The following are appointed to short-service commissions for a period of 8 years, in the rank of Pilot Officer with effect from 7 October 1974, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers:

U85670 Corporal Dudley Charles Newton Blundell.

N83939 Corporal John Garry Stables.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Appointments

Secretarial Division

E42048 Corporal Harcourt Ian Williams is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 8 years, in the rank of Pilot Officer with effect from 7 October 1974, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Supply Division

Squadron Leader David John Anderson, from the Royal Air Force, is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 5 years followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers, in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority from 9 January 1969 and effect from 9 January

C81537 Corporal Kevin Anthony Jones is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 8 years, in the rank of Pilot Officer with effect from 7 October 1974, followed by a 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers. Special Duties Division

Q82515 Sergeant Thomas Palmer is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 8 years, in the rank of Flying Officer with effect from 7 October 1974, followed

by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

R82286 Corporal Graeme Leslie Rowlands is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 8 years, in the rank of Pilot Officer with effect from 7 October 1974, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Promotion

Secretarial Division

Acting Pilot Officer A. C. Williams to be Pilot Officer with seniority and effect from 25 November 1974.

Extension of Commissions

Special Duties Division

The commission of Squadron Leader L. Varty, is extended to 3 December 1977, followed by 3 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

The commission of Flight Lieutenant G. J. Watson is extended to 7 January 1978.

The commission of Flight Lieutenant N. H. Bartholomew, B.E.M., is extended to 3 June 1976 followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

EDUCATION BRANCH

Appointments

Squadron Leader W. R. Swap, B.SC., DIP.TCHG., to be acting Wing Commander with effect from 20 January 1975 and temp. Wing Commander with effect from 13 February 1975. Russell Hugh Woolcock, M.A., is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 5 years followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers, in the rank of Elicht Lieutenest with conjective from 7 Lieutenest with the conjective from 7 Lieutenest with the conjective from 7 Lieutenest with the conjective from 1 and 1 a

4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers, in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority from 7 January 1971 and effect from 7 January 1975.

Peter Daniel Couch, B.Sc., is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 5 years followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers, in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority from 7 January 1974 and effect from 7 January 1975.

Norman Herring, B.SC. (HONS.), is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 5 years followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers, in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 7 January 1975.

Robin Rae Kirkwood, B.A., is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 5 years followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers, in the rank of Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 7 January 1975.

L81844 Flight Sergeant Peter William Wallis is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 10 years followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers, in the rank of Flying Officer with effect from 7 October 1974.

Extension of Commission

The commission of Flight Lieutenant A. B. Herd is extended to 31 July 1975, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Women's Royal New Zealand Air Force Appointments

The following are appointed to short-service commissions for a period of 3 years, in the rank of Assistant Section Officer with effect from the date shown:

L85340 Aircrastwoman (temp. Corporal) Cheryl Betty Cade,

L85340 Aircraftwoman (temp. Corporal) Chery Edity Cade, 13 January 1975.

C85447 Aircraftwoman (temp. Corporal) Susan Anne Kirby, 7 October 1974.

R85897 Aircraftwoman (temp. Corporal) Rowan Elizabeth Paterson, 7 October 1974.

Elizabeth Anne Long is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 3 years in the rank of Assistant Section Officer with seniority and effect from 7 October 1974.

TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Transfer to Reserve

Special Duties Division

Flying Officer Geoffrey Bassett de Bazin is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers with effect from 20 January 1975.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Extension of Commission

The commission of Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) A. J. King is extended to 2 August 1978.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

The commission and age for retirement of Squadron Leader (temp. Wing Commander) E. F. Harvie, A.F.C., are extended to 14 October 1977.

Transfer

Squadron Leader N. J. Atkins, B.A., DIP.TCHG., A.N.Z.I.M., is transferred from the General Reserve to the Active Reserve until 9 April 1977 with effect from 16 January 1975.

The following officers are retired with effect from the

dates shown:
Squadron Leader Ray McKenzie, M.B., CH.B., FFARCS.(ENG.),

11 November 1973.

Flight Lieutenant William Leslie Bridget, 22 February 1975. Flying Officer Clifford William Dale, 18 January 1975.

Dated at Wellington this 21st day of February 1975.

W. A. FRASER, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resigna-tions, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Armv

Pursuant to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army:

REGULAR FORCE

GRADUATES-ROYAL MILITARY COLLEGE, DUNTROON

THE following Officer Cadets graduated from the Royal Military College, Duntroon and are appointed to commissions in the rank of Lieutenant in order and Corps shown, with effect from 11 December 1974:

Brendon Lee Fraher, B.A. (MIL.), Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment

ment.

Selwyn George Heaton, B.E. (CIV.) (HON.), The Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers.

GRADUATES-OFFICER CADET SCHOOL, PORTSEA

The following Officer Cadets graduated from the Officer Cadet School, Portsea, and are appointed to commissions in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant in order and Corps shown, with effect from 14 December 1974:

John Philip Masson, Royal N.Z. Army Service Corps. Graeme Roger Williams, Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery. Brian Ross Greenstreet, Royal N.Z. Corps of Signals. Ben Chilwell, Royal N.Z. Army Service Corps. Anthony Graham Queree, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment. Alan Glynn Johnson, Royal N.Z. Armoured Corps. Peter John Nichols, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment. David Arthur Christiansen, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment.