Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resigna-tions, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:

# **REGULAR AIR FORCE**

## GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

#### **Appointments**

Group Captain M. F. McD. Palmer, O.B.E., to be acting Air Commodore with effect from 8 January 1975 and Air Commodore with seniority from 17 December 1974 and effect from 11 January 1975.

Group Captain D. E. Jamieson, O.B.E., to be acting Air Commodore with effect from 13 December 1974 and temp. Air Commodore with effect from 17 December 1974. Wing Commander I. V. Mackay, A.F.C., to be acting Group Captain with effect from 16 December 1974 and temp. Group Captain with effect from 21 December 1974. Flight Lieutenant D. G. Simpson, B.A., to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 23 December 1974.

#### Promotions

Flying Officer W. E. Matthews to be Flight Lieutenant

Flying Officer W. L. Matthews to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 19 December 1974. Flying Officer W. J. Sommer, B.Sc., to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority from 12 September 1972 and effect from 24 December 1974.

Flying Officer A. F. Rundle to be Flight Lieutenant with

seniority and effect from 18 January 1975. The following acting Pilot Officers to be Pilot Officers with seniority and effect from 22 March 1974:

G. C. Alexander. W. R. Bell. M. C. Fort.

R. S. Ginders, R. A. Hyndman, A. E. Pond, P. J. Stockwell,

R. B. Wignall. Pilot Officer P. J. Stockwell to be Flying Officer with seniority and effect from 22 December 1974.

# Relinguishment of Rank

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) G. S. Gray relinquishes the temporary rank of Squadron Leader with effect from 9 December 1974.

# Cancellation of Commissions

The commission of acting Pilot Officer Bretton Paris Cun-ningham is cancelled with effect from 23 October 1974. The commission of acting Pilot Officer Lindsay James Smith is cancelled with effect from 15 October 1974.

# Transfer to Reserve

Flight Lieutenant Bryan Alan Lockie is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 6 October 1978, with effect from 16 October 1974.

# ENGINEER BRANCH

**Promotions** 

Flying Officer W. E. B. Hunter to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 12 October 1974. Pilot Officer B. R. Laing to be Flying Officer with seniority

and effect from 8 January 1975.

# Transfer to Reserve

Flight Lieutenant Terence Carlisle Edge is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of 4 years with effect from 17 October 1974.

#### Administrative and Supply Branch

**Appointments** 

# Secretarial Division

Wing Commander J. D. Waugh, A.N.Z.I.M., to be acting Group Captain with effect from 13 January 1975 and temp. Group Captain with effect from 17 January 1975. Squadron Leader F. N. L. Butler, A.N.Z.I.M., to be acting Wing Commander with effect from 6 January 1975 and temp. Wing Commander with effect from 11 January 1975. Flight Lieutenant B. J. White to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 23 December 1974. Flight Lieutenant J. Girven to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 13 January 1975.

Supply Division

with effect from 13 January 1975.

## WOMEN'S ROYAL NEW ZEALAND AIR FORCE

Appointment **Appointment** 

Section Officer G. D. White to be temp. Flight Officer with effect from 7 January 1975.

#### TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

### Administrative and Supply Branch

Extension of Commission

Special Duties Division

The commission of Flight Lieutenant A. H. Burnett is extended to 24 July 1979.

#### **RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS**

# **Appointments**

Flight Lieutenant K. D. Lumsden to be temporary Squadron Leader with effect from 16 December 1974.

Keith Hadlee McGregor, B.Sc., is appointed to a short-service commission for 5 years in the rank of Flying Officer with seniority from 28 November 1972 and effect from 28 November 1974.

#### Extension of Commission

The commission of Squadron Leader K. L. Thom is extended to 31 December 1978.

### Transfer to Retired List

Wing Commander William Charles Joseph Williams, M.A., DIP.ED., DIP.TCHG., M.N.Z.PS.S., is transferred to the Retired List "B" with effect from 30 December 1974.

#### Retirements

Squadron Leader Clarence James Berryman: with reference to the notice published in the *Gazette*, 12 December 1974, No. 120, p. 2936, for the date "1 August 1974" substitute "27 August 1974". The following officers are retired with effect from the dates shown:

dates shown:

Wing Commander Patrick Joseph Gregan, B.A., DIP.TCHG., 31 December 1974.

Flight Lieutenant Henry Allen Bunn, 6 January 1975. Flight Lieutenant David Guy Collins, DIP.TCHG., 10 January 1975

75. Flying Officer Norman Hanson Gould, 23 October 1974. Flying Officer John Henry Simmonds, 13 October 1974. Flying Officer Ian Carthew Riddell, 31 October 1974. Flying Officer Alfred Henry Knewstubb, 29 August 1974. Flying Officer Owen Geoffrey O'Dwyer, 15 November 1974. Flying Officer Ian George Nicklin, D.F.C., 5 October 1974. Flying Officer Ian George Nicklin, D.F.C., 5 October 1974. Flying Officer Leslie Herbert Sinclair, 10 December 1974. Flying Officer Anthony Trevor Hughes, 31 October 1974. Pilot Officer William Mackreth Swinburn, 25 October 1974. Dectod et Wellington this 21st day of February 1975.

Dated at Wellington this 21st day of February 1975.

### W. A. FRASER, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resigna-tions, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Armv

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army:

# **REGULAR FORCE**

#### BRIGADIERS' LIST

Brigadier L. F. Brooker, M.B.E., A.D.C., is transferred to the Supernumerary List on reaching retiring age for rank with effect from 18 October 1974, and his engagement is extended until 17 January 1975.

# COLONELS' LIST

Colonel J. L. Smith, M.B.E., B.A., to be Brigadier, and is transferred to the Brigadiers' List on assuming the appoint-ment of Deputy Chief of Staff with effect from 8 January 1975.

## **ROYAL REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY**

Major D. G. Flux to be acting Lieutenant-Colonel with effect from 20 January 1975 and temp. Lieutenant-Colonel with effect from 27 January 1975.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) J. G. Rolfe to be Captain with seniority and effect from 9 December 1974.

Flying Officer M. P. Murdoch to be temp. Flight Lieutenant