that this Proclamation shall take effect on the date of its notification in the Gazette.

Given under the hand of his Excellency the Governor-General, by his Deputy and issued under the Seal of New Zealand, this 15th day of September 1975.

BASIL ARTHUR, Minister of Transport. [L.S.]

(TT. 2/2/Ak.)

Creation of the Thames-Coromandel District Council and Union of Thames County, Thames Borough, and Coromandel County

DENIS BLUNDELL, Governor-General By his Deputy RICHARD WILD ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 22nd day of September 1975

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL BY HIS DEPUTY IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to the Local Government Act 1974, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

ORDER

1. This order shall come into force on 1 October 1975. 2. The districts of Thames Borough, Thames County, and Coromandel County shall be united into one district, under the name of the Thames-Coromandel District.

3. The Thames Borough Council, Thames County Council, and Coromandel County Council shall be dissolved.

4. The area of land described in the Schedule to this order shall be included in the Thames-Coromandel District.

5. Except as otherwise provided in this order, the Counties Act 1956 shall apply to the Thames-Coromandel District as if it were a county and as if references in that Act to "ridings" were references to "wards".

6. The council of the Thames-Coromandel District shall be a district council under the name of "The Thames-Coromandel District Council" (in this order referred to as "the district council").

7. Except as otherwise provided in this order the Counties Act 1956 shall apply to the district council as if it were a county council.

8. For the purposes of any other enactment, other than the Counties Act 1956, the district council shall be a county council.

9. For the purpose of representation the Thames-Coromandel District shall until the 1986 triennial general election of councillors, or for such lesser period (being however not less than 5 years) as the district council may by Special Order determine, be divided into three divisions as follows:

- (a) Coromandel Division: Comprising the area of Coromandel County and the islands of Wekarua, Rangipukea, Whanganui, Motutapere, Waimate, Motukopake, Motuoruhi (Goat), Nganotukaraka (Three Kings), Moturua (Rabbit), Motukaramarama (Bush), Motuwi (Double), Motukahaua (Happy Jack), Charactal County (County), Motukahaua (Happy Jack), Charactal County) Nings), moturua (Raobit), Motukaramarama (Bush), Motuwi (Double), Motukahaua (Happy Jack), Channel, Square Top, Motukokopu, Great Mercury (Ahuahu), Double, Red Mercury (Whakahau), Middle, Green, Kawatihu (Stanley), Korapuki, Koruenga, Korangi, Little Ohena, Ohena, Whale Rock, Mahungarape, Motukorure, Motueka (Pigeon), Mahungari and Castle Rock (Neguturu):
- (b) Thames Division: Comprising the area of Thames County and the islands of Shoe, The Aldermen, Slipper (Whakahau), Penguin, Rabbit, Hauturu, Whenuakura, and Rawengaiti; and
- (c) Urban Division: Comprising the area of Thames Borough.

10. Until the members of the district council elected at the next triennial general election of councillors come into office, the district council shall comprise 15 members as follows:

- (a) Five members to be appointed by and from among the members of the Coromandel County Council to represent the Coromandel Division;
- (b) Five members to be appointed by and from among the members of the Thames County Council to represent the Thames Division;
- (c) Five members to be appointed by and from among the members of the Thames Borough Council to represent the Urban Division;

and those councils shall make those appointments prior to their dissolution.

11. Not later than 31 March 1977 the district council shall hold a meeting for the purpose of dividing the Coromandel Division and the Thames Division into not more than four wards each, and shall by Special Order determine the number of councillors to be elected by each such ward, after taking into account the factors to which the district council shall be required to have regard, and the district council may from time to time thereafter alter those wards and their representation as provided by law:

Provided however, that four councillors shall be elected in each of the Thames, Coromandel, and Urban Divisions at the 1977 and all subsequent triennial general elections until the divisions cease to exist.

12. Any vacancy occurring in the membership of the district council prior to the 1977 triennial general election shall be filled by the district council by appointment from among the persons who were eligible to have been appointed pursuant to paragraph 10 of this order to represent the division in respect of which the vacancy occurs and are qualified to be nominated as candidates; and if no such person is appointed, the provisions of the Local Elections and Polls Act 1966 as to the filling of extraordinary vacancies shall apply.

13. The first meeting of the district council shall be convened by the Town Clerk of Thames Borough.

14. For a period of 10 years, or for such lesser period, being however, not less than 5 years, as the district council may by Special Order determine, the Thames-Coromandel District shall for the purpose of finance be divided into three divisions corresponding to the divisions for the purpose of representation defined in paragraph 9 of this order, namely the Coromandel Division, the Thames Division, and the Urban Division.

15. The system of rating in the Thames-Coromandel District shall be the land-value system. For the purposes of section 5 of the Rating Act 1967 (relating to land not rateable), the Urban Division shall be deemed to be a borough.

16. The provisions of Part IX of the Rating Act 1967 (relating to valuation equalisation) and of sections 107 and 111A to 111H of the Counties Act 1956 (relating to the levying of general rates) shall apply to the Thames-Coromandel District as if each division provided for in this order were a riding of a county.

17. All the valuation rolls, other rolls, and lists and rate records in force within the districts to be united immediately preceding the date of union shall be deemed to be the valuation rolls, other rolls and lists and rate records of the Thames-Coromandel District until new valuation rolls, other rolls and lists and rate records are completed for the Thames-Coromandel District.

18. Section 110 of the Counties Act 1956 (which relates to rating in united counties) shall apply to the Thames-Coromandel District as if Thames Borough were a county.

19. Except as hereinafter provided the accounts for each division shall be kept in the manner provided for in Form 7 of the Local Government Accounting Regulations 1974, and the opening balances of each such account shall be the closing balances of the General and Separate Rates and General Appropriation Accounts of the Thames Borough, Thames County, and Coromandel County Councils at the date of their union date of their union.

20. All other administrative accounts, works and services accounts, and special funds of Thames Borough, Thames County, and Coromandel County as at the date of their union shall be merged to operate as accounts of the district council:

Provided that all special funds shall be expended only for the purposes for which they were set aside and for the benefit only of the division from which they originated.

21. For the purposes of the Thames Borough Leasing Act 1900 and any other legislation or instrument relating to Thames Borough endowment lands the district council shall be deemed to be the borough council; the Urban Division shall be deemed to be the borough and all surplus moneys accruing from such endowment lands shall be applied to the benefit of the Urban Division, and for this purpose there

GOD SAVE THE QUEEN!