WHEREAS, by Order in Council made on the 19th day of August 1974*, you, the said Russell Talbot Feist, Gordon Harold Andersen, and John Joseph O'Dea, were appointed to be a Commission to inquire into and report upon the storage and distribution of motor spirits and ancillary products within New Zealand:

And whereas by the said Order in Council you were, required to submit your report not later than the 31st day of May 1975:

And whereas it is expedient that the time for so reporting should be extended as hereinafter provided:

Now, therefore, I, Sir Edward Denis Blundell, the Governor-General of New Zealand, acting pursuant to the Commissions of Inquiry Act 1908, and by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby extend until the 31st day of March 1976 the time within which you, the said Russell Talbot Feist, Gordon Harold Andersen, and John Joseph O'Dea, are so required to report, and hereby confirm the said Order in Council and the Commission thereby constituted, save as modified by these presents.

Given in Executive Council under the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General this 19th day of May 1975.

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council. *Gazette, 1974, p. 1752

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Naval Forces.

ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVY

Commander Edward Adams Wildy, B.SC., A.C.G.I., C.ENG., M.I.MECH.E., is placed on the Retired List with effect from 13 March 1975.

Lieutenant Commander (temp. Commander) Alexander Craig Coutts is placed on the Retired List with effect from 16 April 1975

Lieutenant Commander P. R. E. Brown: the notice published in the Gazette, 6 March 1975, No. 19, p. 430, is cancelled. The appointment of Chaplain S. S. Hadlow, L.TH., with seniority from 1 October 1969 and effect from 1 April 1974, for a period terminating on 31 March 1979, is confirmed. Lieutenant D. D. Davies to be Lieutenant Commander with seniority and effect from 9 March 1975.

The seniority of Lieutenant D. L. B. Marriott is ante-dated to 30 April 1969

to 30 April 1969.

The appointment of Lieutenant J. S. C. Clark is extended to 25 February 1980.

Sub Lieutenant A. R. Dennison to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 18 April 1975.

Sub Lieutenant G. T. Purcell to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 16 March 1975.

Ian Stuart O'Connor, M.B., CH.B., is appointed to a medical short-service commission in the RNZN for a period of 4 years in the rank of Surgeon Lieutenant Commander (on prob.) with seniority from 7 April 1973 and effect from 7 April 1975.

Edmund John Hayhoe (R.N. Rtd.), is appointed to the RNZN (Special Duties List) for a period of 5 years, in the rank of Lieutenant with seniority from 1 October 1968 and effect from 21 February 1975.

Alan Digby Millar, C19345, P.O., to be Sub Lieutenant (on prob.) with seniority from 28 March 1973, on appointment to the RNZN (Special Duties List) with effect from 3 March 1975; terminating on 28 September 1988.

Ken Mervyn Mutch, M.B.E., H16061, SWO., to be Lieutenant (on prob.) with seniority and effect from 3 March 1975, on appointment to the RNZN (Special Duties List) for a period of 10 years. period of 10 years.

Edward David James Isaac, P16941, TCPO, to be Lieutenant (SP) (on prob.) with seniority and effect from 3 March 1975, on appointment to the RNZN (Supplementary List) for a period of 8 years.

Peter James Vernon Chivers is appointed to the RNZN for a period of 5 years in the rank of Instructor Sub Lieutenant (on prob.), with seniority from 21 May 1974 and effect from 10 February 1975.

Women's Royal New Zealand Naval Service

The appointment of Second Officer P. O. R. Ramsey-Turner is extended to 30 April 1977.

The appointment of Second Officer S. K. Wootton is extended to 23 April 1976.

The appointment of Third Officer (temp. Second Officer)

J. M. Simmonds is extended to 23 April 1976.

Susan Jane Taylor is appointed to the WRNZNS as Fourth Officer (on prob.) with effect from 3 March 1975.

Kerry Josephine Osborne is appointed to the WRNZNS as Fourth Officer (on prob.) with effect from 3 March 1975.

ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVAL VOLUNTEER RESERVE

Lieutenant Commander Eric Arthur Parr, V.R.D., M.P.S., P.CH., is placed on the Retired List of the RNZNVR with effect from 1 April 1975.

Lieutenant Commander Warwick John Copeland, V.R.D., A.C.A., is placed on the Retired List of the RNZNVR with effect from 14 March 1975.

The seniority of Midshiman K. D. Buck is not detailed.

The seniority of Midshipman K. D. Pugh is post-dated to 31 March 1974.

Cecil Douglas Blakie (Anglican) to be Chaplain (on prob.) with seniority from 1 October 1970 and effect from 1 April 1975 and is appointed to the RNZNVR List 1.

David Murray Gillon W106372, to be Ensign with seniority and effect from 18 April 1975 and is appointed to the RNZNVR List 1.

EMERGENCY LIST OF THE ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVAL VOLUNTEER RESERVE

Surgeon Lieutenant M. R. Chalmers M.B., CH.B., is transferred to the RNZNVR List 1, with his seniority as Surgeon Lieutenant adjusted to 7 August 1974, and with effect from 7 February 1975.

RETIRED LIST OF THE ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVY

Lieutenant Commander P. R. E. Brown is transferred to the RNZNVR List 1, with his seniority as a Lieutenant Commander adjusted to 25 January 1973 and with effect from 1 December 1974, terminating on 16 January 1985.

Dated at Wellington this 30th day of April 1975.

W. A. FRASER, Minister of Defence.

Appointment of Honorary Consul for Nauru at Auckland

His Excellency the Governor-General directs it to be notified that the appointment of Mr Leslie James Davis as Honorary Consul for Nauru at Auckland has been provisionally recognised.

Dated at Wellington this 15th day of May 1975.

W. E. ROWLING, Minister of Foreign Affairs.

Members of the Hospitals Advisory Council Appointed

Pursuant to the Hospitals Act 1957, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Frank William Eden Rutter, M.R.C.S.(ENG.), L.R.C.P.(LOND.), DIP.OBST. M.R.C.G.P., and

Thomas Christopher Grigg

to be members of the Hospitals Advisory Council for a term of 3 years from the 1st day of June 1975.

Dated at Wellington this 8th day of May 1975.

T. M. McGUIGAN, Minister of Health.

Appointment to the Rules Committee

Pursuant to section 2 of the Judicature Amendment Act 1930, as amended by section 2 of the Judicature Amendment Act 1970, the Chief Justice has appointed

The Honourable John Charles White, M.B.E.

a Judge of the Supreme Court, to be a member of the Rules Committee during the absence from New Zealand of the Honourable David Stuart Beattie, a member of the said

Dated at Wellington this 12th day of May 1975.

A. M. FINLAY, Minister of Justice.