be obviously in relation thereto, a ticket, placard, or label on which shall be stated in legible and prominent characters the following particulars:
 - (a) The retail price per pound of the bananas. Retailers to whom clause 5 (1) (b) of this order applies shall state at least the prices for 1 lb and 2 lb lots.
 - (b) The word "Ecuadorian".

SCHEDULE DEFINITION OF METROPOLITAN AREAS

Name of Metropolitan Area		Districts Included Therein
Auckland		The City of Auckland, the Boroughs of Birkenhead, Devonport, Ellerslie, Mount Albert, Mount Eden, Mount Roskill, New Lynn, Newmarket, Northcote, Onehunga, One Tree Hill, Otahuhu, Mt. Wellington.
Wellington		The Cities of Wellington and Lower Hutt,
Christchurch	*****	the Boroughs of Eastbourne and Petone. The City of Christchurch and the Borough of Riccarton. The City of Dunedin and the Boroughs of Green Island, Port Chalmers, and St. Kilda.
Dunedin	*****	

Dated at Wellington this 20th day of February 1975.

D. J. GASSON, Acting Director of Prices and Stabilisation Division. *Gazette, No. 101, 10 October 1974, p. 2187 (T. and I.)